Humans logo

The 8 Signs of a Worthwhile Relationship

Do not seek for the best partner but seek for the person who makes you a better version of yourself.

By Miss SundayPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
The 8 Signs of a Worthwhile Relationship
Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

At first, it would be all rainbows and unicorns — also called the “honeymoon stage”. This is the part of the relationship where you refuse to acknowledge that your partner can make mistakes. It’s the romance and the laughter that fills this part of the relationship. However, as time progresses, you get to know your partner deeper.

You find out they’re not perfect. You start to see their flaws. But does this mean the love is gone?

Of course not. Time, challenges, mistakes, forgiveness, and patience build and strengthen your relationship. You don’t just let go. If it’s love, then you’ll learn to forgive and accept.

“Do not seek for the best partner but seek for the person who makes you a better version of yourself.” — Abhijit Naskar, Wise Mating: A Treatise on Monogamy

The Relationship Cycle

By Ben Sweet on Unsplash

A long-term relationship leads to a cycle - nothing new, same old. It's how you appreciate the same love every single day that matters. It's how you make the choice to stay because that's what love is.

It is continuously waking up and going to bed, knowing your constant is by your side. The romance might be lesser than the honeymoon stage, but it will always be beautiful. The same hand that held my hand since day 1 is the same hand worthy to be held by mine from this day onwards.

I have been with my partner for three years and seven months - my longest and BEST relationship so far. I can confidently say I made the right love. I would like to share how I choose to continue loving the same person every waking day, hoping you'd find yours or you'd relate because you already found "the one".

1. Being around them makes you feel safe and cared for

First, being with the right partner makes you feel secured and cared for. Just their presence brings you comfort and joy. Their hug brings you to cloud nine.

Whenever I felt that my world is crashing, it gave me strength to know I have a person who will help cushion the fall. There will always be a hand to lift me up and wipe my tears away. As my partner says, "it will be okay" or "it will get better" is enough to bring my broken pieces back together.

2. You remember them when you think of home

Second, the right partner is "home". With him/her you'll be comfortable to show the real you. There's no being shy. You feel comfortable in your own skin because he/she will love you anyway.

This is the best part of my relationship - being comfortable with my "home". I studied at a University away from my hometown, so my family was far. My boyfriend played a huge role in getting me through my undergrad course. He was the best companion and the perfect motivator. He stayed with me when I cried because of the stress. He held me tight until I fell asleep. I was myself… and he loved me still.

With the right person, you see many possibilities. He/she is your number one fan and inspiration. Being with him/her makes you feel that you have the world in the middle of your palm.

You meet thousands of people and none of them really touch you. And then you meet one person and your life is changed forever. - Love & Other Drugs

3. The thought of them warms your heart with gratitude

Third, near or far, merely thinking about your partner makes you feel thankful and blessed. Thinking about my boyfriend always made me feel like I won the lottery.

For me, he is perfect even with all his flaws. He loves me and is loyal to me, and that's more than enough to be thankful for.

4. Respect should always be above the need to always be right

By Tiago Felipe Ferreira on Unsplash

Fourth, respect above all else. No argument, however big or small, should make you lose respect for your partner. This is one of the main foundations of a healthy and fruitful relationship. Once you lose respect for your partner, can you still honestly say love is present?

In a relationship, both parties must learn to settle problems in a calm and collected manner. Doing so with anger will only give rise to more misunderstandings and will most probably lead to disrespect for each other.

Whenever my boyfriend and I come across a misunderstanding, we don't text or call. We wait until our anger subsides and then we meet personally to settle things calmly.

5. We consider open communication to be essential

Fifth, communication. This is one of the major problems in relationships nowadays. Most people forego communication and just let time pass by while not resolving anything. Your thoughts and feelings must always be clearly communicated to your partner.

A relationship is not a guessing game. If you treat it as such, it will easily crumble. Communication must be made clearly and immediately if a healthy relationship is to be sought.

6. Support and understanding bring you closer

Sixth, you support each other in every endeavor you both want to take, and you make time to understand each other's hobbies, professions, and interests.

When there is a bump in the road, you lift each other up. You don't control your partner and say, "this is better for you" or "that will not do you any better", because as long as they are happy and passionate about something (as long as it is legal, of course!), you're on the sidelines willing to always cheer them on.

Your support will mean a lot to your partner's success. It will fuel them to be better, if not the best. As the saying goes:

Love Can Move Mountains - Céline Dion

7. Humor has a tremendous impact

Seventh, your partner can easily make you laugh. I personally think this is important because I cannot stand the company of a dull person.

My boyfriend's humor was the reason I fell in love with him in the first place. He makes funny jokes and does silly dances, especially when I'm feeling down. It worked every single time.

I sometimes think laughing has become my hobby ever since I entered this relationship!

8. Their family is your family

Lastly, you are accepted and loved by your partner's family like you are their own child, brother, or sister. Your partner's family plays a huge role in his life and upbringing, hence, having problems with them would also mean having problems with your relationship.

It is also important to fall in love with someone who loves and respects his own family. Some say this reflects how he will treat you, and I believe this.

Takeaway: A love to last for many generations to come

By Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

This is the kind of love I have now. Through time, I learned that being with the right person doesn't always mean you have to see him/her as the right person. It only means that you willingly accept him/her with all imperfections and see how beautiful life is with him/her in it.

Love is different for each one of us. People have different perspectives on relationships, but somehow, I hope you found some takeaways as I shared with you how I ended up with a person who is worthwhile for me.

love
Like

About the Creator

Miss Sunday

Hello :3 I am Miss Sunday and I finally got over myself to share my experiences and deepest feelings to hopefully help you not to make the same mistakes!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.