Humans logo

(The Owl House one shot) Luz' Seasons of Love

A year has passed since Luz came to the Boiling Isles. this year was different from any other year. She turns to music to find that the reason was the love she received there. I'm using the song Seasons of Love from RENT as the backbone of the story.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Screenshot from the Grom episode where Amity holds out her hand for Luz to fight Grom. the title is above Amity's hand.

AN

The musical is RENT and the song is Seasons of Love.

The song lyrics are in quotes and are sandwiched between lines.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was lying on the bed that Eda finally got for me once she realized that there was no way for me to actually go home. It had been exactly one year since I stepped foot onto the Boiling Isles. One year since I was on Earth with mami. I really missed her, the only thing I really did miss. But really I've been here for a year! It went by so fast and it just felt right! I didn't know why. A song from a musical I saw right before I left Earth came into my head. It wasn't my kind of movie, it wasn't animated, but the internet said that it was a gay rite of passage, so I gave it a chance, there were lots of emotions in the show and the songs. I had the soundtrack on my phone because of that. I pulled up the opening song. I placed the phone screen down on my chest as the intro played.

________________________

"525,600 minutes

525,000 moments so dear

525,600 minutes

How do you measure, measure a year?"

________________________

This year went by much faster than the ones on Earth, it's not that the year was actually shorter, the days and times and years were surprisingly the same, there was a ten-day week instead of a seven-day one because the seven-day one was derived from religion. My mind was wandering again. My thoughts ran through my head as I listened to the song. Being able to focus on two different things at once was probably my favorite part about having ADHD.

________________________

"In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee

In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife

In 525,600 minutes

How do you measure a year in the life?

How about love?

How about love?

How about love?

Measure in love

Seasons of love

Seasons of love"

________________________

Love that was it! I've never had so much love before! Besides my mom, I never had anyone that actually liked me. On Earth, I was a freak and a weirdo, and a social outcast that no one wanted to be around. Here I had a new mom, a little brother, an aunt, an enby parent, a girlfriend, and friends who all love me and don't care that I'm different, now I'm surrounded by love!

________________________

"525,600 minutes

525,000 journeys to plan

525,600 minutes

How do you measure the life of a woman or man?"

________________________

Journeys! This place was definitely full of journeys and adventures! Those are so exciting and fun!

________________________

"In truths that she learned, or in times that he cried

In bridges he burned, or the way that she died

It's time now to sing out

Though the story never ends

Let's celebrate, remember a year

In the life of friends

Remember the love

You got to, you got to remember the love

Remember the love

You know that love is a gift from up above

Remember the love

Share love, give love, spread love

Measure in love

Seasons of love

Seasons of love

Measure, measure your life in love"

________________________

I'm sorry mami but my life here has more love here than I'll ever get on Earth. I want to see you, but I don't think I could leave my new home and go back to my old life, or at least be happy there. I sighed, I just wish I knew how to tell her that and for her to understand.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AN

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story? I have more Owl House one-shots out and more to come. I have and several different series, including one about Raine figuring out their gender, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, comment, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

love
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.