Humans logo

The Path

To enlightenment

By Erin WinspurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

I step out into the night, the coolness of the air around me, peels away the fatigue, the angst, and the drudgery I have been feeling. I can sense the heat from the house radiating behind me, a massive smothering heat, as the summer has been so very hot and dry. I can feel the coolness of the dew on my feet as I step into the grass, freshly cut the day before. The wet upon feet is refreshing as my dry, cracked soles have never seen the long Hard Summer Heat. It has been overwhelming I am not used to toiling in the fields. I had been pampered in my lifestyle, this, was all new to me. The night air was cool and invigorating; I could feel something novel, almost tangible in the air. I close my eyes and my face reaches for the light of the full moon. I open my eyes to the brightness of the moon glowing down upon me, giant and warm, even though it should not radiate heat, strange, I think to myself. I can feel something in the light of the moon, in the energy, as though something is pulling the water inside my body moving it to a rhythmic beat for which there is no sound. The gentle caress of light upon my face, brushes soft against my skin, it re tells a memory of a lovers caress. I feel everything, the energy within the grass growing, and the plants around me emerging upwards and out, reaching forward. The vines of small squashes coil their tiny arms around the grass, stretching them out to where they will have more space to greet the sun when she rises in the morning .It is almost as though I can hear the chloroplasts photosynthesizing the carbon dioxide into oxygen. I can feel the energy at a molecular level. I can see the light of a thousand stars some which should not be visible with the moon so bright in the sky. The animals are silent, the wind barley rustles a leaf it is as though the universe is frozen within this moment or just in slow motion. This ancient vestibule spreads out further than my imagination can even fathom. I breath the night air, cool an fragrant it snaps me back to the now, why am I awake? Why am I in the yard, I had been in bed dreaming of cool waters and tropical beaches? What had pulled me from vivid dreams of far off places blue crystal water? I had woken up with a start hearing something in the barn, I remember. I start back on my investigative walk towards the barn at first forgetting the moment of awe inspiring epiphany I had experienced moments before. I can smell the dryness of the wood, the ancient Mysteries of the land around me. I take long steps, in my bare feet, across the yard towards this ancient building. As I put my hands on the cold metal of the lever on the door, flashes of the past race through my mind. Generations have made their history come alive on this land, how have not reveled in my own antiquity. Reaching to open tall wide door I can smell the hay inside clean and fresh as though I had filled it just yesterday. What is inside? What am I going to find? I can feel the anticipation, no fear, and no worry. I should be fearful, being in a place I hardly know, in the middle of the night in my pajamas and my bare feet. Yet I feel as though I am floating towards my destiny, my soul’s purpose. Everything inside of me vibrates as I opened the door. Through a large crack in the roof the light of the moon shines down upon a small brown owl seated on the cross bar to the loft of the barn staring at me. His dark eyes reached out to speak to me; I can feel his stare into the very depths of my soul. As I look deeper I can hear a thousand years of human history, of our spiritual growth. I can see the words of the great Mother Earth , Gaia. I can feel the energy of every religion and understand the spiritual meaning of the teachings of the greatest philosophers. it is as though a great gift of knowledge , a new way of understand is being given to me. I can feel my arms opened in prayer as my face turns towards the sky and this small fragile owl takes Wing. His slight wings open up, and swoop over my head, as he passes the wind from his wings brushes against my hair like a gentle caress of a God moving across the sky. A ball of light flies from his talons and smashes into my chest, knocking the breath out of my lungs. I fall to one knee gasping for air and as I look around to see the small owl fly away I realize that I can hear everything, everyone's voice, everyone's thoughts and I know that forever I will be changed.

literature
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.