Humans logo

The grass isn't always greener..

you have to make it greener.

By Vanessa SecaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The grass isn't always greener..
Photo by Ben Kolde on Unsplash

“Jack of all trades” is what people would always say when speaking about me. From the moment I was old enough to make my own decisions I decided that I didn’t want to just be good at one thing I wanted to be good at them all. The trouble with being a “jack of all trades” is that I’m also a “master of none.” And as I got older, I started noticing people choosing one thing and being amazing at that one thing. I never had that self-confidence to stick to one thing and risk not being immediately amazing. Life was hectic enough that I never had to give my lack of self-confidence a second thought, that was until 2020.

It felt like everyone’s world had come to a complete halt and suddenly forced us to take a good hard look at ourselves. It was in those moment that I realized all my actions up to now were only made so people always had a glowing perception of me. I had two choices, continue to do things that were making me unhappy or finally decide to live for myself. Although it took a lot of convincing, I finally decided that I finally wanted to be happy with myself.

Without the pressure of having to work or even walk out of my own home I finally had all the precious time in the world. And while a week turned into a month turned into almost a year in a half and painting turned into furniture upcycling into tattooing, I finally realized the one thing that made me feel that happiest I had ever been. When I tell you what I decided you might think to yourself “that is what you landed on? After all your self exploration?” and yes, this is what I chose to be happy.

I decided to cleanse myself of all social media presence, for the time being.

For as long as I can remember every time I went on any social media; Instagram, Facebook, twitter and now tok-tok, I found myself comparing my life to what others claimed to have. It always felt like maybe if I lost those 10 pounds or if I had more friend I would in turn be happier. I grew unappreciative of what I had and always felt the need to have or be more. I already knew in the back of my mind that not everything you see on the internet is real, but it still made me start questioning if what I had was not enough.

I was out with my family one night, but I was so engrossed in my phone focusing on how others were living their life that I wasn’t seeing my life for the moments it was. And that was when I decided, I was going to delete all my social media apps. I was done living for others and I was finally going to appreciate those who appreciated me.

I began by starting everyday looking at myself in the mirror and using words of affirmation. “I am beautiful, I am strong, and I am worthy of love.” It might sound silly but once I got into the habit of building myself up instead of breaking myself down the confidence I once had to fake became real. I started approaching the day with one thought “what is one thing that I can do today that will make me happy?” And while I eventually went back to using social medias, I was able to see the posts for what they were. A single moment in life, not the whole life. A worthy and fulfilling life is what we decide to make for ourselves.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Seca

An aspiring artist from texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.