Humans logo

The Greatest Love Story Never Told

She's out of My Reach, but Needs Me

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
The Greatest Love Story Never Told
Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

She entered my life with a smile! Frozen to her introduction to my eyes, Her voice took center stage in my life and I didn't know what to say next. It was a chilly and reserved not typical North Texas weekend and her clothing stated that she was ready for a Saturday and excited to try the new uptown social food spot. "Thanks for picking my up!", she mentioned. Still at awe of the moment, I tried my best to simplify the conversation without saying something that would put my foot in my mouth.

"Are you from here?" I led with the basic icebreaker to feel the mood of what could be a great conversation, or the next ten minutes of silence. She gave a short, but not rude reply and with her respectful tone, it was better to limit the conversation and let her enjoy the ride. Yet, my wondering mind did not disappoint, and we were off to another storyline.

The sun gave a tired shine as it looked to retreat deep into the oceanside as the fresh smell of the summer eve gave way to the California Bay. Her soft dress attire was fitting for the moment, and I was in complete satisfaction with her level of attention to my current needs. She placed her hand of the top of mine and gave a relaxing confirmation as to how much she enjoys this place. The cocktails were settled into our system and everything seemed to be flowing just right. The band started to play a song that was fitting for the moments as if they were speaking for her eyes by the way she was observing me. She then stood up, without taking her hand of mine, and gently guided me to the open floor. She spoke softly into my ear as she noticed my nervous disposition and said, "The night is young, please hold me slowly and close as the music plays away!" The formation of scrambled eggs are serving better purpose than my brains right now! Her smell was better than a bed of flowers, eyes were clearer and as yellow as butterscotch candy, and skin as soft as Detroit Silk.

She then asked with a comforting smile was I having a good time and at that moment, my smile was like no other smile that I ever had before. The server came over to sadly inform us that our meal was ready as he observed the smile on our faces as we glided flawlessly across the dance floor. As we approached the table, our eyes got as big as two kids in a candy store. The enticing sight of split lobster tails with Cajun-stuffed dressing running over the shells, companied with sauce that cleared my nostrils and informed my stomach that it was time to enjoy dinner! As we sat at the table, the server poured a sample taste of wine for my approval. In complete ignorance, I told the server to finish pouring the wine because I could certainly handle more than that. She nodded her head and smiled as she took notice of an educating moment and grabbed my hand and said, "We have to go to a tasting and get you up to speed, I see!" With a moment of shame slightly on my face, she gave way to comfort me with a slight kiss on my cheek which gave me indication that everything was going to be alright. We made our way to some undeserving sweets and coffee to close curtain on a fantastic dinner.

As we made way to the door, she told me this would be a perfect time for an evening stroll down the bayside. As the heat turned down from a lovely California day, a disturbing bell started to ring! "Sir, Sir" as she attempted to get me out of my short dream, "Thank you for the ride! Enjoy your day!"

She slowly walked off as we made eye contact. Thoughts came quickly to my mind that it should be me taking her to dinner instead of her going in there as an solo act. Sadly, I wasn't good for her because focusing on other matters would bring loneliness to her heart.

dating
2

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.