Humans logo

THE ONE

A Bachelor Dream Continued...

By Kent BrindleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
THE ONE
Photo by alevision.co on Unsplash

[Welcome back to Brant Kindheartedly's "Bachelor" dream sequence. In fact, he's NOT so much of a bachelor anymore! This time, he's made a (n ...interesting...) choice in Kealie Zulanskia. Let's see how they're doing...]

"This is a really nice place, Brant."

"I like it well enough, Kealie. I'm...really...glad that you said 'yes' to me."

"I'm enjoying myself too. Brant, you haven't even touched the bottle of Merlot in between us! Isn't it a good year?"

"It's my dream seqence and you're the perfect girl; I guarantee you that the wine is the perfect year. It's only that...well, you've waited on me at the bar often enough; I don't drink alcohol."

"(Spits) OMG; it's FANCY WINE; NOT alcohol! Take. A. Sip! Here."

[The moment of truth...]

(Sips) "...Say, that IS a good year! I do know how to pick them!...and my taste in women is pretty good too, if I do say so myself."

"I'm not arguing with you there!"

"So, Kealie..." (Sips from Merlot again) "...what's it like to be out of college now?"

(Sips) "Super great! But...um...why didn't I see you around CAMPUS and stuff? I mean, I only saw you at , like, ...games."

"...Well; because I've been out of college for...a while."

(Chokes back Merlot) "How 'while' ago?"

"Uh...13 years since I got my Bachelor's; 11 since I was at least trying for Master's school."

(Coughs) "Okay; that's a pretty huge difference in life experience. So...you don't drink; not 'til NOW, I mean?"

"...It's not like you've been serving me only WATERS when you wait on me!"

"True-true. Hey; it's kind of fun hanging out with you on THIS SIDE of a bar."

"...It does make visiting quite a bit easier. Here's to us..."

(Glasses clink)

[...But that WASN'T what Kealie really wanted to ask about...]

"...OMG; WHY is Ryan Seacrest constantly butting in and narrating our SHARED dream sequence?"

"...Because there happen to be two of us here; and I didn't think that a houseful of women finally vying for my attention would have felt it appropriate for the host to be Heidi Klum, Elise Nathalie, or Ivanka Trump."

"Touche. So...um...REAL question; you're in your mid thirties; I'm in my mid-twenties. It's not THAT huge of a deal; if you were chasing your third wife. But, by all accounts..."

"...the accounts are true and I'm pursuing my first OFFICIAL girlfriend."

"...Okay. Tell me about that."

"Well, you are still the first girl ever to agree to be out with me, just us two, in an off-campus setting."

"Seriously?"

"Honestly."

"...It must be the Merlot!"

"...or my dream sequence. But, you know what; you've sold me on the Merlot. It IS good."

[A nearby phone vibrates; then BOTH phones ring simultaneously...]

"...Alright; THAT did it! It was all well and good to have an audience in THE HOUSE while I was still PICKING a girl who would say yes to me. You've officially overstepped now. Seacrest (and audience)...OUT!"

"Hang on; I should probably take this. It's...well, it's my ex. He's still kind of clingy and I do sort of still care about his mental and emotional health as a friend. Would I be a total jerk if I took this call?"

"...I guess a TOTAL jerk would ignore the call altogether. Hang on; mine's Raquel."

"...Hey, if I can take mine, go on ahead."

"Thanks; you're a dear."

"...and you're as kindhearted as...well, as your name."

"It takes the right woman to bring it out in me. Just a second, Kealie/...Hey, Roc."

"Yeah, of course./...Hey, Luke!"

[Can even the best Merlot salvage a first date savaged by two competitive callers?]

"SHUT UP, RYAN!"

[You see two people out on a first date; whose addiction to cell phones seems to get in their way. What would YOU do?]

"Excuse me, Luke...(Giggles) no, YOU hang up first! No.../Seriously, Brant, I'm really starting to get bothered by Ry...JOHN QUINONES?!?"

"...Oh, yeah; THIS dream date is getting better and better! Racquel? ...Yeah; I've gotta go. No, you're not interrupting much; yet. ...sure; we can talk at Christmas. Best to all of our old friends."

Both Brant and Kealie hung up their phones simultaneously. They then exchanged a glance across the table and over a bottle of wine. Finally, a moment of tension is shattered as Brant begins to chuckle over the circumstances. Then, Kealie chimes in by giggling. Finally, both members of the new couple have joined hands across the table as both lean into their meals in fits of laughter...

dating
1

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.