Humans logo

The Moment of Freedom In My Life

Have you ever experienced a moment of freedom?

By Sujit KrPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Moment of Freedom In My Life
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

I don’t mean freedom from tyranny or religious persecution, I mean freedom in the sense of feeling so good that your body, mind, and soul are all in sync with the world around you.

Life can change in the blink of an eye. One moment you are at work, and all seems calm. And the next, you are sitting at your desk, and you start smoking. You can't believe the chaos that just unfolded.

When this happens, life feels calm and balanced and you feel at peace with yourself and your surroundings.

I’ve had many moments like this throughout my life, but it wasn’t until recently that I could recognize what made them special and create an opportunity to enjoy such a moment again.

Today, I want to share with you some of my favorite moments of freedom.

Freedom from fears

I like to think of freedom as living without fear. The fight against fear, in a sense, is a lifetime struggle and something I’ve been tackling head-on my entire life.

By Marina Vitale on Unsplash

I have experienced moments of freedom from fear when I no longer allow myself to be intimidated by my insecurities, and I stand up for what I believe in, despite being nervous.

What I have learned from others, and now for myself, is that there are people who come into our lives to teach us about things we know but take for granted or situations that we find ourselves in that force us to face fears.

Everyone has fears; it is a natural part of life. But to truly enjoy life, we must also challenge our fears and permit ourselves to step outside our comfort zones.

When you think about it, fear shouldn’t exist because fear isn’t real; what we perceive as fear is a moment in time where something doesn’t go our way.

There were so many thoughts running through my head, and even though I thought about how much of a waste it would be to get kicked out, nothing helped calm me down.

You'll require grit and perseverance, but life can be so beautiful when you get it.

Fear is always temporary, and anything we perceive as permanent—like money, relationships, and faith—can be taken away from us at any given moment by chance alone.

Having freedom from fear allows us to approach new experiences and people without hesitation, which leads to some great stories!

If you want more freedom from fear, try pushing yourself into new situations and learning how much your mind can do! Your journey starts today!

When you overcome a challenge

The first time I made a significant change in my life, I was scared.

I had no idea what would happen if I left everything familiar behind and tried to start through in a new place.

By JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

But when you want something more than anything, you have to take that leap. And that is what I did when I moved to New York as an exchange student after high school.

Not only did it end up being one of my favorite experiences in life, but it also taught me some pretty important lessons along the way.

Everyone experiences challenges in their lives, and while it’s okay to look at them as roadblocks or walls, you don’t want to forget that they are also opportunities.

Sometimes we have to step outside our comfort zone and tackle things differently than we thought we would or even could.

Challenges exist because something needs to change, whether that means a new approach or an adjustment in mindset.

Looking at challenges as opportunities will shift your perspective, so you can make positive changes and see things differently.

If nothing else, you’ll see failures differently: Instead of seeing them as failures or roadblocks to success, think about how you learned from each one.

The challenge before us may seem difficult or scary at first, but you never know until you try!

When you take risks

Sometimes taking risks pays off, but other times you’re just not ready to take that leap.

By John Schnobrich on Unsplash

In my experiences in business and with friends, family, and loved ones, I’ve learned something about freedom: it can be scary as hell.

I remember when I decided to become an entrepreneur at age 19. So many people told me that it wasn’t safe and that I should wait until after college before taking a risk like that.

But here we are, almost five years later, and now I have five other businesses—and one more on its way (which is terrifying).

Taking those early risks for myself was well worth it for me.

Ask yourself these questions before to ensure that your risk-taking pays off:-

  • How much money do I need?
  • What kind of support do I have from others?
  • Am I going to learn from my mistakes?

If you find that one or more of these boxes don’t check out for you, then maybe it’s time to reconsider whether or not taking a risk is worth it for you right now.

When you receive good news

I’ve just received some good news, so I feel like I can relate to celebrations that happen at moments of freedom.

By Joseph Chan on Unsplash

For example, when you learn you got accepted into a college or got a promotion at work, your mind and heart are often filled with optimism.

It's such a rare feeling. Moments like these elicit a different set of emotions than those experienced during times of grief, stress, or fear.

They allow us the adrenaline rush we need on occasion and give us hope for a brighter future. And don’t get me wrong: We can be happy for people when they receive bad news too.

But there's something about seeing someone enjoy their freedom that brings an unexplainable joy.

It's crucial to remember how much love and support you have from your family and friends as you enter new stages of life.

Celebrate those moments that give you freedom!

Your mind is running through various scenarios you'll be faced within your life when you get that good news, but as bad as those scenarios may seem, you're thinking about them from a place of excitement, not fear.

It's almost a surreal moment when you are excited about things that once seemed impossible; things that have always seemed unattainable will now be possible for you to achieve in life.

When you give back

In my experience, I have seen that being kind to others is what truly gives you fulfillment.

By Mara Ket on Unsplash

One of my first experiences with giving back was during my first year in college when I took part in an Alternative Spring Break trip to Austin, Texas.

We volunteered at a homeless shelter, assisting in preparing food for people in need, and got to know the residents on a more intimate level.

I realized just how many obstacles people faced daily and wanted to give back more often. It's incredible to be able to give back to your community, particularly in times of need.

Volunteer for your favorite cause or organization. Donate to a cause or organization you care about regularly.

Share something positive with your friends, family, and or co-workers every day. Smile at someone who doesn’t expect it and share an encouraging word with them too.

Giving back, in my opinion, should not be something you do only when you have a lot or when you are happy with your life; rather, it should be an integral part of who you are and how you approach each day with optimism.

Conclusion

I hope you enjoyed my article about finding freedom at the moment, and this article helps you feel more connected to your family, friends, and yourself.

You know you're living in the moment when you're at peace with yourself and your life. Keep this in mind, and try to embrace the moment as often as possible!

I hope you feel more aware of finding freedom in your life. It doesn't have to be a long list of steps that can be as simple as clearing your head.

I would love to hear from you. Thank you for reading. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to comment below. Follow me if you want to get in touch with me.

Embrace the freedom of a life well-lived.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sujit Kr

I write about "Life Hacks" such as Ideas, Creativity, Entrepreneurship, Writing, Self Improvement, Productivity, etc. and help people to build the life of their dreams.

Follow Me on to read more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.