Humans logo

The Gemini Conundrum

Why I am both obsessive and avoidant of my star sign

By KC DumaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Gemini Conundrum
Photo by Denes Kozma on Unsplash

“Do I contradict myself?

Very well then I contradict myself,

(I am large, I contain multitudes.)”

- Walt Whitman (Gemini)

I always get the same response when I tell someone my star sign. Oh. Eyebrows raised, sometimes accompanied with a lean back or a step away. Doubt or fear clouding their face. I mean, the evidence against the Gemini sign is fairly damning. The roster runs deep with serial killers, gangsters, terrorists, our most corrupt president, and various celebrities prone to Twitter rants. The reaction to my birth’s timing can be confusing, as I don’t see myself in some who share my sign.

Our nasty reputation precedes us. The Gemini is the sign of the twins, the sign of change. We are known to be malleable, flighty, talkative, charming, basically a mixed bag. As we are air signs, we do a lot of thinking. Probably almost as much talking. Maybe more talking. Too much of either. We are known to be fun but not deep. Social, but flaky when we want to sleep. I think we inhabit contradictions. After all, we are the sign of duality.

We are the sign of the twins, always trying to see both sides of every argument. Arguing both sides to ourselves, maybe that’s why we thrive in the in-between. Our moods can be mercurial, many seeing us as cold or aloof. We are excellent studies of character and reading the room, inherently adept at navigating social cues. We may change our mind on everything we said the last time we talked, but we so rarely run out of subjects. We are ruled by the planet Mercury, the god of tricksters and thieves, infamously known for its retrograde.

There are certain traits I find threaded through my fellow Gemini's. A genuine love of learning. Learn everything, read everything, talk about everything. Most of us thrive in social settings, bouncing around the room, a natural at parties for the most part. I feel the mercurial side as well through my battle with depression. I know the twin side of me, the reflective side; I think of it as a balance. Allowing me to inhabit more perspectives. I love supporting my friends in their new endeavors, blowing air into their ideas. I like being able to brainstorm ideas, dive into every deep thought experiment. I think Gemini’s are unique because we understand a fundamental truth about our time here on this space rock. It probably doesn’t matter. In the grand scheme of things, in 10, 15, 20 years down the road, all the small stresses of our days fade. The time here is what we make of it, infused with the meaning we give things. We create the context of our days, and we choose what we carry along the path. Is my inner monologue exhausting at times? Absolutely!

Even with the varied reaction, I like being a Gemini. Speaking from a complete place of bias, I think we are fun! We want the finer things in life and love enjoying them with our friends. We like to travel and collect friends from those all over the world. Debate and learn something new every day. I know why people don’t react well to us, and while I would like to say it’s jealousy… I know that our particular flavor is not everyone’s favorite. I love my multitasking, sparkly-eyed, joyous finding twins bouncing our way through.

Astrology is like a map. It allows us to see patterns and draw more informed conclusions, like surveying our own inner selves’ territory. It’s not predicting the future or psychic connections. It’s helpful in understanding why certain portions of your life will feel specific ways. How major events line up and impact us personally. I’ve always loved horoscopes. I’ve always wanted to love the bigger picture. Humans are the stuff of expired stars, and astrology allows us to understand this interconnectedness. But life isn’t just astrology; it’s the decisions we make in the day-to-day. It’s the way we treat each other. Treat ourselves, and while our signs can help us make sense of it all, ultimately, it’s up to us.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

KC Duma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.