Humans logo

Texxx-Man Cosplay's Ideal Man

Things That I'm Looking for in a Man, AKA My Player 2

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Character: Blue Ninjetti Ranger Photo: Black Widow Photography

In February 2012, I came out as a gay man. Since then, I've only been in two serious relationships. Neither of them lasted and I would love to change that. I understand that everyone has busy schedules and whatnot. When I was working, I hardly had any time to date. I'm on so many different dating sites that I haven't had any luck finding the right guy. However, it doesn't mean that I stopped trying to look for love. I just can't date any and everybody. No one can date the world. I have to search for a man who shares similar interests as I do and also is accepting of me and my friends. Below is a list of things you need to know about me if you're thinking about being in a serious long-term relationship with this awesome cosplayer and unapologetic nerd.

I'm A Huge Gamer

Retro gamer since '89. I'm Team NES all the way!

I was born in the late 80s and grew up playing the Nintendo Entertainment System (NES). My favorite NES games are Super Mario Bros., Duck Hunt, Ninja Gaiden, Galaga, 1943: The Battle of Midway, Bubble Bobble, Tecmo Bowl, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Arcade Game, and Super Mario Bros. 3. I play and talk about retro games on social media on a regular basis because they're my vice. It's what I'm passionate about. I've never attended a retro gaming fest before, but I would love for my potential boyfriend and I to go to one together, maybe several. My influences are The Angry Video Game Nerd, AlphaOmegaSin, and Pat The NES Punk are huge YouTube stars who talk about old school gaming on their channels.

Comic Books Are A Big Deal

Go, Go Power Rangers!

When I was in middle school, I started reading comic books: Spider-Man, Black Panther, whatever peaked my interest. Early last year, I've started reading Power Rangers comic books, which is my ultimate fandom. I'm a huge fan of that franchise and everything about it. If you like reading DC, Marvel, or any comics, chances are that you're perfect for me. We all have our favorites and preferences. I imagine the both of us having a night out, reading comic books together.

Cosplay & Conventions

We're one big cosplay family. Different fandoms, yet awesome friends.

I've been doing cosplay since 2014 and attending conventions in Arkansas. Cosplay soon became a passion after one of my colleagues told me about this hobby and also went to a convention the year before. Conventions are places to let your imagination run wild and also meet people, eventually becoming friends. I have went as many characters over the years, but the character that I cosplay as the most often is Billy, the Blue Ranger. I can relate so much with that character: that we're both intelligent and friendly. I've made so many friends at conventions and so grateful to have them in my life. I love meeting people and that's the part I love about going to a con. Sometimes I'll be Billy, suitless and I've done many versions of him without the suit. Cosplay is for everyone and has no age limit. I have friends in their 30s and 40s that cosplay. Imagination has no expiration date. It's all about having fun and enjoying ourselves. If you love cosplay and going to conventions as a couple, then I'm the guy you're looking for.

I'm Team DC All The Way!

Justice League of America.

If you were to ask me which do I like better: Marvel or DC? My answer will always be DC, because I love Superman and grew up watching him when I was a kid. From Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman to the Superman movies I've seen, it made me fall in love with the Man of Steel a lot more. No disrespect to Batman, but Superman is much more popular than The Dark Knight. I have cosplayed as Superman (the Christopher Reeve and Brandon Routh versions of their suits). If you like either Marvel, DC, or both, that's perfectly fine with me. I tend to watch more DC movies and tv shows than I do Marvel. I long to be in a geeky relationship and I hope to find the right man to share my life with.

So now that you have seen what my interests are, I'm hoping that special guy will sweep me off my feet. Age or race is not an issue with me. I don't judge anyone's appearance. I don't have a racist bone in my body, either. I get along with everyone and you should too. If you have read everything that I have said so far, congratulations. I'm your perfect match. I'm single and ready to get back into the dating game.

love
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.