Humans logo

The Colour Orange

A reflective look at my favourite colour

By Elizabeth TomaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
The Colour Orange
Photo by Matt on Unsplash

Orange: The colour of pumpkins, fall leaves, sunrises, sunsets and wide load signs. And when used on billboard signs, it represents cheerfulness and delight.

Things I understand.

I believe I love the colour orange because it reminds me of fall, my favourite season other than spring. And although spring promises new beginnings and beautiful pastel colours, I will always love the fall.

Fall is the time when we reminisce about the passing year, looking back over the difficulties of life, and attempting to paint a beautiful picture in our minds before the snow falls to the ground. A time to be thankful for the good times and the bad. A time to be thankful for the centre, the heart of the year since the beginning is too far back to see, and the end is barely discernible because of the wind and snow that winter seems to bring to our lives.

The jovial colour makes its appearance most in the autumn season, arriving for holidays such as Thanksgiving Dinner and Halloween. Rows upon rows of food, too much pumpkin pie, and rusted leaves falling off the branches of the trees. A gentle orange hue hangs in the air from appropriately scented candles and a fire in the fireplace. And then, Jack-o’-lanterns line pathways and streets as children prepare to ‘Trick or Treat’.

Orange is comfortable. It’s a hot cup of coffee in hand while catching up with an old friend. Bright laughter filling the air as memories and current events intertwine harmoniously.

Orange is a bright and cheerful colour. It brings a smile to my face on a rainy day, yet I feel it’s unappreciated by the average person. Some people even speak against the colour orange, stating it is not a prime colour so what is special about it? But I must reject that foolish thought. After all, purple isn’t a prime colour, and it continues to be favoured by royalty, even to this day.

People most often use the colour orange to make a statement, because of its boldness in colour, and I can’t argue with logic like that. But I would also use it to express joy, happiness, fun, love, brightness, laughter and good taste. It seems to fit those things as well.

Orange is my favourite colour and has intertwined itself with my very soul. It has stayed bright when I could not manage the strength to do so myself.

Some have expressed that I resemble the colour orange, not in appearance, thank goodness. But that I share some of the same qualities. Its boldness, brightness, laughter, joy, fun, strength and good taste.

I am flattered by this sentiment, but I must object. I will forever admire and love it, but I will never be the colour orange.

art

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elizabeth TomaWritten by Elizabeth Toma

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.