Humans logo

The 20s need to offer us a refund

Is anyone else thinking that they should have stayed in 2019?

By Ben ShelleyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
The 20s need to offer us a refund
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

At this point in time, the world is wondering what is next? We have lived through two years of uncertainty, only to turn the corner into an unprovoked invasion of Ukraine...something that could very easily spiral out of control into a Nuclear War.

In just over two years, we have been through a lot and just as we believed that the world was settling down again, we were kicked in the private parts. It is with this in mind that I am asking for my time back.

The 20s are turning into the worst decade (of my lifetime). A decade that was personally set to be the best, with my engagement confirmed a few months before the end of the year. There were limitless possibilities for the decade...then the pandemic hit.

COVID-19

The pandemic needs no introduction. We have lived through it. It has touched each and every one of us.

  • Can we get married under these circumstances?
  • Will our wedding be restricted?
  • Is it right to get married under these circumstances? Is it right to get people together?
  • Will our venue treat us fairly and will we be entitled to a refund?
  • My wife and I were able to go ahead as planned and we are grateful for this fact. Something that is said in consideration that the human cost in lives lost was much more important, but a wedding is still a key moment in your life. You only get married once and as well as attempting to navigate the uncertainties of day to day life, we were holding on to hope.

    By focusing on our wedding we were able to maintain hope and as we had each other, we were comforted during the uncertainties. We were able to keep calm and carry on, focusing on the wedding and a better tomorrow.

    We were lucky and compared to many others the cost was mainly to our mental health. Something that has changed us in ways that we most likely do not know, but what I know is that as we rolled into 2022 I was beginning to look forward to heading out.

    2022

    The year of change. The year in which Omnicron was in and out of the headlines quicker than you can say, Trump. The year of stability, to return to the office and see our loved ones once again. It was supposed to be the year in which my wife and I could begin to plan our futures once again, rather than living day by day. My birthday arrived and then our anniversary rolled around and I began to think that this was nice...

    • We went bowling
    • We went out for dinner
    • We went to a Ping Pong club and a Wine Bar.

    Normality in the strictest sense delivered by treats of the past without masks and passes, it was nice...

    In a way, it did feel a little too good to be true but that doubt was due to COVID and whilst the past five years has proven that what can happen, will happen, I never dreamed that Russia would actually invade. The timing of which is not lost on anyone...just as we turned the corner into a more stable world, Putin decides to invade.

    The word invade is key here as it is not a military operation, it is an excuse and we all know that. He wants to rebuild elements of the Soviet Union to form his legacy, something that a man of 70 years would be keen to consider.

    We all want to leave something to our children and those that we care about but surely, this should never be an option.

    What is Next?

    The 20s are only two years into their run and quite frankly I am fed up. I was sold on hope for the future, the desire to see the world and create a life with my wife. I was excited and now all I can think is what will happen next?

    • Will I wake up one day to find aliens on the streets?
    • Will World War 3 begin and I will be drafted alongside my friends and family?
    • Will the button be pressed and nuclear war made whole?

    None of these possibilities appeal. I want to work hard, become a better writer, develop my skills and support my family in the best way possible. I do not want to see millions perish as one man cannot settle for peace.

    A future that we can all share is one that I would like to see. I don't want to wake up each day to refresh the news and see the descent into hell that is taking place. Quite frankly I would prefer to skip the news altogether and focus on my life.

    Continually reloading the news page to see the suffering of another country feels wrong. To read that the threat of nuclear war is once again a possibility sounds ludacris and incompatible with 21st-century values.

    A Final Thought

    I want a refund and I believe that most people would agree with me. We have had enough. We have lost loved ones, only to see the threat of nuclear war return to our doorstep.

    Within two years we have gone from being full of hope to the Taliban returning to power in Afghanistan, a pandemic being unleashed onto the world and the threat of nuclear war. Within two years all of this has happened and I am counting down the days until sense is returned.

    I hope that by this time next year we can return to hope. We can roll back the clock and consider dialogue rather than force. We can go back to the drawing board and remember our humanity.

    I for one will be certain to remember my wedding. The moment in which my beautiful wife turned to smile at me down the aisle will never leave my thoughts. It will get me through the tough times and remind me that a better tomorrow will always emerge.

    humanity
    1

    About the Creator

    Ben Shelley

    Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.