Humans logo

The 3rd day before Valentine’s

The Unexpected Luv

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1

Another bright sunny Southern Cal day and the long work day is finally over! Now, I have to fight this LA traffic, but the day is so young and there is no need to let a Friday night in LA go without recreation. The traffic was full and I had to walk to the parking garage, which was two blocks away. I took my chance as I crossed the faded crosswalk, there she was at the light, taking a "selfie". I continued to walk, but notices her checking me out from the corner of her eye. Not the bragging type, but I was having an "EMOTY" moment as the slight wind brushed against my pant leg and the soft super 400 blend rolled flawlessly with the stride of my legs. She gave a slight smile, and I returned a kind favor as I displayed my pearly whites, but tried to hide the one tooth slightly out of formation.

She blew her horn and stuck her head out of the window and said "Today, Jerk! The light is green and you are holding up all of creation." I jumped out of the way and the next thing I noticed was the exhaust from her GLE 450. I proceeded down the sidewalk and moments from the garage, she doubled back and cut me off before walking to the entrance of the garage. She opened the door as her Jimmy Choo's hit the summer pavement and she made way toward me with her SUV still running. She gave me a look as her eyes motioned to my polished loafers and up to the center of my tie, but never meeting my eyes and said "You think you are slick, huh?" With a perplexed look on my face, as her eyes finally made contact with mine, I could not answer as her look struck me cold.

"I'm sorry, Miss! I was just trying to get to my car." Then she folded her arms and slightly shifted her body to the right and said "What would you say if you had to ask me out on a date?". I noticed the swinging of her hair as if she cleared her left ear to hear my response and I thought about the opportunity before opening my mouth. I shook my head and politely said, "I'm sorry, Miss, but I don't use pick-up lines. it is so beneath me". However, since it was the 3rd day before Valentine's and I was feeling good about Friday, I decided to play her game. she started to turn and walk away, and I slightly touched her right elbow and said, "Please don't go and let me answer your question!"

I said, "Since I don't use lines and there are no flowers and not a single tulip in sight. I would have to use what is before me and be very creative, before you take flight! The air is calm and the hour seems to be just so right. Let's just go somewhere and have a dry run of what is going to take place on Tuesday night." She replied, "Tuesday?" She did not realize the day and was not use to the season or she completely ignored all the advertisement or someone failed and did not give her a reason. So I took her hand and led her gently back to the seat of her car, and told her to meet me down the street in a restaurant that is not too far.

Stunned by her scent, I told her that it was a crime for beauty to look so good, with little effort. She wanted to hear more, but other cars were starting to back up from her SUV blocking the entrance. I said, "Meet me down the street and I will give you more than enough reasons to give me every Valentine's Day for the rest of your life!"

dating
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.