Humans logo

The One

That got away.

By Lauren MeekPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
The One
Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

This is probably the most personal story I will ever write. Mainly because even some of the people I am closest to, don't know all the ins and outs of my feelings for this one person. I'm also not really one to talk about my feelings, I keep a journal and everything gets written down until I've exhausted every angle of it but to the world I tend to make jokes to cover up how I really feel about things. With guys, I like to play it cool and relaxed and pretend I don't have feelings until I pop which I know is super healthy...

For loads of reasons, one guy sticks out for me more than any other. We don't keep in touch anymore, he has a family now but I miss him every single day. There are always things I want to speak to him about or get his opinion on, even if it's just the book I'm reading or a film I've seen.

We had a really strange first introduction. I had been in his company before then but never spoken to him or gave him much thought if I'm being honest. It was drink-fuelled and then he forgot all about it for months then almost died of embarrassment when he was reminded of it. It turned out to be a great ice-breaker thought and gave me my first reason to slag him endlessly. One of my favourite past-times when it comes to the guys I date!

It wasn't smooth-sailing at all. There were complications on both sides and a lot of mistakes were made by both of us. I can confidently say that we both hurt each other a lot and were both pretty stupid.

He was by no means perfect but we had a lot in common, he understood my absolutely ridiculous sense of humour and most of the time I felt like he could read my mind. I never had to explain myself to him in the way I have had to with so many guys I've dated. He noticed all the little quirks I have (there are quite a few) that I don't think anyone has noticed before or since. I genuinely thought that he was "it" for me and justified every bad thing with "nothing worth having ever comes easy" but it wasn't meant to be and with a lot of tears and tantrums, pulling away, going back - you can picture it, we went out separate ways. I was sad in a way that I have never been sad in my life. I had imagined spending my life with him, my friends and family loving him and maybe not having a perfect life but close enough to be worth all the shit that we put each other through.

Before you think I'm sitting here sobbing over a cheesecake, I want to make it clear that I'm not sad anymore. I miss him in small ways everyday but it's not crippling or debilitating. If anything, now the memory of his face when I would deliberately not laugh at a joke he'd been waiting to tell me is what makes me smile in my bad moments.

I can quite honestly say that I hope he is happy. I want that for him. I wish he was happy with me and not without me but I'm only human! I have no regrets about decisions made or time spent with him but I do wonder if I will ever have what I had with him again. He is the bar in a lot of ways. However brief, the feelings were real, intense and will probably never fully go away.

As always, I like to end my stories on a positive note so here are the two I have for you. First of all, being with this guy made me realise that I am not an ice queen with a swinging brick for a heart which is always nice to know about yourself. The second one is that I didn't cry writing this, I smiled at the good memories. It's all about the small wins!

dating
3

About the Creator

Lauren Meek

I started this because I love to write and journal.

I’m just a woman in my late 20s trying to navigate through life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.