Humans logo

Tell me your story

Get dressed. We are staying in to eat and talk.

By Keisa CallowayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Late Night Vegan Eats

I am definitely no writer, but I love telling stories and equally adore hearing them as well. Does not have to be real just entertaining, but if it is real, even better. Let me explain before you assume. Vintage clothing is my way of creating and telling a story. See, I have always loved the idea of being an individual with my style. I know everyone says that, but I truly loath following the “in “crowd. I do not have anything against anyone who wants to, it’s just not for me. Where are the risk takers and innovators? Conversation pieces are my specialty, and my vintage clothes are just one way I create conversations. First, you have the story of who wore it before you, what kind of life did that person live and where did they were it to. Then, the story of how you came to find that item, was it in a thrift store, yard or estate sale, your grandmas’ closet. You meet the most interesting people in these places. It is almost like we all are a part of this secret society of treasure hunters. We tell tales of other pieces we are wearing; places we have visited and new places to go. So much joy in finding our personal “treasures”. The next story is where will you where this piece, what story will you create in you 1950’s swing dress with multicolored polka dots. My readers feel nostalgic for a simpler time.

Laugh out loud

There is another part to my story. Vegan food. I have always been a die-hard foodie, I love shopping, eating, cooking, buying, sharing, humming, and talking about food. My mom was a foodie before it became a thing. We would talk about the next meal as we ate the current meal. We rarely ate fast food, my mom would say, yall going to have Mc Mammas tonight. Me and my mom always cooked in perfect synchrony. We never even had to say, we always knew what each other needed from the seasoning to the utensil. We do not cook much together anymore because my mom has fallen quite ill, but it is the one thing we can still talk about for hours on our long-distance calls. Every time I create a new vegan recipe or find myself in a farmers’ market, I feel nostalgia for my mom and her kitchen. Moving forward, with all the food resources out there, I still always get asked the same thing. What do vegans eat? People are always so surprised when they do see my food, they can not believe it’s all vegan. I want to show people how to have soul stirring flavorful vegan food at home.

Avocado Whisper is what they call me

Vintage Vegan 78 is me and I am Vintage Vegan 78. Does that make sense? I want to create innovative vegan meals and showcase them next to the vintage item or outfit. The meal inspires the outfit, or the outfit inspires the meal, really does not matter the sequence. The purpose is to inspire my readers to eat more produce and if possibly local sourced vegetation and invest in quality pieces that have already proven their worth. These items have survived decades just to keep creating more stories. You know what else, vegetables and fruit have a story too. The country of source, the health benefits, medicinal properties, and versatility.

Vegan in Paris for the weekend

Subscribing to VintageVegan78 is an opportunity to learn how to make produce more than just a side dish. Subscribers will have an opportunity to receive weekly recipes and showcase their creations as well. VintageVegan78 is how we keep creating stories. All my subscribers will receive discounts from my vintage boutique, appropriately named VintageVegan78. There will be a space to share and an opportunity to try out recipes submitted by my subscribers. Think of it as cooking pretty. Like a show and tell, everyone’s favorite day in grade school. An opportunity to talk about why this is special to you and what inspired you to share with the group. So, tell me your story.

What is your story?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Keisa Calloway

Closet Editor. Wardrobe Whisperer. Thrift Goddess. Vintage Connoisseur. Tree Hugging Mama. Self Love Inducer. My name is Keisa and I am the creator of Vintage Vegan 78. .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.