Humans logo

The Man of my Dreams

Dreams & Nightmares...

By Sylvie GagnéPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
The Man of my Dreams
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The warm salty breeze cools my perfectly tanned skin. Before me, a plate of taco carnitas and all the fixings, laid out in colorful handmade bowls. A white tablecloth waves gently, the palm trees rustling above my parasol, the rhythmic swoosh of the ocean make me feel relaxed and incredibly at ease. A bit elated, even!

At last, I had convinced my parents to let me go to this five-star resort in Acapulco, by myself. Well, almost by myself. They had insisted that Tommy tags along, just in case... 'Whatever! I am an adult!'

"But you're sick, Clara!", had they pleaded. "At least, Tommy can carry your luggage around, and, if need arise, he will be nearby to help you!"

'Well, it's not like I'm going to have an epileptic fit while on vacation!!' did I think, rolling my eyes in my mind. ' After all, I'm 22 years old! I can live my life my way after all.' But I also understood their concerns; so, I let Tommy tag along, if he stayed a long, long way from me.

Fortunately for me, Tommy was very discreet. I could just about totally forget his presence when I was not thinking about it.

Basking in the balmy 38 C, sipping on a glass of Merlot, and pretending to read a pocketbook, I glance at the many other tourists. Further away, a group of men were gathered around a bar height table, drinking beer. Clearly, they had come back from a round of golf, their outfits betraying them. I watch them boldly for a while. ‘MMM, what a sight! Gorgeous men in shorts and golf shirts, ripped muscles flexing flawlessly as they moved. My guess is they are all in their mid-twenties.’

One of them is facing me. He notices me. He stares me down with his crystal blue eyes, wide smile, tousled brown hair in the wind. I wink at him with a smile and cheer him with my wine glass. He nods, his pearly white teeth flash me a wide grin before guzzling down his beer. Casually, he returns his attention to his friends, but I surprise him looking my way every now and then.

Once done eating lunch, I run my hand in my long hair, flipping it at the same time. I put on my sunglasses when the group of men are walking the path near my table. I stand up, brush my hands down my skirt and reach for my book and purse. The first one in the group is walking by, followed by the others. A smile on my face, I nod to the man who had been staring at me, on and off since our first discreet exchange. As he goes by, he drops a scrunched-up note onto my seat.

I wait until they are out of sight and pick up the ball of paper. I unfold it:

6pm @ the Seashell and Beach Bar

Hunter

My heart does cartwheels in my chest! I must resist the urge to scream ‘Yes!’ and do a victory move that would not be very ladylike. I stuff the paper in my purse, a seductive smile on my lips, I breathe in deeply and head for my room.

Once inside, I kick off my heels and let myself fall backwards onto the plush bed, laughing out loud. I cross my arms above my head, giggling still, exhilarated beyond words! I just can’t contain this feeling of joy and happiness! It’s better than Christmas mornings as a child!

I sit up at once. ‘What am I going to wear? How will I do my hair? How are my nails? Do the colors match the outfit I’ll pick!’ So many questions whirl around in my mind. Time is flying by! There’s no time to daydream! I get off the bed and head for the shower.

It’s 5:45pm. I appreciate my looks in the floor length mirror. I decided to go with a chic boho look: casual, yet sexy. I braided just the top of my hair, just above my face and tucked them behind my ears, holding the braids securely in place with bobby pins. The rest of my chestnut mane is loose. A light make-up, a natural glow, shimmering pink lips confers me an air of innocence. A light ivory maxi dress hugs my forms perfectly. Light pink wedges, assorted to my purse and jewelry add a pop of color! I’m satisfied and confident. I grab a dark ivory shawl and I’m on my way to meet the man of my dreams!

As I reach the said bar, which is set, in part on a patio and a beach area, I join Hunter. He dazzles me with his smile and invite me to proceed before him.

“Table for two, please! Away from the crowd!” I ask the Maître D’. He leads us to an area on the beach, down from the patio. Heating lamps have been lit nearby. A simple low table sits between two lounge chairs. “Your server will be here shortly.”

Hunter and I look at each other, smiling.

“You look radiant! I’m Hunter” as he extends his hand. I shake it, responding: “I’m Clara! Nice to meet you!” We sit down as the server comes by.

“Good evening! I’m Sanchez. Can I get you a drink?”

- Yes, I’ll have a mojito!” I look at Hunter and he murmurs something, yet the server doesn’t notice and is turning away to leave.

“Excuse me, Sanchez!” The server whips around. “My date will have a whiskey sour, top shelf!”

– Yes, Senora!” He bows lightly and leave.

“So, Hunter, I take it you’re here on vacation? With friends?”

- Indeed, I am. We all graduated from our respective programs and decided to take a holiday, just the guys, before we go forth into the work world. This is probably the last time we will be together like this, except for bachelor’s parties, of course!

- What did you graduate in?

- Business. I just completed my master’s in finance.

- So, you already have a job somewhere?

- Yes, Ma’am! In New York.

- I’m from New York too! What a coincidence!” Secretly inside, I’m jubilating! ‘Could this really work out? OMG! Wow!’

Sanchez appears, hands us our respective drinks and leaves a couple of menus on the table.

“For later if you get hungry. Just wave me.” And he leaves as softly as he had approached.

“Really?”, asks Hunter. “What do you do?”

- I write for a fashion magazine. But we don’t just cover clothes and accessories; we also cover trends in décor, make-up and hip stuff to try. We are very versatile.

- I see. What brings you here, besides the obvious?

- Hum, I’ve always wanted to travel alone. I just needed a break from the bustling of the city.” I take a few sips of my drink. Some fireworks illuminate the sky behind me. Hunter looks above my head while I turn to admire them.

- Those fireworks are the divers ‘finale!”, he exclaims.

- Divers? What divers?

- You don’t know? Twice a day, there are divers that dive from a high cliff into a shallow area of the sea. They scale the scorching hot rocks to dive down below. And at night, there’s a circle of fire in the water into which they plunge. Afterwards, there’s always fireworks!

-Amazing!

- Maybe I can bring you tomorrow!

- I’d love that! What else is worth seeing?

- You must visit the La Paz chapel. Such an incredible sight of the city! And releasing the baby turtles is also highly recommended.

- My, my! I must get out of here! Those seem so fun!”

I reach for the menus and hand one to Hunter.

“You hungry?”

- Getting there. How about we order a couple appetizers to start?

- Great idea!” I wave Sanchez over and give him our orders. He nods.

“Oh, and refills on our drinks too!” I add swiftly. Confusion quickly flashes on his face, but he recovers with brio.

- Of course!” as he smiles broadly and grabs my empty glass away and leave. I turn my attention back to Hunter.

We start talking about our lives and dreams in more details. I find out that he has two younger sisters. I tell him I’m an only child. However, I always had a dog and that I plan on having a few once I move out on my own. NYC is so expensive! He agrees.

He admits that he just wants to stay there about 7 or 8 years, make a lot of money while living on the cheap so he can go back to his heartland hometown with his future wife and have a bunch of kids. He loved growing up out there, with large acres of land and all his family is there too. He loved the family gatherings, the Sunday brunches after mass. He wants to own a few businesses, semi manage them, with co-managers. He sees his wife as a stay-at-home mother to cherish him and their children. He wants to travel the world, help his community, and make his hometown a better place to live.

I listen to him with admiration, stars in my eyes! ‘Oh God! Please, please! He’s everything I’ve ever dreamed off! Thank you! Thank you!’ I feel so blessed to have met him. ‘I just need to make him fall in love with me and he will give me the life I’ve always wanted for myself! And sisters! I’d have sisters! That would be so great! I had always wanted to have a sister! Someone to confide in, to do silly stuff and to just have fun! Oh, this is so perfect! I know I can be his perfect wife! After all, my parents are part of New York’s high society. I have all the manners and etiquette!’

As I munch on the last of the corn chips, I casually let it slip that I have been spending my summers at my family’s Hamptons 'Estate, how the small community came alive during the summer months and where there is a somewhat smaller town feel about it that is very different from New York.

I watch Hunter with interest when I recount my tales of my days on the beach or on the water, windsurfing or when my Dad would take me and my friends out on his Yacht. Hunter smiles, his eyes never leave mine. ‘He’s interested! Well, he was already interested, but now, I’ve sweetened the deal.’

“So, Hunter, when can you take me to see the divers and that breathtaking view you mentioned earlier?”

He smiles, stretches back in his chair and is about to answer when someone approaches us. It’s Tommy!

I narrow my eyes at him coldly and slither: “This better be a good reason to disturb me!”

- It is Miss Clara. For the past two hours, I’ve been watching you holding a conversation with an empty chair!”

dating
1

About the Creator

Sylvie Gagné

I’m a high school teacher in a French Catholic board in Ontario, Canada.

I love traveling, cooking and listening to music.

I’ve always had a very imaginative mind since I was a child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.