Humans logo

The Heart Shaped Lock Only I Can See

A lesson of truth and life

By Jeziel SolerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Heart Shaped Lock Only I Can See
Photo by Kristina Kzhdryan on Unsplash

The Heart Shaped Lock only I Could See

A lession of truth and life

Today is my 15th birthday. My name is Kai and I was to begin training as an executioner and guard. That all changed when… I found out the towns dark secret. Now I wont bore you with all the details, for even if I wanted to I don’t have much time left. I just hope whoever you are who finds these records and letters. Please head them and never give up on humanity. It may be hard now to see but good people are out there.

My story begins on my first day of training to be the next executioner. I was brought before the chief and sworn in. I made a solemn vow to always do right by the people and rid the world of evil vile beings. I believed in every word I said that day…. Believed… I wish I had known better if so then I may not have been next on the chopping block. That said I regret nothing.

This day was like any other. For three months I spent my early mornings giving thanks to our chieftain. For he was chosen to rule by the grace of supreme beings. I spent my mornings chopping wood for both excursive and winter preparations; come to think of it I guess it was all for nothing since I will not be around that much longer, but I digress: now where was I… ah yes so after a morning bath in the near by stream I would dress in the all black jumper grab my large ax and head off; no pun intended. The buildings on the way seemed rather tattered, warn, and showed signs of severe damage. Like if someone took boulders and just destroyed rolled them through the walls. The cool autumn breeze was blowing wich made the walk more bearable then the last 2 months of summer, it was so pleasant.

So I arrived at one of a few buildings in the town left. My favorite place to be. A crumbled sign on the front entrance with PEN etched on the door. I was here at my place of work where I did my work of ridding the world of evil… or so I thought. Again today was a day like no other my training was complete and this was the day I get my own set of keys to the cells and the building itself. But that wasn’t the only thing out of the ordinary. You see I was struck through the heart by a beautiful visitor she was unlike any other female I had ever seen before. Long flowing black hair beautiful amethyst colored eyes lightly tan brown skin with absolutely no flaws looking to be about 18 years or so. I assumed she was from another settlement for I had never laid eyes on such a beauty.

I lucked out, I was to lead this gorgeous women to our chieftain as she had requested an audience. I spoke with her on the way, come to find her name is Jida. Jida states to me, “I am here in hopes to speak about possible advancement our community has found a way that we can rebuild and bring us back to a much more stable future for all of mankind.” She went on to explain how they were exploring old ruins and found vaults with videos on construction, agriculture, mathematics, science, etc…

Long story short I was set to execute Jida on the passing of in a months time. Our chieftain was not willing to listen to her. Labeled her a heretic and was confined in a cell also stating to a select few a terrible dark secret. One that I could not understand for the life of me but he stated, “ tell no one but we will declare war on these heretics for they go against the supreme ones”. All of her stuff was taken and burned, well most of it. I could not allow this injustice to happen all she wanted to do was spread this knowledge she and her people had learned so I hid it away and burned extra wood and parchment in its place. Now every day I was to guard her cell. And every day that cold steal started to shift and change as I spoke to Jida, Learning of the world before and of who she was and wanted to be.

I was done with my planning and decided to help her escape the heart shaped lock that only I could see was the final obstacle between my love and her freedom. I knew what I had to do. At dawn I opened the lock and we ran to the edge of the town. I had to stop there to allow her to escape and buy Jida all the time I could. She begged me to come with her but I had no choice to protect her I needed her to have as much distance as possible away. She ran and with my ax I fought for what felt like forever before I finally collapsed from fatigue around dusk. When I finally woke in this cell the one I new well I was happy for it still had the heart shaped lock. So even though no one could see it, and even though my love was gone, they could take my head but they could never take my heart. I have no regrets for I will die a man.

By the time someone can read this I will have returned to the Earth. Hopefully you will be living a better life, and you learn from my history to build a better future. One last thing before I have to go Jida if you are reading this I Love You.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.