Humans logo

Take A Step Back From Success In Life

Take a step back from success in life

By Berard JacksonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

After graduating from college, I was hired by a large company, which required a three-month investigation period before I could become a regular employee. I am quite confident. I believe I can get this position with my strength.

But I had to face the cruel reality that there was only one vacancy in my department, and I had to compete with Li Ming, who entered the company with me.

To my surprise, Li Ming's quality and ability are very high. You can imagine how fierce the competition between us is. During that time, almost every time I did something, Li Ming would do something, I would get praise from the company, and Li Ming would do something... But sometimes the competition is not healthy. For example, sometimes I work late into the night, and Li Ming works overtime so that his boss can see him. Sometimes I'm sick and I can't go to work at all, but Li Ming takes advantage of this time to do one more thing...

In this way, between us more and more distrust, although there is no contradiction on the surface, the heart is strong.

Finally, one day, the contradiction between us broke out in an instant, there was a fierce quarrel, and since then, we have had no communication and communication.

On that day, my manager and supervisor suddenly talked to me and told me that to better train me, the company was going to transfer me to a branch company.

When I heard it, my head went "buzz". I know that the quarrel with Li Ming has caused a bad influence and I am responsible for it, but I feel aggrieved. Everyone, including my colleagues, says that Li Ming is to blame. Now they're punishing me by transferring me to a branch office. But what can I do? The manager and supervisor talked to me together, explaining that this was a matter that the company had decided to do or leave...

On that day, I sat alone in the square, recalling the two months since I came to the company, I cried, suddenly feeling very tired, every day is spent with a high intensity of competition and pressure, and there is no happy day.

I also suddenly feel that in this vicious competition, my life will not be very good, there will be no improvement and progress, so I decided to leave here.

That night, without sleep, I called my respected high school teacher to tell her about my depression. It was a question from the teacher that made me suddenly enlightened. I decided to obey the arrangement and go to the branch to exercise for another month, and then find another job.

During this period in the branch office, I focused on summing up lessons. Although there was no comparison with the headquarters in terms of staff and work, I still humbly learned workplace communication, management, and technology from my colleagues. I happily devoted myself to my work and accumulated wealth for my future.

When I took the internship exercise as the accumulation of life and abandoned the simple pursuit of profit and loss, I suddenly found that I changed, become cheerful, open-minded, also become calm.

In a twinkling of an eye, the internship ended, I said goodbye to my colleagues happily and ran to another company. Although this company is not as good as the internship company, I quickly adapted here and opened the situation, half a year later I became the director.

One day, I went to the south to participate in an enterprise management training and happened to meet me down at the branch of the internship supervisor. He spoke of my demotion to the branch with a look of regret, saying he didn't know the facts at the time, and asking me why I had complied with the assignment.

I put the teacher to enlighten my question to the supervisor, said to the supervisor: "Two people tug-of-war, is the winner of the backward or forward?"

Supervisor one leng then smiled, said to me: "Of course, the one who backs up wins."

I smiled and said to my supervisor, "At the beginning, I thought that the one who takes a step back wins, so I will take a step back to the branch to exercise." The director smiled.

That day, I talked with my supervisor for a long time. I learned that Li Ming was still working in the company. He seemed to have lost his passion when he first came, but I was full of expectations for the future of the job. So I've been congratulating myself that I've taken a step back in life, and it's this step back that's taken away from my success in life.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Berard Jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.