Humans logo

The Forrestal, Remembering Jim, and life.

Lost time and looking for the missing pieces

By James M. PiehlPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This one is a thinker. I was born in May of 1978. I have always listened to the tune of planet Earth and what the universe is telling me. I am artistic, creative and also scientific.  In Forrest Gump, Gump went to Vietnam and had a Lt. named Dan. It's famous if you've never seen the movie, prevalent throughout it. He became like a two in theme throughout the movie. I don't know who Gentle George is but he wrote about Kindness and playing Fair and remembering Jim Piehl. Jim had died in April of 1976. On the 7th, when his plane crashed into the back of the USS Forrestal, doing night landings. Gentle George had met him in 1960 and when they parted ways never saw him again. Jim Piehl 1960-1976 had a Lt. named Dan Cole. At least whenever he had gotten the commission to fly the F-4. Just as a note in my life the USS Cole was bombed. I had strong anger toward the month April for various reasons but I also love the month of April for what the month literally is as strange as that might sound. The weather and Season and what means is in store ahead of us and further along. I've always felt a little upside down in this world where people don't always seem to understand what I'm saying. Jim W. Piehl was the navy pilot and good working, loved to smile shipmate but I'm James M. Piehl in this world or Jim M. Piehl if you so please to hear it that way. My father was in the military from 1960 to 1964 I think. He was a marine. I know he was through by 1964. There is a twilight zone episode where a WWII vet, my memory is a little fuzzy but I think it was a WWII vet, was exiting one of those ships where the front opens and all the men run out and he was killed. The man saw it happen right in front of him and in the episode that same man saved everyone in that unit with an act of heroism and then vanished. It was either a WWII VET or a Vietnam vet. I also find it slightly tragic and note worthy that a man in military service from 1960 had survived the entirety of Vietnam, the war that claimed so many lives, which essentially ended in 1975 only to die in 1976. Those are just some of the many things that have made and effected my life. By the way a set of cards, basically trading cards, made to commemorate military vehicles arrived and the USS Forrestal was in it. I have the card here and I never widely collected those cards. I've always searched to solve mysteries and puzzles in this world so some of these coincidences  have more meaning to me. My own family never understood me very much, thought that I said weird things. I just try to learn and pay attention to the lessons of history and the world. Most of this I pulled out of thin air the way Johnny Carson took revealed the contents of a sealed envelope on The Tonight Show but the facts are true and these pieces arrived in my life from out of nowhere. People usually thought I was just telling stories. There has been a return to the unfinished business of the '60s here during my life, most notable, recently and some tumultuous disrest came with it, in the need to settle much unfinished business that has affected and effected the United States. But we as a people of America and the world were given these terms and the scientific laws that govern us as well as some heavy burdens from the past to carry with us as we move forward in life, and as the world and time move forward as well. We have unsettled business from 1200 1400 1600 1700 1800 and 1940 1960 plus 3400 b.c. and 1 a.d. to deal with that effect us. So it is best to understand our responsibility and the world plus our relation to it. To understand our greatness and our meekness, our importance and our inadequate or commoness to do the most good we can. To find the road we want and the road we need to travel. To find our place in it.  At times life dictates us, at times we dictate it. Welcome to 2021 and Happy New Year.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

James M. Piehl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.