Humans logo

The Barn Owl Hoots for everyone.

Will you be ready?

By Rose Loren Geer-RobbinsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Barn Owl Hoots for everyone.
Photo by Agto Nugroho on Unsplash

Dear friend,

I heard the barn owl hoot three times while walking back from my nightly walk around the gardens. What a sad sound! I have been waiting for it, all the signs pointing out that I did not have much longer on this earth. So, I am writing you this letter to tell my story before it disappears like the barn owl when day breaks.

I was born under a harvest moon, which my father said would bring me success and endurance. However, my mother said I would be prone to mood swings and never sure if I should follow my head or heart. Both were right; I have been successful in my career, always staying one step ahead of the other players, always looking for that next step up the corporate ladder. I went further than anyone thought possible but lost a part of my humanity along the way. So set in proving the naysayers wrong that I refused to take time to listen to the birds, enjoy the blooming of spring flowers, or even see the wonders of this great world.

Ironically, by the time I was ready to enjoy life, the first sound of a bird's call would be the sound of my death.

If I was to do it again, what would I change?

I wouldn't be afraid to change my career to something I love. I would shed the fear of retirement financial security and instead earn money to live. I would teach, write, and draw insanely bad pictures. I would sell my clumsy attempts at the local farmer market and enjoy the conversations of my fellow neighbors. I would have learned how to listen to hear and not to respond.

I would go to classes to learn, not to earn. I would go to the pottery classes, the photography classes, history, and art...I would explore it all! Not for a degree in something that means nothing to anyone- but to achieve a Masters's in life. I would have learned the joy of knowledge and not just facts.

I would grow everything and anything. I wouldn't worry about matching garden pots and the perfect arrangements; instead, I would scatter wildflower seeds and never cut my grass. I would sit outside and watch as birds and bees flew in to take their fill and whisk away to their homes, satisfied and happy. I would have known pure joy if I had just sat and watched.

I would travel near and far. I would go to all those hole-in-the-wall tourist areas in my hometown. I would hike every local trail and visit every museum. Then, I would sit on a summer's night at the bar, listen to the horrible local band, and clap with all my might at the end of every song. I would have talked to local artists and asked- why? Why did you create this? What is your story? How does creating make you happy? I would have gained an insight into the secret of life if I had just asked.

I would have bought a passport sooner than I did. Not because I already had a trip plan, but because it opened the opportunity to travel. At any point in my short life- I could have traveled if only I had asked for the means to do it. The world would have been at my fingertips if I had only spared the 30 minutes to take a photo. I would have learned that there are such beautiful cultures that I never knew existed.

I would have loved with passion and not nesseccity. I would not have worried about the perfect house, with the ideal couches and knick-knacks. Instead, I would have messed up the kitchen with flour during a food fight. I would have allowed the bathtub water to splash on the floor as my children played. I would have bought more towels and underwear and done less laundry. I would have learned how to live in my house instead of my house being something to live in.

My dear friend, I hope you learn these lessons sooner than I do. Society tells you to be everything to everyone. Not to be you, but to be something that contributes. I am telling you now that you can be both. Don't lose yourself to gray suits and lousy coffee.

If you must work in an office, hang your favorite picture on the wall.

If you must live by a schedule Monday-Friday, then let Saturday and Sunday be days of exploring.

If you must count your coins, put one aside for a dream.

If you must clean your house, clean it while listening to your favorite music and dance!

If you think you must be perfect all the time- remember that Mary Poppins was perfect and still lived in fantasy among reality.

The barn owl will hoot for us all at some point. The question for you, my friend, is will you have regrets or triumphs to remember?

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rose Loren Geer-Robbins

One does not simply become a famous writer! It takes many hours before the sun comes up and even more when the sun sets. I am never sure what world I am living in, the one that I am writing about or reality.

www.wannabehistorian.blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.