Humans logo

The Package

What goes around, comes around...

By ItajaraPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Royalty-free image from Unsplash.com

There was a package at the door.

“I don’t remember ordering anything.”

It was a plain cardboard box, but there were no labels. As I picked it up and brought it inside, I noticed some stains on the side.

“Must be water damage from all these miserable wet days we keep having.”

My rickety door squeaked as I bumped it close with my foot. After setting the package on the only table I had, I noticed that the tape sealing the lid seemed to have been put on haphazardly. Crumbs and hair were trapped underneath the crinkled edges, making it very easy, though somewhat gross, to peel off. After crumpling the tape and tossing it to the side, I opened the box. The stench of mold and mildew exploded from the box into my throat and lungs. Coughing and rubbing my watery eyes, I finally peered into this mysterious box. After looking in, I nearly keeled over. The already overwhelming scent only exacerbated my gasps of surprise, causing me to cough even more. My head felt like it was floating and my whole body buzzed with excitement. This couldn’t be real. It had to be a dream. Inside this box, this unmarked box that happened to land on my doorstep, were 2 stacks of money labeled “$10,000”. Only after I collapsed into a chair besides the package, did I even notice the 3rd item inside. There was a little, black notebook. It was thinner than the stacks of money, and barely wider. Curiosity guided my hand to it, and opened it to the first page. “20000” was the only thing on the page. It was barely legible, written in chicken scratches. Sitting there, I took a moment to wrap my head around this situation. I started chuckling - harder and harder, until it evolved into a belly laugh. Then I ripped the seal off one of the bundles of cash and fanned the bills out, not even caring that I had gotten a paper cut in the process. Each bill was marked with a crude “X”.

"Odd," I thought, "but what do I care!"

I ran to my car, grabbing my keys on the way, and started driving towards the store plaza.

“A new t.v, a new computer, oh, and I can get some fancy clothes and a fancy watch too!”

Making a list of things I was going to get while I was driving, my car sputtered as I braked at a red light.

“Also should get a checkup for good ol’ reliable,” I thought as I patted the dashboard.

Movement caught my eye and I looked out my window. On the side of the road a scruffy homeless man stood with a stained cardboard sign. I averted my eyes before I could read what it said, but his figure loomed in my peripheral as I rolled forward at the green light.

The store entrance was up ahead, and I barely put my car in park before I hopped out and bound towards the electronics store. Once inside, I made a beeline for the t.v section.

Snapping my fingers at the closest associate I asked, “Which is your most expensive t.v?”

He looked at me for a moment then awkwardly pointed to one of the display models, “The Vix 2000+,” he paused and had a pondering look for a second, “Yeah, that’s our most expensive one at $2,389.49. It is a 60 inch, 4k, smart television that comes with-”

“I don’t care. Just bring it up to the counter. Also bring your most expensive PC to the checkout counter for me”

Giving a small nod, he lifted up his radio and started speaking to someone, as I spun around and walked back to the front of the store. I felt on top of the world. I could finally get my life together with all the finest amenities.

“Not a failure anymore, right dad?” I gritted my teeth, “I will use this money to make myself way better than he could have imagined! I will get formal wear and apply for that job again. I looked like a street rat. That’s why they didn’t hire me. Thats why…”

Snapping back to reality, I stood at the checkout counter looking at the cashier.

Gnawing on her gum she asked, “ You the one getting the expensive stuff?”

“Yours truly,” I smiled back.

“That will be $4,699.68. Would you like to round up for the local children’s hospital?”

“Nah, independence ‘ull toughen a kid up. I know it did for me ,” I joked as I winked at her.

Smacking on her gum, she simply returned my comment with a blank stare, then glanced at the checkout computer and asked, “Debit or credit?”

“Neither” I deviously grinned, slamming $5,000 cash on the counter. A pain surged in my wrist. I collapsed onto the floor grasping it. The cashier stared at me, her mouth agape with that dahm gum sticking to the roof of her mouth. With narrow vision I looked up at my hand.

“How did I get a second paper cut?”

There were now two cuts on my palm. They intersected forming an “X”, and stung in pain. My vision changed focus from my hand to the stack of money on the counter with the same markings. Falling onto my back in fear, I pushed myself backwards with my feet across the floor. The cashier’s lips were moving, but all I could hear was a shrill ringing in my ears.

“Hello?”

I opened my eyes.

“Do you want someone to help bring your items to your car?” the cashier asked.

I quickly brought my hand up in front of me. There was… nothing there, not even the paper cut I had gotten earlier.

“Uh, sure” I feebly replied.

I stood by my car while two employees packed the items into my trunk. Still shaken up, I simply gave them a small wave as they returned to the store. As I got into my car and sat down, I felt that I was sitting on something. I grabbed whatever it was and looked at it. It was the little, black notebook. It was already opened to the first page when I had sat on it.

Where the "20000" had been, was written "15000".

"What the - "

The notebook became blurry and I could feel my hand pulsing again. It felt like bricks were pushing down on my chest causing me to gasp. Air felt frigid at the back of my throat, meeting my heart which had risen there. My stomach flopped with pangs of pure fear.

"Am I going to die?"

I looked at my hand again. The "X" had grown to the size of my palm and it sizzled as if salt was being rubbed into every fissure. The sound of my teeth grinding echoed in my head.

"I'm dying"

Swinging my head back to look at the notebook, I felt the intense urge to flee. I had to escape it. I had to…

Kicking my car door open I ran back to the store aching with each step.

"I'm dying. I'm dying. Im dying"

The words repeated in my head, endlessly.

Approaching the counter I stuttered out, "Give… it.. ba-". The words were harsh on my throat. Each syllable burned at my lips.

"Are you ok?" The cashier stared at me with such concern. Why did she care?

"The… money!" I shouted.

"Please calm down!" the cashier cried.

She hadn't even put the money in the register yet. I lunged at her, pushing her over, and clawed the money out of her hand. Once the money was back in my hand, the pain started to ease.

"Help!" she screamed.

Sprinting out the door, I could hear a commotion rise behind me. After speedily moving the t.v and computer out of my trunk, leaving them in the parking lot, I got in my car and just started driving. Not until I got home did my heat stop pounding. I threw the money back into the box and then picked up the notebook. My hand grasped the cover.

"Sorry, Dad"

I couldn't bring myself to look at it again. Carefully, I placed the little black notebook into its nest of bills. Everything felt better. Hastily putting new tape on the lid, I realized the cut on my hand had stained the box.

"Dreary weather," I mumbled.

I held the package in my arm and once again returned to my car. Driving back to the street corner, I felt as though I was still holding the notebook: like it was branded into my palm. My car rolled to a stop, and I looked at the same homeless man on the side of the road. As I rolled my window down, he perked up.

"Take this."

He looked at me with surprise, and feebly took the package from my hands.

"God bless you," he wheezed.

I said nothing, and drove away.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Itajara

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.