Humans logo

The awesomeness of a random fall festival...

...And one of the few that I remember.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
P/c: Me. My botched jack-o-lantern created 29OCT2021; 1652, FRI.

31OCT2021; 1111, SUN

It's time to make a wish on a Halloween morning! What better moment to initiate a post all about the Fall festival that took place on FRI?

Side note: I have a "nephew" who's Born Day is today, and his moms turns another year older on Veterans Day. Shoutout to you two beautiful souls!

"And now back to our regularly scheduled program." Seriously tho, what a weekend it has been!

First the festivities, then several "stories" typed up and submitted, with yet another game of football in the meantime between time. Best believe that the next "story" will be about that victory with my new BFF on my team finally.

Lord knows that I tried to wiggle my way out of all three football games and dipped out early on the festival. However, Big Homie, let's call him Terrell, wasn't having any of that nonsense, thankfully.

I'll explain my reluctance to join yesterday's game right after I finish this "story" and break bread with Terrell again. The reason I pulled a Houdini briefly on the festival tho, is that I received a notif that a package I'd been anxiously anticipating had just arrived; and I couldn't wait to try it out.

Sure enough "T" tracked me down, and dragged me back to the function as of to indicate that I was somehow the life of the party or something. I sang not karaoke song (not ever, actually); ate none of good grub (personal choice); and did virtually no dancing despite the awesome tunes being played over some pretty decent speakers.

I did however enjoy a couple huge cups of apple cider (nonalcoholic), butchered a pumpkin, and helped slightly with the setup/takedown. To the credit of everyone there: I didn't notice any sexism and there was only one blatantly racist joke told by an individual that I'm pretty sure almost earned a broken nose from T.

Back to the fixings tho: There was everything from s'mores off the grill, pumpkin/apple/pecan pie, to pretzels/chips/apples, and dips/peanut butter. Also, the event was no where near a sausage fest.

Even my mentor, "Derek" (who I submitted a "story" about last night) made a brief appearance and whatnot. Granted, it was more of a, "Hi; bye", than anything.

Speaking of which tho, I literally just jumped back into typing this piece after an hours long powwow with "D", over the third rails of social convos (race, religion, politics). Thankfully, he gave me a genius idea for my 100th blog post that I'm finna type up and submit today, "Lord willing and the creek don't rise."

The convo included T briefly for our weekly meal that we didn't get to have last night. Another individual joined us for a NY min also, with a damn near perfect joke for T, which that Big Homie first learned from D.

Apologies for the convoluted mess of the past few couple paragraphs. Just in a bind hammering my way to 100 blog posts before going to see my fav Younglings.

That reminds me tho: The only way that this festival could've been more ideal was if it had been permissible for some of our fav Padawans and whatnot to zip and zoom in between us old heads while hooping and hollering. Besides that, it was a pleasure, a privilege, and an honor.

Almost forgot: I'd have felt slightly more at ease at least had there been more semis (semi-autos; semiautomatics; pistols) present. Security was most def lacking.

At any rate, I'm grateful to the organizers (who shall remain nameless), as well as my fellow participants for keeping the drama to a bare minimum. Praying that many more such events go on and off without a hitch.

Peace out for now, fine folks.

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share/Sub, and/or checking out some of my other posts.

Also, if you're in the market for an article of clothing or two, there's a link in my bio. Please don't think for a minute that I will be unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

TIA (Thx In Advance). Peaceful Tidings.

***

humanity
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.