Humans logo

The Little Black Book

What secret does it hold

By Jacqueline BowserPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Little Black Book [Courtesy/Pixabay/CC0]

The morning Aunt May fell down the stairs, I knew that I would have to move into her house and help her. Luckily, she did not get hurt but after her scare, she didn’t want to be there by herself anymore. I was in the process of looking for a new place after my landlord sold the property, so it worked out for me.

As I pulled into the driveway and I got out of my car, grabbing some of my bags, and walked to the front door, and knocked. Aunt May unlocked the screen door with a big smile on her face, letting me in.

“Hi Aunt May, it is so nice to see you. Thanks for letting me stay with you,” I said giving her a quick kiss on her cheek.

“Oh honey, you’re doing me the bigger favor staying in this old house with me. Between falling and not being able to pay for everything, you are my angel for doing this. Let me lock the door before I show you where your room is, she said with a friendly voice.

She took me up the stairs and showed me where my room was. She opened the door, walked to the window, opened the curtains, and let the sunlight in. I walked in and put my things down on the bed and looked around. The room was bigger than my apartment I had been living in

“This will be your room now and you have your own bathroom,“ she said looking at me.

“The room is lovely. Thank you, Aunt May,” I said giving her a hug.

“You're very welcome, honey. Anything in here you don’t want or like, you can throw it away and change it. I will let you settle in and get acquainted with the rest of the house,”

“The room is lovely. Thank you, Aunt May,” I said giving her a hug.

“You're very welcome, honey. Anything in here you don’t want or like, you can throw it away and change it. I will let you settle in and get acquainted with the rest of the house," she quickly sputtered and left the room.

I decided my things could wait and followed her downstairs. She was already in the kitchen, starting dinner for the two of us. As my aunt was cutting up vegetables she turned around looking at me with the kindest smile.

“Aunt May, is there anything I can help you with?” I said smiling back.

“Yes dear, I know you did but you just got here after a long drive. I got this. Why don't you go to the living room and relax? Make yourself at home,” she said, getting back to the vegetables.

I followed my aunt's suggestion and went to the living room. I saw there was a bookcase and it was filled with books. I looked through the shelves to find something to read and came across a little black leather notebook.

I took the black notebook and sat down on the couch. I immediately opened a little black notebook to where the bookmark was. As I began reading, I found out that someone had closed off a room in the basement. From what was described they put wallpaper over the door hiding it. There was no explanation as to why someone would have done that.

After dinner, I cleared off the table and helped my aunt wash the dishes.

“Did you like dinner?” she asked as she washed the last plate.

“Yes, it was good. It's been a while since I have a meal like that. When we are done would you mind if I did some laundry?” I asked, smiling at her.

“You don't have to ask. Just remember to turn the light off when you’re done. I'm going to go watch some television before bed,” she said kissing me on the cheek.

I went upstairs to my room and grabbed my laundry and quickly headed to the basement with the little black notebook in my hand. I threw a load of laundry in the washing machine and opened the notebook to the page marked.

I started moving boxes around and looked closely at the wall. I found where the door was and started ripping the wallpaper down. There was no handle on the door so I pushed it open and walked in. The room wasn’t big and was filled with dust and cobwebs.

I noticed something faintly in the corner of the room and walked over to it. I could see a metal box so I picked it up blowing the dust off the top of it. I walked back over to the washing machine where there was more light and placed the box down. The box was rusted and the lock was broken on it. I opened the lid and took a deep breath. There was so much money inside of it.

I started counting the money, not once but twice. There was close to $100,000. I kissed the little black notebook and headed upstairs to tell Aunt May the wonderful news.

family
Like

About the Creator

Jacqueline Bowser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.