Humans logo

TeZATalks: Let the Message Lead You

Introducing My Best Friend and How She's Going to Change the World

By Cait CassidyPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1

You know those beautiful moments in life when you sit down next to someone, seemingly a stranger, you both spark up a conversation and within an instant it feels as if you guys are just picking up where a previous conversation had left off? That was the immediate bond my best friend Teza and I had when we met. I was at such an insane point in my life when my path crossed with Teza’s. I was heavily involved in the nightlife scene where my only focus was on what party or afters was happening next. I lived over 5,000 miles away from my family and childhood friends and had really lost touch with a lot of those relationships. I surrounded myself with empty friendships and surface-level relationships; however to me, that was all I knew and accepted as normal. But then Teza came into my life. Suddenly I had someone calling and texting me daily just to check in and see how I was doing. I had someone who wanted me right there with them not only to go out on the town with, but to chill at home, share a bowl and some wine, and stay up all night talking with. We instantly became known as an automatic duo. Attached at the hip. A package deal. And it was very soon that I realized that Teza didn’t just show me love by hanging out with me and checking in on me, she showed it by genuinely having my back.

I had fallen into an incredibly destructive pattern where I was out at clubs or parties pretty much daily; running myself completely thin on drugs, alcohol and no sleep. I had gotten so used to “friends” ditching me or using me for connections or money that I didn’t find it weird when it would happen. I always put everyone else above my own health and my own growth. Teza saw all of this and was the first person to really sit me down and say, “Caitlin, this? This is not normal OR healthy”. She made a point to bring me with her every time she went to visit her family who lived about an hour south of the city. They quickly became like my family too. And before I knew it, I was remembering what it was like being back home with my family. I was remembering how much I missed them and missed being close with them. I was being reminded of what genuine, loving relationships were and how important they are to have in your life. And because of her, I was already being reminded of what real friendship was.

Despite acquiring more nurturing relationships in my life, I continued to spiral. Both of us simultaneously started falling into dark depressions. There was a period of time when it really felt like the world had gone cold and foggy and neither of us could clearly see where we were supposed to go. I would wake up every morning, walk over to her apartment, we’d make coffee, split a package of ramen and just sit inside together all day. We would try encouraging each other working on music and art, but we couldn’t escape that we were stuck. Even though we were both at our lows, we were in those lows together. We stayed inseparable through it all. I know for a fact I wouldn’t have made it if I didn’t have her there with me. I was struggling so much and relationships with my family had become so strained the stress was literally driving me mad. One night in Teza’s car, we had another one of our heart-to-heart conversations, and she confirmed a feeling I knew I had for awhile. She told me that she loved me too much to keep watching me put myself through what I was doing. I needed to go back home. I needed to reconnect with my family. She told me the last thing she wanted was for me to move away and for us to be apart, but she knew this was exactly what I needed. And I knew she was right. A month later I moved back near my mom and took the next two years to rebuild our relationship to something stronger than it’s ever been. And it wasn’t just my mom who I reconnected with. I was able to re-establish relationships with all of my family members and old friends. I was able to celebrate my cousin’s 21st birthday with her and make sure she had a night to remember. I was present at so many baby cousin birthday parties and family events. These are memories I never would have had if I had continued down my spiral states away.

Not only did reconnecting with my family restore those relationships, reconnecting with my family helped me remember who I am. I was so lost and depressed that I had lost contact with who I was at my core. And I couldn’t remember who she was. Teza was the one who would sit across from me and tell me over and over, “Caitlin, you’re amazing”, “Girl, you’re dope”, “Caitlin, you deserve so much better”, etc. And I swear, no matter how many times she tried to tell me those things, I just didn’t believe her. But that never stopped her from reminding me almost daily that I was great. It wasn’t until after reconnecting with my family, getting therapy, and remembering who I am that it really hit me how much that constant support from her meant. Even though I was too depressed to really hear what she was saying at the time, knowing she saw that much in me even at my lowest brought me so much more as I recovered. She saw the good in me when even I couldn’t. And with the good, she also saw potential. Teza is, I’m not over-exaggerating, the most talented musician I have ever heard in my life. She goes by TeZATalks and I highly encourage you to check out the music she makes. Her entire life has been a pursuit to not only create music, but create HER music. And with her music she brings a love, understanding, and outlet to everyone who listens. She writes her music directly from the heart. If she experiences heartache, her songs are telling an intimate story of that heartbreak that all of us can genuinely relate to. If she experiences love, you’re overwhelmed with that warm feeling as well as you listen to her. When you listen to Teza and her message, you’re reminded that you’re not alone in this world. Her craft is her life. She saw my passion in art and pushed me every day to find a way to center my life around that passion. She was also the first one who came into my life and basically told me that if I loved art, then that’s what my life should be about. Why waste years and energy at a corporation when you have a talent that brings you and those around you love and light? Seeing her live her life in her passion with such confidence was my biggest inspiration. She showed me that dreams weren’t some silly things you talk about just for fun. They’re goals and they’re achievable to make your reality exactly what you want it to be.

I know for a fact that I’m not the only one she has inspired. Like I said, through her music, she connects with so many fans on such a genuine level that it’s unlike anything else. Therapists have even reached out to her explaining the positive impact the messages in her music would have on patients. Fans feel that instant connection with her just like I and all of her friends do. And that’s because she really does have that big of a heart. She really does have so much love for every single person that crosses her path that when she tells you that you’re going to be ok, you really believe her. When you talk to her, she listens. And her mind is always moving with how she can help you become the best version of yourself. But most of all, she has the incredible gift of being able to unify people. She reminds us that we’re all in this together; that helping our fellow men and women should be everyone’s priority. If we’re growing, we’re all growing together. She teaches classes, mentors, and brings her knowledge of music and her message to everyone she can to help younger generations get on early paths to becoming their best selves. Every future goal she has involves ways to make this world better for the generations to come.

If I’m being totally honest, my best friend is my hero. Teza saved my life and she saved my heart. She’s every reason that I’ve been able to find the focus and courage to go after what I want and subsequently land my dream job of animating and creating media content for an independent company that allows me full creative freedom. She’s every reason I’m close with my family again and only have room for loving and meaningful relationships in my life. I never would have gotten here if it wasn’t for her. And the main reason she’s my hero is that she does this for everyone she meets. She helps people realize their passions and pushes them to pursue ways to build their lives around that passion. She’s out there standing up and speaking out for causes she believes in working towards change that will further help humanity. She inspires me, she challenges me, she moves me, and she brings so much love to the world. I have every belief that she is going to be a major player in helping to save humanity. She’s going to change the world for the better and honestly, she’s already well on her way to doing just that. I am unbelievably lucky to have Teza in my life, and I want more of the world to see her for all the love and light she truly is.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Cait Cassidy

Artist expressing myself through colors and words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.