Humans logo

The “Ex” Files

Part 3: Another chance

By Virginia ShefcykPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

As I thought about John and my redo plans, I began to wonder if I should stand him up as well. I mean, he stood me up, embarrassed me, and made me look stupid. Maybe I’m taking this all too personally, but damnit I demand respect! I thought about this for days and finally I unblocked his number and told myself to just give it one more try. He seems like a total jerk but I kind of want to look at some eye candy for a while. I unblock his number and within two hours I receive text messages from him. “Hey, it’s me. John. So I wanted to apologize again for the way I handled things when we made plans. I should have done a better job at reaching out and letting you know what happened. Thanks for giving me another chance. When are you free”? I don’t know why, but part of me felt bad for him. For the way I acted and how I treated him in public. Ugh, I overthink too much!

We decided to go and have coffee at, you guessed it, my favorite coffee shop. This time, I put very little thought into my outfit and how I looked because I wasn't going to waste my time again just to get stood up. No thanks. So we met up around 1 pm on a Saturday. For once, the weather was beautiful. The sun was out and the sky was blue and clear. Hmm, maybe today will be a good day. I got to the coffee shop a little bit bef0re 1 pm and sat at a table next to the window. I like to observe what's around me. Not long before I arrived, John walked through the door. Man, he looked so good. He wore a pair of light blue jeans and a black, button-down shirt with the sleeves rolled up. His hair was cut and it made his eyes pop. This is exactly the kind of eye candy I wanted to see today.

He sat down and smiled at me. After a few minutes of very awkward silence, he told me that he was happy I came. I replied with "I shouldn't have". We ordered our coffee and a few different pastries and sat down again. The conversation seemed to naturally flow and it was actually kind of nice. We talked about our family, hobbies, likes and dislikes, goals, and more. What a funny and charming guy, I thought to myself. We realized after a while that we had been there for at least 2 hours, and although we were enjoying ourselves, that we should probably get going. He asked me out again, and of course I said "yes". Dinner tomorrow night it is.

I arrived home and thought a lot about John and our date. It went so much better than I expected and I start thinking that maybe the other night was indeed a mistake. Things happen all the time for various reasons, so I have to just get past it and hope that nothing like that happens again. Now I can just look forward to our dinner tomorrow night. I think I'll get dressed up nice again, do my hair, makeup, and wear some heels. I have a pretty good feeling that things are going to continue to go well. At least I hope so. I really don't want to end up in another crap relationship and waste my time. But my momma always told me that in life you have to take chances. Even if they scare the heck out of you. So I am rolling with that advice and hoping that momma was right. I mean, when aren't they right?

Stay tuned for part 4!

dating
1

About the Creator

Virginia Shefcyk

Hello! I am a mom to a little boy and a girl, an avid reader, and a lover of all things that make myself and others happy. Writing is the best way to express my feelings on life, love, and anything I'm passionate about. Hope you enjoy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.