Humans logo

The Moon is Already Full

And Other Reflections on Loving

By Chinasa OkwuPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo from my favorite apothecary, Alembique Apothecary in Berkeley, California 

Why do we assume that when we meet people we connect with (platonic or romantic) that an instant relationship must be formed? That instead of honoring the love shared between each other and the patience it takes to grow more into the exchange, we cling to false ideas of safety in order to temporarily be "fulfilled" or "loved" or "happy"? Relationships don't work that way. Humans don't work that way. You cling to a flower for too long and it dies. You cling to an idea for too long and you go insane. Nothing is guarenteed in an instant, everything must have the space time and energy to grow.

No matter if it's family or someone you fancy, humans are incredibly complex and it takes years and years and arguablovely no time is measurable to how long it takes to get to know someone. We are all continuously changing into newer versions of ourselves every moment. Stimuli comes and we feel something new or old or something that can't be described. We don't even understand why we feel the way we do or why sometimes we act on said emotions. But the beauty of sharing that very human experience with someone and having the ability to witness another persons grow through SHARED love and support is the true nature of what we call happiness. We are not solitary animals. We exist as a collective, but we also have our own unique experiences that need to be acknowledged while in relation with others.

Understanding the types of people that encourage your growth or stagnate it is an important lesson to learn. Some flowers need direct sunlight for certain periods of time. Some flowers need lots and lots of water. Some thrive in solitude. You can't put a flower that needs copious amounts of water in a desert climate. It will shrivel up and die. Same goes for a human being. Learn your constitution. Learn what you need in order to be healthy. Learn who you are and decide whether or not certain people support that constitution. It is up to you.

happiness exists when we form connections with people based in love, support and honesty. But that takes time and that's okay. Patience and a willingness to sacrifice the idea of yourself to at times hold space for another is also a necessary part of growing. It requires that we be very honest with ourselves about who we are and sometimes how far we are willing to go to get to a better understanding of who that is.

It is the ultimate practice of meditation, of peace, and it's something humans have been battling and rejoicing in since the genesis of our species.

when you do love someone and the love is shared, surrender to the practice for it is the basis of peace and it's power radiates and touches every single living thing that it comes in contact with. Everything has meaning, a place, a power.. and we must acknowledge and honor the process of learning and growing more into such power, because what would we be without it?

creation is our nature, we either let it destroy us or we find liberation in it's infinite lessons.

I give thanks to my mother, a Scorpio, who may not believe in witches but to me, is the Supreme witch of an underworld coven that has found liberation in truth, despite all of what comes with it. She has taught me many spells in my life but the one I use most is my voice.

I give thanks for all of the women in my life for reminding me again and again what it means to create entire worlds through my body and the power generated when we come together.

I give thanks for my lifelong relationship and love affair with the Earth. My home. The soil that clothes me more than these temporary material objects and societal standards could ever think to provide. The water that bathes me like i am child, heals my spirit and connects me to all of the people in the entire world just by spending time underwater.

I give thanks for not existing, only here to breathe life back into parts of this karmic journey that need to be seen.

I give thanks for all of the beautiful humans that I have had the blessing to love, to love so effortlessly, to heal with and learn from and die together in our own unique ways. I carry our memories, smells, tastes, places, people, lives in the structure of my anatomy and somewhere I will never know deep inside of my spirit. The light I illuminate comes from our shared love.

The journey is a powerful one, filled with endless possibilities.

All we can do is learn to grow more effortlessly through the experiences we share with our reflections.

love
Like

About the Creator

Chinasa Okwu

storyteller, word painter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.