Humans logo

The Passion

How To Find It

By Daniel PietrzakPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
Like
Chalice Well

The garden is beautiful…

An area swarmed with such magnificence, left with a whirlpool of nature, and in the center of such a sweet-smelling area, fresh and brilliant, is the Chalice Well. To have walked alongside it, and to have walked through the gardens beyond that was like being Alice after she had fallen through the hole in the tree and come out into a world of pure imagination. The stream coming from the grandly designed oval-shaped pond shimmered in the afternoon sun; the dazzling rays of light left the water a hue of gold. The pond had been designed so that the larger one that sat up above trickled down gently into the smaller pond, flowing its life into the other before rinsing and repeating.

I couldn't help but put my hand through and under the flow of the golden stream, touching the breezy, transparent liquid. Ah, it felt so good and refreshing, letting my hand dangle there for a moment. I only felt goodness from this place, and the few people that toured it only left a positive vibe, nonetheless. Removing my hand one inch at a time until it was unsurfaced, dripping golden droplets into the pond, I took a moment to study it. How each droplet so delicately hung to my skin before gracefully letting go, plopping downward into the water with a therapeutic, carefully created shockwave.

My feet took control, and I was nothing more than a passenger, traversing the meadows of Chalice Well. All the while, there was a sound of hissing water all around me. The trees and flowers created a wonderful sense of living sanctuary. A few steps further and I'd found the sign to Chalice Well… was where I was before not my destination? Hidden in a corner between young trees and more flower beds, I found it. A place that looked genuinely mysterious and magnificent. I felt like I was no more than a child, observing the world for the first time. On the lid of the well, there was a sacred geometry symbol of two interlocking circles… what did that mean again? I swear I did my research on this. I think it was, uh…

Ah, it means a union between Heaven and Earth.

From what I had read before, the legend said that from ancient times people had come to this well to drink its water to regain harmony and inspiration. I, of course, had to taste it too. My mouth felt like it was thirsting for it, suddenly dry and demanding. I lay myself down on the ground and stared down into the depths of the well. It was dark inside, but I could see the shimmering water dancing and skimming. The cold, earthy air blew in my face, giving me the sensation of being in a cave. Taking out a water bottle, I reached my arm down into the well to acquire some of the mysterious substance. It had a very raw and earthy flavor, probably because it had come from deep under the ground.

Now was my time to rest and contemplate the reason I'd travelled to this place. I sat down next to the well, glancing around and marveling at the magical garden. Gathering my thoughts while listening to the gushing water, I heard the voice that shouted the card, the card only got quieter, and quieter. A moment later I took from my back pocket a little piece of paper. On it, was the written quote that caused my life to stir around and made me book this holiday so far away from London.

"Follow your passion; it will lead to your purpose – Oprah." I read it out loud to myself, trying to pay attention to every single word. "Passion, passion, passion," I kept repeating while waiting for some kind of revelation to strike my mind. The card… "Okay, so here I am following the only passion I know, sitting in a serene garden, sipping earthy water and I'm feeling perfect. What's next?"

Time passed, the area no longer contained a living soul, not a human in sight, and soon, it was just me and me alone. As I was relaxing and letting my mind float in unknown realms of peace and harmony, I heard a rustle. The dispersing of leaves, the ruffling of a bush, the gush of wind stopped, and something had impeded its advance onto my bare cheek. I grate my teeth; open my eyes and sit up to see someone had quietly given their whereabouts away, a woman.

Where did she come from…? The only path into this place properly would have been behind me, I thought I was fairly secluded where I lay. She comes forward, lighter in skin tone, but not pale, more of a dazzling peachy kind of complexion. I face her directly, a bubble in my chest popping and releasing a feeling I only feel with the strongest of sentimental objects. Like that card, like the numbers, like all those things I think and feel, she has that same feeling. Stronger though, and far more powerful…

Gracefully, she wades her way toward me, her every step is silent on the floor, not a stone is upturned in her path. Studying her closely, I can tell she is in her thirties, I think early thirties. She's pretty, like really pretty. From her slender eyebrows, her blissful expression, thin cheeks but welcoming lips, the brunette, curly-haired woman approaches.

Every step closer she gets, the stronger the feeling. Every step closer she is, the more I can see. Now, I see her change form an overly thrilled, but well-maintained view of excitement. Her lips shake as they form a grin, her eyebrows raise, and eyes grow wide for some reason I don't know. It's not fear, no, she looks so happy for fear. As she takes a breath and another step closer, I see her delicate freckles blobbed around her face so perfectly it was as if a professional painter took the time to place each one.

And finally, she begins to speak, but I hear no words. I see her lips move, her face crease with word, I even notice her tongue dancing in her cheeks, but I hear nothing. Yet, I feel how soft and deep her voice is at the same time, leaving me feeling dizzy, disconnected from my body…

It's as if, she had sprung a trap, and now I was stuck by the melodic sound of her voice.

What was on a fairly bright hue of light is now an incredibly fine mix between yellow and orange, the mix of colors on her dress that reveals surprisingly good chemistry together. With every step, her dress sways to and from, it looks so silky, shining in the sunlight and smooth against her skin.

And, finally, she composes herself, a sudden mysterious aura surrounding her. I noticed it; I think she did too. Is she some kind of fairy…?

When she is at last right in front of me, she stares down at me. She's so close, the scent that erupts from her is incredibly powerful… she smells like…

The sweet smell of roses, the intoxication of lavender, the aroma of a fresh lily, and beyond that, comes with the gentle breeze, a touch of vanilla. After that, my nose twinge to the scent of warm, melted, delicious chocolate. Oh, so unhealthy, but so delightful. She waves a hand ever so slowly, stretching from the bottom left where her hand was motionless, to the top right where she finished her wave. Hitting me is the overwhelmingly powerful smell of roasted chicken, cooked roast potatoes, gravy and more, an old favorite dinner of mine when I was younger. A roast dinner, the only times where family was a family, Dad wasn't drunk, or if it were Christmas, we would accept him. To finish, the perfume… perfume?

What-

How-

It couldn't be…

That night when I was younger, when my mum fled and my Dad slept like a bear, I heard a voice, a breeze, almost like an overhanging light was over me, and from it, that same scent.

Is she that voice?

"Hello," she said with sweetness in her voice.

She spoke to me. What do I do or say? She's like an angel, or a fairy, or a princess, or some form of light. "H-hello," I replied through a stutter.

She bowed her head and rose back up. "My name is Nuelle, can I join you for a minute?" She asked, still sweet in her tone, polite and for some reason wanting to see me.

"Err... s-sure, please," I stammered. How else can I prepare myself for this situation, I'm not even sure what is going on.

She flashes a grin at me. "I hope I'm not disturbing." She presents herself again, but I've been staring long enough. Wait, is she concerned about invading my privacy? I mean, with an entrance like that, who am I to judge?

"No, not at all, I was just chilling out and enjoying the nature around here," I responded casually, still where I was and in the same position when she arrived, albeit sitting up and looking at her.

"Hmm, so what's your name if you don't mind me asking?" She spoke so freely, carefree, and graceful, you know what, I think she could be a great potential partner to have a strange conversation with. Very rarely will someone ask for my name in the way she has. If anything, it's strange to hear it being spoken in such a kind way. I'd call her out for deceit, but something tells me this is a dream. Nothing feels real now she's here. I might be too quick to assume this, but I can't help the inkling of a feeling that this isn't my reality anymore. Ever since those cards, ever since coming here, ever since that night spent with Lucas… and, here I am. At that moment I knew that she could be a potential partner to have another strange conversation with.

"My name is Deon," I responded politely, progressing our conversation. Leaning back on my elbows, I watch as she gradually lowers down beside me.

"It's very nice to meet you. Deon, do you come here often?" She plops down, giggles for some reason, and looks at me. I can tell she, um, Nuelle, is up for a conversation. I kind of like that. I have to find out more. She can't be human, she can't be. Well, she has me intrigued quickly.

"No, I don't, it's actually my first time here. I heard a lot of good things about this place, so I decided to come and see it for myself." No better way to talk than honestly.

She nods, looking at the surroundings. "Oh, I see. What is it that has convinced you to come over here?"

Good question… I think I have a response. I basically came out here for a holiday I suppose but it goes deeper than that for sure. "Well, I recently came across a quote written by some wise person saying to follow my passion, so I packed my bag and came over here. Besides that, I needed a break from work."

She nods again, turning from the environment to me. "Oh, I see. So, what are you passionate about if you don't mind me asking?"

I choke lightly on my words. I… I've never had someone ask me that before. Not one person. "I'm not so sure. I like to travel in nature, I like trees and lakes and mountains… that's what I've figured out so far, apart from that I don't really know, to be honest with you. What is your passion?"

"I like to help people." That's a nice answer. Is she saying more? I swear she was going to say more. She sits there, smiling carelessly when I've been left thirsty for a better reason. Of course, people like to help people, there has to be more to it than that. I raise an eyebrow, stare her down, and go to speak out when she spins her head to me-

"H-hey, you, okay?" Okay, she caught me off guard there. I'm gripping the grass, why am I tense? Release the grass, focus on her.

"Yes, I am very well, thank you."

"You seem perturbed?" She replies genuinely, unaware that her answer meant very little to me.

"Yeah, I just thought you had more of an answer?" I hope she gets the point. She seems so out of touch with reality. I can't sense her, not properly. Is she… is she real?

"Wow, you are fortunate to say that you actually live your life fulfilling your heart's desire. I've never met anyone who could say that the way you just did." Her every word that is echoed by her tongue is like surgery honey, ever so sweet to hear. "How do you help people?"

She gasps and then lays her hands in her lap. "I read people's emotions and when they are experiencing hardship or confusion in their lives, I'm there to show them the way. Sometimes, I talk to them and help them find the way out of an unpleasant situation… you could say I'm a-" She cuts herself off, the word at the tip of her tongue that dances around her still partly open mouth. Then, she resets herself and smiles. "I'm a lightworker."

A lightworker—someone who comes down to help elevate human consciousness to a higher plain, to help mankind reach a better stage, I've read this before somewhere. "Hmm, it's a pity I didn't meet you years ago," I mutter under my breath.

She crosses her legs and faintly says, "Excuse me? I didn't catch that." When I stare back at her, I see nothing but sadness in her lips that create a frown and her eyes that narrow down.

"No, no it's nothing, I was just thinking out loud. Maybe you could help me find my passion?" She goes still after that. Was that too much… I know this can't be real, it's a dream.

For a moment, I leave that memory, just a brief moment to gasp for fresh air and come back to my current reality looking back. I… I was so in tune that it became me again. This memory, it's clearer than it was before, but seeing it through my eyes again and not reflecting makes me feel as if I am seeing it all for the first time again. The memory is slow, and when I go back, it comes back to normal with her speaking and me returning to that time and place-

I watch her as she mumbles, "Maybe I could?" She stops for a moment, contemplating with her right index finger on her chin. "What do you understand about the word passion?"

Weird question, but okay, I don't have much to say. It's just a word to explain a feeling. "Well, it is when you like or enjoy doing something. Isn't it?"

"Yes, but passion is much more than that. You believe that it is no more than a word." She stops to watch me. Why did she… what she just said, that's what I just thought. Can she hear me? Can you hear me? And she nodded. She's nodding…

"I don't understand," I say weakly. I slouch, my tension leaving me and replacing itself with confusion. I almost feel jittery, my fingers beginning to twitch, my heart rate beating faster.

"You believe it is a thought or an action, you think it is what is in here," she explains, placing the same index finger she had on her chin against her forehead. "But really, it is a feeling no one could truly explain, that is why humanity created a single word to convey it all," she continues to explain fluently, her index finger now moving to her chest, and over her heart. "Passion is what is here, and it is indescribable."

"Okay, would you be able to be a bit more specific please?" I asked. There was something deep in her appearance, but I couldn't figure out what it was in that moment. I just patiently waited for her response. She once again has to think. She's so careful with every word; every thought is spoken with precision. Time feels slow, yet everything moves as normal. I swear sunset was here and it should be darker by now, but it has remained the same.

"Yes, I can be more specific. Take a deep breath, and pay attention to my words as I speak them; are you ready?"

Am I ready? … shifting uncomfortably on the spot, I move into a cross-legged position. I would normally be numb by now, but I feel healthier than ever. Whatever magic she casts, it only makes me feel perfect. I'm ready, I feel I am. I can't hide how nervous I am. My fingers fidget, my eyes struggle to meet hers, and my heart, my poor heart could explode at any moment. "I'm ready."

"Deon, take a deep breath," she said, urging me forward. I listen this time and release my unease in the form of a longing exhale before an immense inhale of air.

One, two, three, four, five… release, hold it, five, four, three, two, and one… "I'm ready."

Nuelle's blue eyes became brighter, almost as if crystal sparkles lit up within them. She looked at me, her eyes shimmering; her smile growing, yet her face was soft and welcoming. Her lips puffed, her shoulders went slack, and bit by bit her eyes gradually grew in power. While she has shown her compassion, her magic now spoke for her. I couldn't sense it before, but now… now I feel her. She's not real, surely? But I sense her now, and it is the greatest feeling in the world. A feeling so unimaginable, a feeling so beyond me that I could never begin to dream what perfection is. A feeling beyond words… she has a passion that mirrors my own.

"Passion is pure devotion towards a person, goal or cause; like water, it is free-flowing, and nothing can truly stop it. Water is fluid, it can be changed, filled, emptied, molded, it can be used for a purpose. Water is free as if passion. No one can truly stop passion; it is who you are, and you can control that. It enhances life with joy, fulfilment, meaning, and enthusiasm. It is directly connected to happiness. It is a sincere desire in your heart. It may reveal itself as butterflies in your stomach, a twinkle in your eye. It is your magnificent but tranquil obsession. It's the unquestionable virtue that is far more valuable than money, power, fame, or any type of possession.

"Passion is the reason you get up in the morning, walk in the rain, devote your free time and sacrifice all the less important things. Passion keeps you committed to success, motivates you during hard times, and reflects your confidence, makes you laugh or even cry tears of joy, and it keeps you in a good mood. Or, as I like to say, on a higher vibration.

"Passion creates the best solutions for problems and spreads good vibes across the planet, which you accumulate within yourself first; it inspires associates, resolves issues and impresses other people. Passion is the key ingredient that allows you to go to the furthest places where others won't dare to go because they live in fear of failure. It makes you try things others won't dare to try because they use their rational minds, and it makes you the magnificent person others won't even dare to become, as they don't dream as far out.

"Deon, passion is the path to all your dreams, it's the burning flame of your soul, and it's the indicator that you are fulfilling your soul's desires."

When Nuelle stopped, I remained still for a while. I literally couldn't say a word. I stared at her with my mouth half-open. I had chills running all over my body. I was astonished by the grace, the softness, and the energy of her speech. Finally, I stammered, after I'd noticed that it had been a long while and I had still not uttered a word. Though, her teasing grin said enough. I sensed her amusement, and all I could do was muse over it. Yet, there is no time to think.

"That was the most amazing definition of passion I have ever heard in my life."

"Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. Does this answer your question?"

I can't reply… it's too much to handle, all of this is.

"Don't worry, it gets easier."

Did you… oh yeah, can you read thoughts or?

"Emotions can dictate thoughts, but also your body language," she says with a shrug before coyly laying back and sighing in relief. My body language, I suppose I was nervous before but now I'm more than ready to take on the world!

I am different.

I am.

"Absolutely… thank you Nuelle."

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.