Humans logo

The Kiss

The First Kiss

By Patrick BramerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Kiss

I know that I mentioned that we “danced the night away”, but in reality, we didn’t stay until the end of the dance. We left when there was about an hour or so left. I walked her to the car, opened the door, and she got in. As I got in, I hesitated to start the car. Jackie was wondering why I hadn’t started it yet and all I could think about was the slap that she laid on Tim. After Jackie had slapped Tim across the face and came back to the table where I was, we never talked about it. One of the reasons was that it was really loud in the room with the music playing plus I didn’t want to be a recipient of a slap like that, not that she would need to do something like that with me or anything.

As I sat in the car, I looked over to Jackie with this ‘I can’t believe you did that’ look and she looked at me. We just started laughing. I said, “I can’t believe you slapped Tim”. She said that he had it coming. Plus, she said, “I know he must have done something to you before we got on the dance floor.” I said, “yes” and cowered my head down in embarrassment. I then heard in a loud voice, “HEY”. I looked up in surprise and she said, “I know Tim can be an ass. He has that effect on people to be that way. I don’t want you to think that I look at you differently because someone is bullying you. In fact, I don’t want anyone to think about what I should feel. I can think on my own and here is what I think. Here is what I know. You are a great guy and I am lucky to have this night with you.” An overwhelming sense of relaxation came over me as she said that. There was quite a long pause before anyone said anything after that. We just looked at each other for a while and then she said, “so does this bucket of bolts move or what?” I started up the car and started driving.

After we left the parking lot where the dance was being held, we just drove around town a bit and I then drove her back to her house. I still had time before her curfew was to end so we just talked about stuff in the car. We talked about our futures, and where we were going to be after school. I found out that Jackie wanted to be an architect and I told her that I wanted to be a computer programmer. I could see Jackie as an architect. She always put some type of drawing on our notes that we passed to each other in between class times. Now I know that some of these “doodles” probably wouldn’t or couldn’t be passed on as an architectural design, but she did have talent.

So, at this point, it was about 10 minutes before her curfew was to end so I got out of the car, opened her door and she got out. She stepped to the side so that I could close the door and I don’t know what came over me, but I kissed her. I was truly expecting to get a slap as she gave to Tim, but she didn’t pull back, in fact, she kissed back. I AM KISSING JACKIE. WE ARE KISSING EACH OTHER. I am truly being honest when I say that she is the first girl that I ever kissed and it was fantastic. I don’t know how long we kissed, but I knew that I didn’t want it to stop. Unfortunately, it did stop because the porch light came on from the house and I thought I got a glimpse of someone peeking out of the window as I turned around. I walked Jackie to her door and we said our goodbyes.

As I am driving back to my house all I could think was the kissing that Jackie and I were doing. I can’t believe that I just kissed Jackie. I know what you all are thinking what’s the big deal about the kiss? It was a big deal to me. She is the prettiest girl at school and I got to kiss her so yes, it’s a big deal. Then I thought, does this mean we are boyfriend and girlfriend? Do I need to ask her to be my girlfriend or does the kiss imply that we are at that status? Okay, I am perplexed at this point and not sure what to think. When I get home, maybe my sister would know what this means since she’s an ‘expert in dating’. I kind of chuckled when I thought this.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Bramer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.