Humans logo

Sudden Destiny

Power of love

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

I looked out the kitchen window and noticed the wind was causing the trees to bend almost to the ground from the gale force winds.

Also the garbage holder was rolling across the yard because it was empty. It was a common event living in high desert territory. I went out and put the garbage container in the sheld when I heard a helicopter overhead and I thought perhaps it was a news one telecasting the tradffic from the freeway close by. Then I notice that it was a private one and watched until it landed at the house situation on the hill behind my dad’s place.

I went inside and continue cooking .

By the time my father came in the door it was dark and cold outside.

He came in took off his cap and coat hung them by the door snd went over to the kitchen sink to wash his hands.

Cold out there tonight, he exclaimed as he sat down at the dinner table. Going early one of those nights!

I served his dinner and sat down with him with to eat dinner.

I saw a helicopter land at the house up the hill, I said.

Oh that must be old Max’s son. he replied.

I heard he was moving out this way. I think since his dad retired in New Mexico he gave him his old place.

Heard he some kind of lawyer in the city.

Smart thing using a helicopter - cause traffic out here to the city is a nightmare.

We said no more about it.

Yet each day day I would heard and see the helicopter flying overhead and watch as it land next to our neighbor’s house wondering what was he like.

It was Sat and rolling grey clouds threaten to bring rain.j

Dad was still working and I couldn’t resist as I got in my car and drove up the hill.

It was dusk and I hadn’t heard the helicopter so I assumed he was t home.

I got out of the car and parked far enough down hill so it could not be seen.

The house was gorgeous and almost entirely made of glass. The grounds around it were covered with blue bell flowers.

When I got to the door there was a large pot of flowers on one side and a lantern hung over it.

Then to my surprise the door flew open and he was standing there looking at her.

Oh- he sad - it not often I have unexpected visitors. He said smiling and looking me up snd down with approving eyes.

Oh I said! I’m sorry I didn’t -

Didn’t know I was home? He finished her sentence.

Yes- well I had better be going- I said as I was slowly backing away.

He placed his hand on my arm gently and looked deep into my eyes.

Won’t you come in? He said.

It would be nice to have some company for a change.

She felt frozen in time - it was his voice and his hand that felt so natural and his touch made me tremble slightly something I had had never felt before.

I turned and looked into his penetrating eyes, and at the same time saw the light behind him from the living room beaconing me to come inside.

I went inside and there was a fireplace burning brightly with book shelves on both sides. Subtle scents filled the air. There were leather chairs and a plush Sofa on thick carpet and a crystal vase on the table filled with vivid flowers- the place smelled rich.

Would you like a glass of wine? He asked.

Sure, I said.

I turned around to gaze out the floor to ceiling glass window as the rain suddenly began to pound on it.

The view of the valley was breath taking. The grey rolling clouds pour streaking rain to the welcoming dusty grounds.

I turned around and he was just standing there with both wine glasses in his hands staring at me with a questioning and approving look.

It’s beautiful!! I exclaimed.

Yes- yes it is!

I smiled at him and walked slowly over dressed in my casual jeans and sweater and on taking the wine glass our hands touched and a static shock occurred. We looked at each other in shock- then laughed.

We sat down on the sofa - I was on one end and he on the other.

For a moment there was silence.

We watched the lightening flashing in the mountains and the rain drenching the grounds.

He began to talk in a relaxed and controlled voice. He told me he was a lawyer was glad his dad had suggested this place for him to stay. He liked the remoteness and peacefulness.

I listen as he talked and found the longer I was around him the more I liked him.

Then I remembered my dad would be home soon.

Oh I’m sorry, I interrupted. I think I had better be going.

Oh, he exclaimed I Hope can forgive me for carry on about myself so much.

No I replied it just that my dad will be concern if he doesn’t find me home-when he returns.

I went to the door and he opened it for me. He accidentally brushed against me as he stood next to it. I felt weak in the knees and I didn’t want to leave.I could have stayed there forever close to him.

When I looked into his eyes I could see his disappointment also.

When I got home dad was waiting for me.

I told him I had run into the guy who lived on the hill.

Oh if he is anything like his dad he’s a good man.

He turned back to what he was doing snd said no more about it.

I could sleep- his face and voice stayed on my mind.

I couldn’t sleep and when I went outside I saw a figure standing in a window of his house. Were we both thinking about each other? I wondered.

He seemed to have a power over me and his presence never left me. I could feel it covering me with sweet vibrations as I fell off to sleep.

My dad asked me to go down town to pay a ticket that was too late to mail which I gladly took as an opportunity to perhaps see him at his job.

Only when I got to the courts I lost my nerves. I was rushing to get out of the building when I came around a corner and bumped into him.

He looked at me at first surprised then a smile came over his face.

What a pleasure to see you again. Well since you are here- let’s go have lunch.

Okay I said with a somewhat

guilty look on my face.

He took me to a little cafe across the street.

While waiting for our lunch he took my hand under the table.

He look deep into my eyes touching my soul and said, I’m glad you came.

At that moment I knew he felt the same way I was feelings.

He walked me to my car and when we reached it and I was about to get in he put his arms around me and at first kissed me softly then it quickly turned into a lingering passionate one as I gladly surrendered to with pleasure

He held me close and whispered in my ear-

I can’t get you out of my mind-and now I feel I don’t ever want to be without you again.

Within a year we had our wedding in his house on the hill’s in the backyard over looking the lovely valley.

Dancing our first dance as Mr.and Mrs. we held on tight to each other clinging while feelings of gratitude to have found each other.

I knew his thoughts were the same as mine as we that the power of love will help you find the one for you and will always triumph over what ever doubts or fears that have kept you apart.

We kissed as the dusk turned into a star filled night with a glowing full moon casting magical moon beams on all it touched.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.