Humans logo

Still Putting The Pieces Together

A Collage of My Life

By Christina DeFeoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6

We're fighting again. I hate to argue. I rather stay silent and let the other person rant rather than engage in squabble. If I feel passionate enough about the subject I will participate, but I am so focused on making this collage that I am hardly listening to any of his points. Something about the dog? My silence can be intimidating as the other person has no clue my thoughts and my body language becomes silent too. I want to roll my eyes, but I don't. Leave me be to finish this please, I keep thinking. I'm also thinking why am I bothering to even make this. I'm moving out soon, he just doesn't know it yet. I can't take all this bickering all the time. And the dogs? I love animals, but to have dogs without a yard is difficult to maintain especially when you have a full time job. I'm not ready for children and I do not want to care for dogs, he wants both. I'll just readjust some of these pics and cut him out. This collage will be my first independent piece towards starting over.

I left that collage behind when I moved out. I actually left everything behind except for a bag of clothes. Sometimes starting from scratch is exactly what you need, just like creating a collage. Some of the pictures may be pre cut and do not fit the design, some pictures you thought you was going to use, but wind up not fitting in with the whole picture, and other times you have to add fillers into the small areas to leave no empty spaces. Changes are always being made until you see the end in sight. Making a collage always made me happy and was able to turn my mood right around. Cutting the pictures, being precise with the shapes of each, and choosing what stays and what gets cut out requires a level of concentration that grasps your full attention making you forget anything else momentarily.

Collages were a thing of the 90s. I got into it like any trend for the teens. Making a collage of pictures with your friends to mark outings and memories, pictures with family to give as gifts as well is what makes a collage special. You can set the mood and structure with pictures from all time periods and eras. Mix and match, make patterns and shapes, the possibilities are endless when you have pictures, scissors, glue, and a base. Pictures are not always defined as just camera taking either, it could also be magazine pics, from newspaper, or even something self made. The most intense part for me is the cutting. It grasps your full attention and you become in tune with your shape making. The base is important to your shapes because it determines each. Is the base a specific shape the pictures need to follow? Or is the base flat allowing you to build your own shape? The possibilities are endless and imagination is your leader.

Starting my own family has taken my collage making next level. When I take pictures now I am already making a collage in my head. My collage projects is a great activity to do with my daughter as well. She loves to see the memories and be creative with our master pieces. When we go for our walks she tells me, "Mommy take a pic of me in front of this tree for another collage." She is six years old. I love to see her interested and engaged in my projects. Capturing special, spontaneous moments are the best for collaging. Spending time with my family and catching memories of us with the families we have created inspire me to keep going. I love filling my walls and show casing the love within our family, friends, and entire support system. I just had my third child two months ago, time to print pictures and start a new project!

Collage making keeps me grounded as mom and gives me an activity to do with children. Our projects can only grow the more adventures and memories we create. Maybe the future will bring a full wall collage or something for a birthday, all I know the projects are not stopping anytime soon.

humanity
6

About the Creator

Christina DeFeo

A mom looking to express and lose herself in some imagination.

Facebook: @TinaChrisTheBookkeeper

Instagram @TinaChris_thewriter

Want to join Vocal+? Use this link to get started https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=christina-defeo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.