Humans logo

The best time of my life

The catch?

By Angel DelgadoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3

I was never popular in school, I thought that by studying hard and getting a nice job will get me the respect I deserve, but I was wrong.

I had a great job and I earned a lot of money, but I was still shy, obese and very insecure. Thirty two years old mand and I had never been with a woman. I lived with my mom, played video games and . . . well pretty much what a nerd with money do. I wish I could work out and be a strong good-looking dude, but I have Multiple Sclerosis and I can’t even get surgery for some other condition. Before you ask, no, I was not willing to pay for sex, I needed more than that. I have spent a fortune on dermatologist to fix my acne ridden face, but to no avail. I cried myself to sleep most days, I needed a break I needed something good to happen to me. I mean I had everything I wanted, the latest PC, countless of collectibles in mint condition, but I would trade all that for a loving partner.

One day coming from the comic bookstore I saw her, my crush since high school and she smiled at me. I mean we have talked before but since a while ago she didn’t even look at me. I got really nervous and tripped, falling on the floor like a pathetic idiot. All her friends laughed even when I hit my head with a metal spiked fence and started bleeding. I got up quickly and ran home. Of course, I started crying, I cried myself to sleep again, I called in sick and didn’t go to work the next day.

When I woke up, I noticed that the bed was full of blood and I quickly took all the bed sheets and dumped them. Took a bath and decided to play some videogames, not online . . . I wanted to be alone. Suddenly my mom called me and told me there was someone on the door asking for me. It was her . . . my crush. What the hell? Everything changed from there, we talked on the porch and surprisingly we had a lot of common. I dared to ask her if she wanted to go see a movie, I don’t know how I got the courage, but I asked her. She said yes and she even suggested the movie I wanted to see.

The movie was awesome and when we got back, we sat on the porch at her house and talked some more. I had to leave because it was late, I wanted to kiss her but knowing me, I would ruin it. It was the best day of my life and I didn’t want to mess it up. So I didn’t try anything, I said goodbye and left, I didn’t sleep at all. The next morning, I got a call from an unknown number, I didn’t answer I dressed up and went to work. I felt different, I felt like I could do anything, I was happy. I walked to work and at the office everyone was nice to me, that is not usual. Maybe I change my attitude and it shows. I received and email from an unknown person saying that we needed to meet, with an address and all. Who is trying to reach me? I dismissed it, I was busy, I was going to check up later.

At noon I was called to the office, I knew that something bad was on the corner. I can never be completely happy, but nothing could ruin my day, I was high on her. My boss told me, that my work has been selected to be published on a weekly magazine. I was confused, I know I work hard but everyone else here does too. He said that I raised the bar on my field and in addition to that I was being promoted. I never thought someone like me would be recognized by anyone, let alone a national magazine. I was having a hard time believing this, I thought maybe I paid my dues and I was getting the life I always wanted. Does this really happen? It must, that is why there are so many successful people. I work hard and my time has come, well that is what I thought.

I went back home after work and there she was, waiting for me, my heart skipped a beat and we spent the afternoon at home, playing video games and watched a movie. Then it happened, we kissed one thing turned into another and the rest well . . . I’m not telling. The next day I got a call from my doctor and they told me that there was a new treatment for multiple sclerosis and that I was a great candidate. I skipped work and started the treatment right away. I had no idea why, but my acne was improving and I was getting in shape. I was clueless but I didn’t ask questions.

We went out that day again and went to dinner, we had a blast and the waiter said that we looked so cute that the owner decided we didn’t have to pay for the food. Does that even happen? I loved the new twist my life took. The waiter came with a note and gave it to me, the note had the same message, to meet, but at a different location. I thought maybe some was watching me and noticed I was becoming successful and wanted to hurt me. I didn’t know what to think, I couldn’t get my mind in a negative state again. So I concentrated on what was going on, weeks went by, months went by and I was a totally different person. I kept getting weird messages but I ignored them, but all my conditions were cured. My girlfriend was my crush, I felt like I was reborn.

One day after getting home from work, my mom was on the porch and she looked worried. I asked what happened and she said, he is on the living room. So I went inside and I saw you sitting on the couch. That’s when you told me the truth, that I died that day I hit my head on the spiked fence. That all this has been a construction of my mind, I created my perfect world on my mind. You told me that I have been dead for more than a hundred years and I have relived this scenario hundreds of times. Then you asked me to tell you this story and to decide if I wanted to be reborn as a new person in the world or if I wanted to continue this scenario that have been playing over and over again, oblivious that it is not real.

That’s easy, I will relive it a million times, so don’t bother trying to contact me again, send me back.

I was having the time of my life.

love
3

About the Creator

Angel Delgado

Amateur writer, fiction lover. I hope you enjoy what you find here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.