Humans logo

Sunflowers Saved My Creativity

How I became a resin artist

By Jae-lin MitchellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
One of my "Sunny Lamps" made with dried sunflowers

‘Inspirational Creations by Jae’ was the name of the craft business I started when I was 10 years old. I usually don’t tell the story because the people that I do tell think I’m joking about a little kid being a business owner. My mom even went and got a DBA started in that name for me. I attempted my go at handmade cards, beaded jewelry, bookmarks, even purses. I still have a handwritten list of sales from when I attended my first vending event. That day, I made less than $20, and even that seemed like pity buys from older ladies who thought it was a cute idea. I wanted to live up to my name and be inspirational; although my products didn’t feel as beautiful as I had envisioned they would be. Then, there was the period of time I spent trying to improve my products based on the competition around me. Perhaps I could use cardstock instead of construction paper. Or maybe upgrading from stretchy beaded necklaces to sleek wire and glass beads would do the trick. I could even elevate from safety scissors to a paper cutter (with adult supervision of course.) I think my greatest obstacle lay in my limited knowledge of entrepreneurship and access to the resources I needed to make that happen. So, I ended up sticking to gifting my family members nicely handmade items on the holidays and taking art classes in school.

A DBA expires after 10 years, and in that time, I grew up and had to focus on the things that mattered in life. Or so I thought, or so I was told to think. Although I genuinely had a passion for many pursuits, I fell into the trap of finding something sensible to do instead of being able to focus on my craft. This came from my need to create a better life for myself as well as pressure from voices of those around me. I received a full ride to a university that I struggled with after facing the culture shock, depression, transferring to another college that was closer to home, changing majors 3 times,and just general burnout. It was during that time that I was working nearly full time in accounting and attending class.

I’m so grateful that I was able to return to my art during these moments. Little did I know, the embers in me were still glowing and just needed something, anything to become the flames they once were. It started with a painting I’d made for a loved one's birthday. It actually turned out the way I had imagined it would. I was never really into painting like that, but only because when I was in art class I compared myself to those I felt were better around me. They always say comparison is a thief is a joy, and there I was feeling like I was 10 again. This time around though, I continued painting because of the creative outlet it provided. This was the kindling.

When I was 11, I had an idea to make jewelry using real fruit and I would preserve it using mod podge. My kiwi necklace lasted for a few months but it was irregularly shaped and became a mushy mess of brown eventually. The idea suddenly recurred as an adult. This time I would be using some material called resin that I’d never heard of to bring my idea to life. Now that I had the means to purchase quality materials I didn’t waste any time getting a few molds, glitters, pigments and the fixings to add to resin. The first thing that I did was hand pick dandelions, add a little glitter and use resin molds to turn them into necklaces. I sold them to friends and family; not meaning to actually begin selling things again. It was a really fun time period of trial and error; purchasing the right PPE (personal protective equipment). Not only was it a creative process, but a learning one as well.

Fast forwarding to today; I’ve made and sold over 80 orders so far in my last year of opening my new Etsy store. I’ve just relaunched and renamed my shop BlueJaeArtCo. It’s such a fulfilling craft. I enjoy sharing my process videos and each piece is inspired and handmade. I’ve made notebooks using real dried flowers, LED lamps that are remote controlled, trays filled with real cereal and what looks like milk, jewelry, orgonites using crystals and stones, glow in the dark ashtrays, and even learned to create a galaxy effect using different inks. One of my most popular pieces are my real sunflower lamps so I’ll describe the process. I usually use three dried sunflowers, which smell amazing when they’re dried by the way, and put them into a pyramid mold. I pour a bit of resin and let that cure for hours. I then add my choice of LED lights and pour resin with a bit of pink mica powder. That layer is then cured for at least 8 hours. Lastly, I like to add one more resin layer with copper gold leaf flakes and stir them together. After the lamp is fully cured, I usually have to fight the mold during my demolding process and add another layer atop the pyramid to give it a glazed look. Finally, I cut the edges with any pair of scissors; although a new pair of Fiskars would be lovely. Usually a little bit of filing the sharp edges with a nail file is the touch that pulls everything together and that’s about it. I’ve included a final photo of my handiwork.

I have so much gratitude to be able to express my creativity in my resin work and art. I really enjoy when I’m given an idea and can execute it using my imagination. It’s honestly been a long time coming but I hope to continue inspiring people to be their authentic selves and to get more creative in their everyday lives. Art can be so freeing and healing, and I’m so excited to keep learning what else I can create.

diy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JMWritten by Jae-lin Mitchell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.