Humans logo

The glory of red lips

At the end of the game, we’re what we produce in our lifetime.

By Ayman BaroudiPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1

He’d been born poor and suffered a lot before he was the king of the song. But today was not good for him at all. The Dr frowned and told him his days were numbered. “What the hell!” was his first response, then he went to the pub to get drunk and say goodbye to the good days. “No, I’ll not go easily,” Was his first response after the first drink he had. And he decided to take revenge from the fate that would take his life and prohibit him from enjoying what he’d achieved through sweat and tears.

‘If I were to die, why at all I have ever had come to this damn planet earth,’ he thought and ordered one more drink. The drink didn’t taste good as usual; the rage grew harder in his head, “Why, I’m here at all?” He loudly screamed this time, and others in the pub looked at him and thought he was already drunk.

The lady in red next to him smiled, “you’re here to drink.”

“No, don’t interrupt my thought. I was talking with myself but in a high voice.”

“It doesn’t matter. I can hear you either way.” She said without even moving her rouged lips.

“You can read my thought?”

“You were wondering why you have ever had come to this damn planet earth.” She looked him in the eyes seeing his surprise at how she came to know, “ fine, and the answer is simple, you came to life to drink.”

“What the hell? Why do you speak in this odd way, keeping your heavily rouged lips closed?”

“My lips are not your business now.” She objected and moved like she was going to leave the place.

“Please don’t go; tell me what I was supposed to drink in life?” “Something you need it badly to grow. You did need to drink the water of life.” She paused, noticing he was disturbed that everyone in the pub was looking at him. “Do not mind them; they’re drunken. It’s still early to them to know the fact.”

He felt the need to have a more potent drink to catch up with what that lady in red was talking about. “ fix me the strongest cocktail you can fix.” he told the bartender, who turned away from him. His rage grew harder; the need to revenge from the fate which was about to take his life became more intensive.

“Why the revenge?”

“Because I struggled all my life for nothing. All that in my head now will be food for the worms.” He screamed madly that the pub regulars started to laugh.

“What is in your head can never be lost,” she raised her index finger. “It’s saved for you in the cloud.”

“Saved for me?”

“As above so below as within so without.”

“ I don’t follow!” He said in a neutral tone. He was not angry now but curious to hear more.

“Since as above so below, then as below so above,” She doubted he sensed her words. “Let us put it this way. Who’re you?”

“I’m the king of the song.” He replied proudly.

“And so, you’ll be forever.”

“You mean I won’t die?” He asked excitedly.

“Death is an earthly expression, but it’s not valid.”

“You mean there’s no death?” He loved what she was saying but found it hard to believe in it.

“There’s transformation.”

“Transformation! I see,” He posed for a long minute then shouted at the bartender, who ignored his order for a cocktail.

“Maybe the bartender think you had enough for tonight,”

“Maybe he’s right,” he responded in an indefinite tone to the lady in red. And gazed at her in confusion and cloudy eyes, “I’m not even sure if you were existing or I’m just talking to a ghost.”

“I’m here, don’t you see me?”

He reached her body to feel her but could only feel intensive vibration.

“I already told you about transformation. The first law of thermodynamics says, energy can neither be created nor destroyed; energy can only be transferred or changed from one form to another.”

“And what about your rouged lips?”

“ You like them.”

“They look virgin like you had not kissed anybody yet.”

“I don’t think you’re right,” she said in a mysterious tone. “I kissed a countless number of people till now, but I’ve never kissed anyone twice. I only give the last kiss.”

“I feel I like to kiss you,” He said keenly. “I’m dying to kiss you. I feel like I’ve been waiting a long time for something like this to happen.”

“You’re right. You’ve been waiting for me since the day of your birth. The day when you realized by intuition that your being on this planet earth was temporary.”

He approached her, and she responded well and kissed his lips. The kiss tasted unearthly that he sensed a smooth vibration waving through his nerves.

“Are you feeling good?” The woman in red asked him.

“Perfectly good?”

“Are you afraid of the coming unknown?”

“I’m sure I’m going to rest in peace.”

“So, should we go?”

“Yes. Yes, and right now.” He said silently and felt himself turning to the glory of light.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Ayman Baroudi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.