Humans logo

The Glass Came With

No more blind dates I think.

By LeiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I can hear the trolley approaching, although I'm staring at the chipped red polish thru my peekaboo heels.

"You definitely went too hard getting dressed dude", I think to myself. To be fair, it was a blind date and I was told formal wear to an Italian bistro, not a pizzeria that happened to have a liquor license. I dig around in my coat pocket, grateful for its enveloping comfort as I wait to board the trolley, searching for the ticket I had just purchased and feeling it tap my fingertips and easing the slight anxiety itch that had started to creep in. I maneuver myself up the steps and slide into a windowed corner ready to sink into whatever sulking defeat awaited.

I feel my left hand going slightly numb and I lift it up to find a wine glass still tightly gripped and very much empty. In a 5 second internal panic I realize I've left the restaurant in full custody of their dinnerware. Who walks out of a terrible date with a wine glass? Not the bread sticks, not the tired bouquet tucked in a too small vase, not even the bottle of chianti did my mind think too high tail off with, but this single unenchanting, empty wine glass my brain said "YES!" to freeing. I pull my phone out and dial the only person I could think of to help.

"So…I left the restaurant with a wine glass…" I trail off before I hear the cackling ensue on the other end of the line. They tell me to sit tight, which being on public transportation, is there really any other way to sit. I twirl the glass and count the stops left before I'd be home. I hear a familiar laugh and look up at the doors to see my bestfriend holding a bottle of my favorite merlot and the grin she uses before launching into a lecture about my luck less love life. She slides into the seat across from me, radiant in a tye dye pink sweat suit, reaching to swipe the glass from my hands and filling in it with merlot before putting it back in my mostly numb palm.

"Before I get into how ridiculous it is that you decided to park your car and track down my trolley and how your stalking skills have gotten you to the right platform, I love you, you creep."

She smiles at me and rather than offer up her lecture, she says,"I put a location app in your phone so that when you went on these blind dates, I'd at least be able to see where you were in case you needed me. The last time you took off on a date you were so angry you wouldn't give the address for 30 minutes while you fileted the human experience and how romance is a tired lifeless lie. I figured if this one made you that mad I could at least be en route. I gotta say though, even if he asked you to moon him in the middle of dinner, you could've grabbed us a pizza…" she starts to laugh looking at me squinting at her over the glass.

I'd return the glass in the morning but for now it would follow us as we rode along arguing over pizza toppings and putting my blind dating career on an indefinite hold. Maybe though, the next time we grab something a bit more edible or drinkable than glassware but, even tilted in hand, lit in the barest of halogens, still unenchanting but not empty anymore.

dating
1

About the Creator

Lei

she/they

Nobodies bio ever does them justice but lets run some stats; I'm 31, a Pasifika (Pacific) woman/other, a mom to a child on the spectrum, and a professional bread and book thief, go ahead and check your shelves, I've already been by.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.