Humans logo

The Dream of a Lifetime

Bringing Journaling to You

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Dream of a Lifetime
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The Dream of a Lifetime

Bringing Journalism to You!

I wanted to enter the challenge because I am a retired person who has an abundance of time and lot of ideas about how I want to help others. The concept I have is to create a place for people to journal. It is something like this concept of Vocal. As a writer, I found out that vocal presents an avenue for me to receive weekly prompts to write about my ideas and feelings about various interesting subjects. Before the pandemic, I was able to volunteer at a senior recreation center as a teacher of students who wanted to journal. for two months, I was able to engage with people who wanted to write about their challenges navigating through life. I am passionate about any form of writing. As I have stated, vocal allows me to keep writing an activity that I am extremely passionate about. These activities fuel my desire to continue writing and finish things that I have already begun in my hope to find readers to engage with in the world. My plan for my project is to engage with people who wish to journal in the hopes to get them to realize larger goals. some of the students in my class wanted to know more about the creative process of writing. In fact, a few of them wanted to learn how to begin writing their memoirs. By no means do I think that journaling should be confined to the elderly. I want to open these classes for people of all ages. Their all many benefits of journaling. One of them is the fact that it is a stress-free activity that cannot be extremely therapeutic. The physical act of journaling provides a heathy benefit as well. It enables the body to connect to the brain and send signals which provide a healthier body. Journaling also can help organize feelings we have about your family and friends. You can get a chance to put in writing how you really feel about people. Some of your feelings go unsaid but can be written down in your journal and discarded later if you wish. A journal also gives you a chance to write about family traditions in the hopes of leaving a legacy for future generations. Writing by hand can have similar benefits to medication. In an article called the simple joy of writing by hand, Barbara bash writes it is something about the physical act the holding of the hand and pen that is meditative, bringing me to the present. Also, writing by hand can help enhance creative expression. A journal can help work out self-doubts frustrations uncertainties or other feelings that are part of the creative process. The rhythm of and flow of journaling is handwriting with words which allows you to be calmer, and focused. It is an activity which is extremely soothing.

In order to make this process work, I will be able to mentor these journalists to some goal that only they will know. My purpose is to navigate my students toward their goals. I believe that Memberful platform will greatly enhance my ability to reach mu audience. The cost of the class is not as important as having a platform to reach people who need journaling in their life. We’ve always needed a way to deal with our inner ‘maladies’, journaling is an activity which will provide help for mental illness issues. I have researched Memberful’s software and platform capabilities, and it would be an excellent platform to reach people who needed a way to boost their life’s goals.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.