Humans logo

Storytime: The Day I Realized My Boyfriend Was Broke.

Ladies, beware!

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Ladies, beware!

***********************************************************************

"If you have a good "Storytime" story that you want to share with me, I'll be more than happy to hear it."

This is the message I sent out to my now over 1.2k followers on Facebook (thank you to every single person who likes my page btw. I love you guys so much for finding my stories interesting and giving me an audience.)

When I sent out this message, as usual, I didn't expect even one person to respond back but once again, I was surprised by the overwhelming number of people wanting to share their stories with me. I do not take these things for granted, thank you to everyone who comes into my DMs to have a chat with me, I love hearing these stories. I will try to share each and every one of your stories at one point or another.

One of the stories from a Facebook user named Naomi really caught my attention. It's such an interesting story and it's told in so much detail that I absolutely loved it, but at the same time was horrified by the deceit and games men are playing these days.

As always, for storytelling purposes, I have re-written the story in a way that reads better. The story itself is unchanged, but because the discussion we had was through DMs on Facebook with a lot of questions and answers, I had to consolidate everything Naomi told me into one clean story.

You're going to really love this story, and I can't wait for you to read it so without further ado, here is Naomi's story.

**Be sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting stories I post every single day. Also, if you have a story you think is interesting and want to share with me, simply shoot me a message and I'll be more than happy to hear it.

Naomi's Story.

Ladies, beware! I’ve learnt what these boys are doing. I just went through it with my now ex-boyfriend Kola and let me tell you, these boys, they don’t have money!

I will tell you the story of our relationship and then you tell me if this story sounds familiar.

At the beginning of our relationship, when we first started talking…I had met him because he was a friend of one of my friend’s boyfriends. In the beginning, everything was smooth. He used to take me out. He would carry me to lunch, take me to watch movies, even on like 3 occasions, he invited me to church and I watched this boy pay fat tithes inside big envelopes.

How could I have known what was to follow?

The next thing I knew, one day…actually it wasn’t even one day. Earlier on in our relationship and sprinkled throughout its duration, Kola used to say that he and his father weren’t on speaking terms, that they weren’t close. He said that his father was rich and sent him money, but that he, Kola, had his own thing going on.

Next thing I know, Kola one day comes and starts crying to me that his father has cut him off. He said his father said he would no longer give him money, and then to add salt to injury, the place where he was working was talking about layoffs.

Jide, the next week thereabout, Kola came and told me that they had fired him. His rent was due in about two weeks.

In previous times as I said, this boy was the one doting on me. Buying me gifts, taking me out here and there. He splurged on me so much so that I took it in my mind that it was now my turn to take care of him.

Jide, baby, what did I not do for that boy? The house rent he was owing, I paid for it. After that, it became all manner of expenses. It’s either his generator had spoilt or he was about to travel for a friend’s wedding and needed some cash to hold. I provided so much of my own money and ask me how much me I was even earning Jide. Not that much.

Around that time, Sandra, my friend I was telling you about earlier through whom I'd met Kola, she started telling me that her boyfriend, his name is Dotun, had been telling her that Kola was actually using me. Remember that it's Dotun and Kola that are friends, turns out they weren't that close, more of acquaintances. Dotun was telling Sandra that Kola and Kola's friends do this kind of thing on a regular. That I’m not the first girl they were doing this to.

Of course I didn’t’ believe. Sandra and Dotun had their own issues so I just chucked their talk up to jealousy. Clearly, the Sandra girl was not enjoying her own relationship and was trying to tear mine down. So I didn’t hear.

And this was how this pattern of me becoming a young sugar mummy continued. I bought Kola everything! From cap to shoelace.

How did I eventually find out this boy was broke? You won’t believe it. It was through a good Samaritan. One woman who was a cleaner in the apartment building that Kola lived, I was always friendly towards and she would always see me around all the time. On more than one occasion, because she also hawked groundnuts, I patronized her and bought groundnuts that were sometimes even more than I needed. I guess she developed a kind heart towards me.

This woman was the one who one day when I came to visit Kola told me that I wasn't the only girl coming to visit him. I didn't want to believe her, but what reason would this woman have had to lie to me? I didn’t know what to say.

That was when I started noticing things and becoming more on alert. When the scales fell from my eyes, I began noticing strange things. How it was almost every week that something was happening to Kola. How he still seemed to be looking fresh and smelling of new perfume despite saying he didn’t have water in his house or that he'd been sleeping in heat. Eventually, the relationship died a natural death because I couldn’t trust him anymore and I was losing too much over him.

It was AFTER I walked away that I started hearing stories from friends who “had been wanting to tell me but didn’t know how.” Apparently, what Kola did to me was his game. He and his friends. They would get a girl they thought was doing well for herself, spend on her, spoil her, make her feel like she was so lucky to have them.

Then, calamity would strike. It was either somebody’s father would die or somebody would lose their job. After that, it would quickly become a game of “babe borrow me this, borrow me that.”

In reality, there's never any calamity. These boys do this and stack up the money from various women under the pretenses of being in danger. It is their job. They've gotten good at it. I always heard the gist about "Abuja big boys." I never though it was real, until I was jammed by one.

Ladies, be careful out on these streets oh. Shine your eyes. Because these men, they're still prowling the streets.

***********************************************************************

To tell me your own stories, send me a message on Facebook so we can discuss and I can hear and share your stories. Please don't forget to like and follow my page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting stories.

To Naomi, thank you for sharing this story with me. God will punish that Kola and his cohorts. People in this world never cease to amaze me. Thank you for sharing your story with me, you were very entertaining to talk to and I'm always open to hearing any more stories you wish to share with me.

To anybody reading this, I hope you've thoroughly enjoyed today's story. To make sure you're always up to date with every new and interesting story that's coming up in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page.

Also, to catch up on some old but fresh content I know you'll love, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.