Humans logo

Swipe right or swipe left?

3 Best Dating Apps

By Stephy EllsworthPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
2
Swipe right or swipe left?
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Dating is hard in this day, especially this new age tomfoolery! Either you’re busy working, parenting, schooling, quarantining, or just don’t feel like going out of the house to meet anyone! Throw in COVID 19 “social distancing,” & you’re screwed.

It seems as if the internet has made the dating scene more simple, or at least it has attempted to simplify dating.

​Maybe you’ve heard of some dating apps or perhaps even tried a few. If you have, there’s no judgement from me. I’ll be the first to admit that I was on almost every dating app there was to offer.

✅Zoosk

✅ POF (Plenty of Fish)

✅eHarmony

✅Tinder

✅Badoo

✅Bumble

✅Black Singles Meet

✅Military Cupid

✅Match

The issue was they all seemed the same. In fact, the same people were on all the different apps. (POF was like a psych outpatient clinic. I only say that because I saw quite many of my mental health patients on that dating site—that’s at all no shade or discrimination to the MH population. It was rather a conflict of interest for me).

Before you waste your time or phone space downloading the apps, I’ll give you a few insiders based on my experience. Thwas tips will hopefully shed some light or give you insight on the apps.

Let’s get started.

App 1

Tinder 🔥

This one was actually my personal favorite for a while, & I have revisited it about 3 times (vicious crating & deactivating my accounts). I actually met my past situationship on Tinder.

Let me start by saying it’s FREE and anonymous. The app uses your location to find matches that are in close proximity to you, however, you can control the mile radius.

‼️Be mindful that your matches will change every time you change locations.

I set my mile radius to 50-60 miles (which is about an hour away), because I live in a small town where everyone knows everyone or is related.

Since I’ve used tha app (some years ago), there has been an update to the site in which you can select 5 personal interests before completing your profile. When this is done, the site uses this as an algorithm to shuffle your match cards appropriately—based off what you said you like. It maximizes the chances of being matched with someone that is compatible based on mutual interests.

They have also implemented Smart Photo which is a continuous testing of all the uploaded profile photos. The site picks which one is the best & shows that one first. Again, this increases your chances of getting a match. This feature makes your best picture, your “show off” picture. So, pick good ones.

Basically—in a nutshell, you upload pics of your choice, create a captivating bio, and begin swiping to match. Bios are not required &, honestly if you’re really attractive, you may not even need a bio. For the “facially challenged” individuals, a bio will be a great help.

Try bios intriguing or fun like this one: Stephanie but people call me Steph for short. Nurse 💉💊. Mommy 👦🏽. iRead. iWrite. I hate starting over 😒I've been single all my life lol I dislike boring conversation & men with no substance. Swipe right ➡️ or get left ⬅️

On your profile, you can list passions or interests, your job title, company, education, & your city. There’s also an option to embed your Instagram pics.

Sample pic ⬇️

When you finally get to the deck of cars, you will see these icons at the bottom of the potential match.

Swipe left ⬅️ or tap ❌if you’re uninterested.

Swipe right ➡️ or tap 💚if you like what you see.

A star 🌟 is a super like. You only get 1 or 2 free ones before you have to upgrade to a premium package.

The 🔄is undo (just in case you like what you saw & swiped the wrong way-premium perk).

The ⚡️is a boost in which you are placed towards the top of the deck (only available with paid premium packages).

If you match, the app will freeze or appear to lag for a few seconds, but soon a message will appear that says, “IT’S A MATCH 🔥.” Once the match occurs, you can begin private messaging.

o Pro #1: It’s free. It’s anonymous. You can chat for free & converse at your pace without interruptions.

o Pro #2: The app does not take up a lot of space on your phone; & if you don’t want to download the app, a fully functioning website is accessible in your browser.

o Con #1: You can’t send additional pictures in the private messages, and you aren’t able to backtrack if you accidentally swipe left unless you purchase the feature.

Con #2: Having your location on is required to access matches or move to the next screen. I repeat— The app will only work with your location on. There is no way around it.

I don’t know about you, but I do not want complete strangers knowing my location. Even if they don’t know the exact location, knowing that I’m in the vicinity is still too much for me.

App 2

Bumble🐝

This app was fairly new to me when my co-worker mentioned it to me back in 2018. I had never heard of it, & I was hesitant about trying it out.

Bumble is also FREE! The app also uses your location to find matches closest to you. Bumble refers to its users as Bees 🐝 . The location changes according to your geographical locations. So, if you’re driving or riding, Bumble will automatically refresh its bees to your location. This app is also an anonymous one, so no pressure if you see someone you know. They won’t know that you swiped right (interested) unless they swipe right on you. In that case, it will be a match.

Pros #1: You can send additional pictures or GIFs in the private messages.

Pros #2: You get 3 backtrack options for free just in case you accidentally missed someone you think you may be interested in.

Cons #1: the female MUST start the conversation within 24 hours. If she fails to start a convo in the chat box, the match will expire & disappear. In this case, their profile pic will be blurred out. Men CANNOT send the 1st message EVEN if they wanted to.

Cons #2: After you use your 3 backtracks, you must purchase the feature in order to receive more.

Cons #3: You cannot view who swiped right on you unless you purchase the feature within the app. The bees interested will be blurred at the top of the screen. (The same holds true for Tinder).

App 3

Badoo

Badoo, of course, is similar to Tinder and Bumble where you swipe left or right depending on your preference.

I met my husband here years before all the upgrades & updates.

Pro #1: Badoo added a verification feature in which you have to take a selfie in order to register an account to cut down on catfishing. (this is AMAZING)

Pro #2: You can also see who viewed your profile & if they are online or not.

Pro #3: You can favorite someone & vice versa & you’re given a rate on your popularity (rate given based on how many visitors you have to your profile).

▪ In your dashboard, there is a globe icon title “People Nearby” that will allow you to see who’s close to you –according to the city you chose when registering. You are able to change your location at any time by going to your profile settings.

▪ Upon your first message, you can request a selfie for a updated photo & access video chat capability.

Con #1: There is no back option available. So, if you skip past someone you like, they disappear into the card deck. However, they may reappear later—or maybe not.

None of these update fancy features were available when my husband & I met. We had to rely on the honor system & believe what we were told. Thank goodness this wasn’t another episode of Catfish.

Of course, I don’t have many cons. Badoo got me a husband 💕😁. That would probably make me biased—but, I’m ok with that.

Basically, to sum it up, all of the apps are pretty much designed the same way.

Swipe left or right to indicate your interest.

Upload pictures.

Write a bio.

Turn on your location.

Enter distance radius.

Identify what you’re looking for (relationship, just friends, casual dating, etc).

The subtle yet significant differences between the apps will determine your favorite app. Oh yeah, the dating pool will also make a difference.

There are a lot more apps out here, but these 3 have been the best for me.

Have fun, but above all —STAY SAFE!

Happy dating ♥️

dating
2

About the Creator

Stephy Ellsworth

Certified Blogger | Master Life Coach | Lover of words, writing, reading, & English |Published Authoress|

“Everyone has a story, I just decided to write mine.” -Steph 💋✍🏽

#stephysays💋#astoldbySteph #stephysaysshow #accordingtostephy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.