Humans logo

The Name

by D.P. Hunter

By Patrick BramerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

The Name

From this point on I have not said what this girl’s name was and I guess I thought that I would be protecting her from me writing about her, but I realize that there is no way that she would even be reading these stories so there is no reason why I can’t at least post her first name on here. This girl’s name that has completely taken me away to dreamland is Jackie. She was perfect in every sense of the word. She had long blonde hair, blue eyes, and a slender figure. Her skin looked soft as silk and her smile could brighten up anyone’s day. She also either maintained a tanned physique or it was natural. When she walked into a room, everyone took notice. Jackie was my age so I should have been able to just walk up to her and “shoot the breeze”? No, I don’t think that would be possible. Jackie wasn’t a snob like most other girls in the school. She actually was someone who you could walk up to and start talking to, however, that person was just not me. I didn’t know how to do that, plus her boyfriend probably would have pounded me to the ground if I even attempted to try and do that.

Her boyfriend, Tim C. was a mean SOB and I’m not just saying that. He was a true-blue bully and he didn’t hide that fact. Tim was the starting quarterback for the football team, in fact, he was the starting quarterback for the team ever since his freshmen year in high school. Tim had a lot of friends who would do his bidding if he didn’t feel like doing it himself. Unless you were within his “circle of friends” you couldn’t get close to Jackie. So, you might be asking how she was even able to ask me for help. Well, it happened that the day she asked me was the day that Tim was not at school and I guess she broke free from the “circle of friends” so that she could approach me. Whatever the case was I got to meet this gorgeous girl and even though I stumbled on my words a few times (or more), she wasn’t that hard to talk to.

As Jackie was explaining what was wrong, she leaned in closer to point out where the problem was and as she leaned in, I noticed something that I had not ever known before, only because no one could get close to her. She (and I know this might seem creepy to some) smelled absolutely divine. Holy cow!! I don’t know if it was the soap she was using or shampoo or the perfume but whatever it was, it worked for her. Maybe it was her natural smell. It’s possible, right? Sometimes people will use too much of something and they become a walking stink bomb. Not Jackie. She definitely knew what she was doing.

After Jackie had finished pointing out the problem, I let her know that I will look to see what the problem is and let her know. I then turned around and walked away from her. Then it hit me, how was I supposed to get back in touch with her if her boyfriend was around at that point, I turned back around to ask that question to her, but after I turned around, she had already walked in the other direction. Great!!!! Now how am I going to get this back to her when it’s fixed? I will have to figure that out some other time. I just need to get this fixed. That’s the priority.

After school was over, I was excited to get home to try and figure out what the problem was with Jackie’s device. When I arrived at my house I went straight to my room and to my desk where I have a small workbench for fixing things. I turned on my overhead lamp, took out my screwdrivers, and took off the back to expose the circuit board. I inspected the board, low and behold the problem was staring at me straight on. A capacitor had come loose from the circuit board. Well, that’s an easy fix. I proceeded to heat up my soldering iron to soften the solder so that I can reattach the capacitor lead to the board. There!! All done. Now to get this back to Jackie. Hopefully, Tim won’t be there tomorrow so I can do just that. Time will tell if that will happen.

humor
1

About the Creator

Patrick Bramer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.