Humans logo

The creek is my playground

Next to my grandmother's house, there is a small stream, long and narrow, shallow,

By AliceParsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The creek is my playground
Photo by Rahul Dey on Unsplash

Next to my grandmother's house, there is a small stream, long and narrow, shallow, year-round, that is the village's lively gathering place. The villagers do laundry and wash vegetables there, brush tools, back and forth every day to run three or five trips are considered less. We, children, like to hang out there, a water float, you splash me splash, there is always a new way to play. Every time I go to my grandmother's house, I can't help but join them, and this creek has naturally become my playground.

You can walk down the narrow path to the creek, which is flanked by rocks, haphazardly, but also tightly stacked and solid. From the slit, you can see a weed poking out of the rocks as if sneaking out, hiding under the water, or floating on the surface, dancing without restraint, interesting. Weeds cover the place, is that the clear bottom of the cold cold stream, against the bottom of the river pebbles, gurgling.

In the creek, there are many beautiful stones, smooth, rough, large, and miniature ...... In addition to these stones, the most popular or those fingernail-sized fish. They are very wild, a movement, together with wagging their tails to swim to a "small home" surrounded by rocks, to a collective escape.

During summer vacation, my brother and I love to go to my grandmother's house, to our natural paradise. After lunch, we couldn't resist the idea of going to the creek to catch fish. We got our "equipment": two transparent cups, a fishing net, and a small bag. Grandma, who was not worried, always accompanied us both, chatting with the lady next door and checking on us from time to time. I was responsible for catching small fish, and my brother was responsible for catching grouper. I picked up a transparent cup, and quietly put my hand into the stream, quietly waiting for the small fish to throw themselves into the net. I didn't wait a minute, I squatted my waist sore, just wanting to straighten up, I didn't expect my foot to slip, a butt sat on the bottom of the river, and the cool river water instantly invaded my pants. Then I'll sit and wait, but unfortunately, they are hiding in the hole to rest, how to do it? I've got a solution, I'll just plug the cup into the hole, and then poke a small stick into it, hey, you don't say, it works. "Wow! I caught a little fish!" I jumped up and down and screamed happily. Three steps and two steps my brother accidentally fell into the water, the cup also threw out, "ah - my fish!" What an injustice to a great time I just had!

"Sister, look!" My brother shouted me up while holding my cup with one hand. Lucky, my brother caught my cup, especially the fish. It was too late to wipe the stream water from my face, and I took the cup and tried to hold it like a treasure, kissing and looking at it. I looked into my brother's bag, and his bag had three grouper, so long as a finger, fresh and alive. I was softened up that I got one, and waving the two fish, I shouted, "Grandma, I caught two, can I keep them for a day?" "One hour, right, fish in live water, time will be dead." My brother couldn't let go of them, and I couldn't let go of them, but we didn't wait until it was dark, and we dutifully let them go.

Although each time is caught and released, released and caught, although many times returned empty-handed, occasionally a poor fish, each such fishing always makes me excited. The creek next to my grandmother's house is a place that I am very fond of, and every time I go there, there is always an unforgettable joy!

family
Like

About the Creator

AliceParson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.