Humans logo

The Cost of Kisses

Secrets of the Moleskine

By Sherry RyanPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

The afternoon sun tilted in the sky. Smearing the clouds shamelessly with bright smudges of pink. So began its ritual descent. Lisa admired the way the sun kissed the clouds so passionately with its goodbye. Not long ago, her breath was taken away by such luscious farewell kisses. She missed that time. All that remained was the little black book. Secrets her lover thought hidden. Oh yes, and the money. She can’t forget that.

Their tryst began with a seemingly chance encounter outside her workplace, whereby he literally ran right into her and fell to the ground beneath her feet. Lisa melted at his impish smile and crystal blue eyes. He rose from the ground straightening his outdated suit and clumsily apologizing.

“Peter Pan,” she mused and, “That brown plaid suits him even though it is two sizes too big.”

She too began patting him down and straightening his jacket. Without thinking she reached up and brushed a shock of dirty blonde hair from his forehead. Everything about him was dishevelled from his mop of hair to his oversized clothes.

“Let me get you a coffee.” he urged. “It’s the least I can do.”

”It’s a bit late in the day for coffee.” she smiled. “But, I could go for a nice Pinot. There is a little pub across the park.”

“Lead the way.” He commanded, adding an outstretched hand, “George.”

“Lisa,” she blushed as her hand melted into his.

In the pub, they found a booth. He gestured for her to sit and followed her into the same side. It seemed an odd intimacy for new acquaintances, she thought, as he nonchalantly rubbed his leg against her.

“Should we order up some food too?” He suggested, looking at the menu.

“Great idea. I am starving” She replied.

“My treat.” He smiled grabbing the menu.

They talked for hours. Much to her surprise, they shared many common interests from hiking to Netflix binging. They even went to the same high school. Albeit some years apart. George graduated ten years after Lisa. Doing the Math, she realized that he was 25.

“I really must go,” Lisa sighed, feeling awkward about the age gap. “I have to work at 9:00 and I am a wreck without sleep.”

“I have you pinned.” He joked “Besides, you don’t need beauty rest. You, my dear, are gorgeous.”

Lisa blushed and then he kissed her like the sun kisses the clouds. The intensity enveloped her. It took her sense of reality away and she eased into it.

After the first chance encounter, they met often. He showed up at the most opportune times. Synchronistic, she liked to think. Meant to be, even. Because of the age difference, she was happy that he defined himself as an outcast, who didn’t conform to the modern world of cell phones and social media. They found tight little nooks in hidden places. It was a blessing in disguise for her. She didn’t have to explain him to friends. He was clearly too young and out of her league. They never went to his place, which suited her just fine. She was a bit of a home-body. He was quirky and handsome. Then one day as he got up from their cozy pub nook a little black book fell from his oversized jacket. He didn’t notice as headed to the restroom. She hadn’t intended to look. Not really. But, curiosity got the better of her.

“How odd,” she thought. The first few pages held grids, numbers and random letters. The book was well used and flexible. She fanned the pages like a deck of cards. Something peculiar caught her eye. She saw words form into sentences, like the cartoons one can animate by flipping pages.

“What are you doing?” George caught her off guard.

“Sorry, I just, I well....here.” Embarrassed for snooping, she handed him the book.

He plunged it into a pocket and plopped down beside her.

“Look, sorry about the book.” he began, “it is something I have been working on for awhile. It is personal, you know? Kind of like a journal. Do you do that? Journal, I mean?” His voice softened.

“Never had the time. It is always up and at em for me. Speaking of which I really have to get home. I am working tomorrow......You know, you’ve never really said where you work. You do have a job, don’t you?” She didn’t mean to sound incredulous.

“Oh, yeah, of course I do. It’s boring. That’s why I never talk about it.” This followed a long pause.

“So.... what is it?” She searched his face.

“Phhh,” he blew out a puff of air. “I do research. You know, long hours at the local library.” He rolled his eyes. “All very boring. Reading books and foraging though the internet.”

“So you know about the internet, then?” She blurted.

“Very funny!” He gasped, grabbing his chest like he was hurt.

“It is just that you seem to come from a different time. The way you dress, no cell. I don’t really know anything about you.....It’s just, well it is odd.”

“Oh” his mouth kind of paused in a circle as he contemplated what she said. “So you think I am odd?” He asked finally.

Their conversation was getting uncomfortable. Lisa didn’t like confrontation.

“I didn’t say you’re odd, but I don’t know anyone in this day and age...especially someone so young, who doesn’t own a cell..... This isn’t important. Can we leave it?”

“As you wish!” He bowed doing his best Westley.

She giggled at his reference to The Princess Bride. “I should get going. Do you want to come over ?”

He didn’t always come, but tonight, “I would love to.” He breathed, leaning in for a kiss.

Back at her place, she waited for his slow steady breath. The signs of sleep after some pretty amazing sex. The light of the moon made everything electric blue. Lisa tip toed to the living room where he had left his brown plaid jacket. It was huge, but such a part of him. She found what she was looking for and made her way to the bathroom. It was the only room in the house with a lock. Ever since she handled that black book, she couldn’t get it out of her mind, but she knew he would be angry if he found her snooping yet again.

Easing herself onto the toilet, she began searching through the book. Again, she fanned the pages. Her name, address and workplace made her stop dead in her tracks. Turning to the back page, she scanned the text and found a detailed picture of her life. ONLY CHILD traced over and over accompanied the date March 17, 2018. This was the day her parents died in a house fire. Her stomach turned at the realization that she was his research project. What’s more, she found other women’s names, workplaces, life stories, phone numbers and addresses.

Lisa tucked the black book in a drawer in the vanity and went back to the living room with a new purpose. The next thing was a thorough investigation of his brown plaid jacket. There it was on the back of the chair. Coat in hand, she returned to the security of the bathroom. After locking the door, she laid the jacket on the floor and patted it down like a cop to a perp. Something hard caught her attention. On the top left, was a hidden pocket containing a cell.

“Son of a bitch!” She whispered, as she swiped the phone only to find it locked. “Fucker.”

Rising from the floor, she went back to the drawer that housed his book. She flipped to the front looking for the random numbers and combinations. It made sense to her now. They were passwords. One of them had to work to unlock his cell. Sitting up against the tub, she set to work, thinking it would take some doing. The phone magically opened after only three tries. Unlocking it proved to be more useful than the black book. Here she discovered George was really Harold Chetwin, a thirty year old from Boston. Everything he told her was a lie. He was stalking her like a predator.

“He thinks I have money.” She fumed. “Inheritance from my parents. What a joke!”

Picking up the book, she looked at the four other names and addresses. “This is what he does for a living. Researching potential victims and robbing them. I should call the cops on him.” She thought of the embarrassment of going through a trial, where she would be painted as a sad single woman who fell for a younger man. “Nope! That is not happening.”

Dawn was fast approaching. Lisa drummed her fingers on the black book. “I could contact these other women. But, then I would become one of them..... I am not a victim.” Then she decided rising from the floor, “He is going to pay for this.”

Lisa jumped in the shower to wash away her tears and the smell of him. At daybreak, she went back to her room and threw the jacket on the bed. He scrambled awake shrinking from her all dishevelled and bleary-eyed. It reminded her of their first meeting. He looked pitiful to her now.

“We have to talk. Get up and get dressed.” Lisa commanded. Turning authoritatively, she strolled out of the room.

He stumbled hopping on one foot to put his pants on as he chased her out of the room.

Cat-like, she sat at the kitchen table with his phone in hand. “Care to explain, Harry?”

The blood drained from his face. He sat across from her, looking down at the table he didn’t respond.

“There he is,” she thought, “Peter Pan.”

“I’ve decided not to go to the police. I don’t want the headache of a court case and my name smeared through the mud......Lucky you!” She purred. “But, I am not going away, just yet. I see you have a list of other research projects in your little black book. I can give them all a call. Oh, yes, I found their numbers and texts from you to them. I can’t believe you have five fish on the line at once. You are a busy boy!”

As she spoke, he sat picking at the edge of the table. Trying to come up with a plan. A way out.

“Well, Harry....how much can you offer to keep me quiet? Obviously, you have a thriving business. How long does it take for these women to start opening their purse strings? What lies have you told them? No wait, I don’t want to know. I have first hand knowledge of that. But, you aren’t leaving until you tell me how you plan to compensate me, so I don’t go to the police, or these other women.”

“I have $20000 but I need to pay my rent. I can give you $15000.”

“$20000 will do. I am sure you will find a creative way to come up with rent money. You have three days to get it to me. I am keeping your black book and I have written down all of the contact information I need.”

He looked at her sorrowfully. Still playing at winning her over. “I really care about you. This is something special. It started as a lie and then I fell in love. I didn’t know what to do, or how to change it....”

“Stop!” Lisa screamed. “I expect $20000 in three days. Don’t underestimate me.”

Harry arose from the table, struggled into his jacket. He paused and looked at her with that impish grin. “You have to admit, we had fun.”

“Yes!” She snarled.

Lisa stood outside “their” little pub. She watched the familiar bundle of brown plaid approaching. “He showed!” She thought. Harry passed her a package.

“It really was fun.” Lisa smiled and walked away.

breakups
1

About the Creator

Sherry Ryan

I have ink in my veins. It is a curse and a joy. Reality makes it challenging to devote myself to the pen. I have finally succumbed to my daemon blood and hereby commit myself to making it the reality of my life. Perhaps I will find peace.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.