Humans logo

The "A" in LGBTQA

Being Asexual During Pride Month

By J. P. FrattiniPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

June was declared as Pride Month in the United States (and other countries) after a Supreme Court ruling on June 26th, 2015 that fully legalized same-sex marriage across America. A beautiful moment for all members of the LGBT+ community, and one that should rightfully be celebrated as a win for civil rights. But there's one aspect of the community that you don't hear about very often, or see represented in the media or even in some ally groups, Asexuals.

As someone who identifies as asexual, I feel as though I'm separated from the rest of the community. Due to the complete lack of sexual attraction, there's a slight deviance from a group that puts so much emphasis on sexual freedom. Now, there's nothing wrong with that. That was the point of organizing the community in the first place. Yet, how often do you see asexuals involved in events such as Pride Parades? Especially in this past week.

It's safe to say that the two seperate communities have been somewhat at odds in the past. Now, most asexuals are happy to call themselves LGBT (myself included), but it seems the general climate of the LGBT community is much less inclined to do so. Let me give an example:

When I was in college, I attempted to become a member of the campus alliance. Asexual, panromantic, I figured I'd fit in perfectly fine. During club day, I ventured to the giant rainbow flag and talked to the two students running the program. They asked me what I identified as, so naturally I responded as Ace. The vibe around them seemed to change very rapidly as they began to probe for more information regarding my sexual identity, a route I wasn't planning on going down (nor felt comfortable doing so). Long story short, they told me my vibe was "too straight" and "the "A" only stands for ally," and didn't let me join.

I am in no way trying to tell you that the entirety of the community conducts themselves in this way, most other LGBT people I've met are great people and are very accepting. Yet the fact that this pride group (and others as people have told me) have excluded asexuals goes against the entire agenda that the LGBT community was built upon. And now during Pride Month, myself and many others don't feel comfortable showing such pride. We all need to sit down and talk with one another, understand each other in the same way the community has with others since its inception. We have made great strides, let's make more to include those who don't feel represented.

Happy Pride Month, everyone!

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

J. P. Frattini

Culture, music, politics, art. It's all fair game to me

Follow Me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/thejpfrattini

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.