Humans logo

Step Into Hell With Me

New Beginnings

By Sanshine K MalamaPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Chapter 7

He had been talking for hours – I exaggerate, 30 minutes at most but that velvety smooth voice sounded like perfect jazz serenading onlookers each at a time. He swooped his hand through his dark hair which fell carefree to his right cheekbone. The rest of the hair was kept short so that only this section of hair remained, just enough to keep one’s attention as the mind travelled with the hand, praying for success in taming this unruly, sexy section.

His shirt, light shade of blue, hid underneath the dark navy-blue Jacket, teasing the notion of hope under a dark cloud. His emerald green eyes juxtaposed rebelliously yet, appeared subdued by him. Damien picked out a pocket handkerchief and bent down to swipe at the dust offending his brown shoe. Although not particularly tall, his limbs stretched out long enough to provide one with the illusion of length. His rear stuck out proudly, and his wrist showed of a sparkly glint of silver cufflinks.

“Can you put your tongue back in your mouth please?” Jenny teased. We had met in the training group that morning. We had instantly clicked. I liked her poised demeanour, proud mouth and politely rude attitude. She clicked with me by default. It was cool to be friends with a black girl plus, that would give her a chance to play with my many hairstyles without asking or risking offence.

“I don’t know what you talking about?” I defended.

“Bull – I know you want to smack that butt. You have been gawking at him for ages.”

“Well I wish I was the one to relieve some of that stress.”

“We need to find a way don we.”

“I got a boyfriend” I replied picking my book up again and beginning to wheeze through the boring training material.

“You sure not acting like you do.” Jenny laughed heartily. There was at least 30 minutes left before the end of lunch. I had continued my life that week like nothing had happened. Like I had not heard what was meant to be my baby, crushed within seconds. For some reason, I remember that, but I was under sedation. The Nurse told me it was all in my head, but I could not shake the memory.

I toy with the thought of explaining to Jenny that my selfish boyfriend deserved any cheating inevitably coming his way but decide against it. It is too soon for us to share too much of one another.

Jenny leans back in her plastic seat and twirls chewing gum around her finger. Even when she is trying to be raggedy; she maintains such poise so that even the most unflattering actions among us, only act as an enhancement to her gait.

“Everyone will be back in a few minutes. Let us clear the table.”

“Hey Sasha, I got this coffee for you earlier, you know, to say thank you for making me a cup of coffee this morning.” Damien is standing in front of me at my desk. I did not notice him coming over.

“Thank you, sugar plum!”

“Well I did not put sugar in your coffee. Just kidding, I know what you mean.” Jenny lets out a cheeky ‘erhm erhm’ alerting us to her presence. Damien smiles.

“Do you mind if Justin and I swap seats? I am sure that Michael has gone home now.”

“Sure – sit down. I will be glad for the company.”

“So, what do you think about the training so far?”

I tell him that I think the trainer is a bit boring and up her own rear.

“Oh yea- you are going to be great customer service representatives!” he mimicked the trainer, an older woman in her late 50’s, short, curly brown hair and a laugh that made you want to voluntarily admit yourself to a mental health institution.

“Like that is the greatest ambition one can have!” I snorted. Jenny laughed and added that she was only here to make enough money to move onto her next phase of life. Her fiancé was already working at a close by factory and they were planning on getting onto the property ladder. I was beginning to think that I was the only one being left behind. How could I even think of property when my credit score would not even allow me the dignity of a credit card?

“How old are you Jenny?”

“23”

“Damien?” I crossed my fingers and toes and hoped he would be a bit closer to my age.

“23” he smiled and smoothed his hair back into its designated place. My heart sank. He was now looking at me with those intrusive searching eyes.

“That is so rude, all you need to know is that black don’t crack” we all laugh and I am grateful that he does not put me on the spot.

“You know the Chinese girl over there?” We all turn to the centre of the room and watch as Kim takes her seat next to the German tall girl. Next to her, Kim looks 12. I guess that she is at least 33 but Jenny corrects me that she is in fact 42.

“Shut the front door! She does not look a minute close to 40!” I exclaim.

“Yep. And she does not hide her age.” Jenny laughs cheekily at me and then points at the door indicating that the trainer was about to enter the room.

“Fine – I am 28.”

“I think you are beautiful…” a velvet voice washes over me.

“Damien – if I did not know better, I would think you had a thing for older ladies.”

“Not all – just you” he winks and back goes the hair. The words go directly to my Eden shying me away from his gaze. What are you thinking Sasha; he is way younger than you! I sigh. My folks would have a field day of giving me drama if I were to bring this package home.

“Okay everyone – we are told that the systems are down so, I will be letting you go at 1pm today but- I expect everyone to be early tomorrow. We have a lot of theory to get through tomorrow.

“Oh damn! I need to call Tyler and let him know I need to be picked up early.”

“Why, when you got me? I will take you home.”

“Damn Damien, you don’t waste any time, do you?” Jenny laughs picking up her bag from the floor and clearing the table in preparation to leave.

“Are you sure you are not far from me?” I turn to Damien. His full gaze is on me, on the edge of his mouth is a faint smile beckoning me to say yes. Drowning in his gaze, I cave not caring to wait for his reply.

“Damien, mate can I catch a lift with you too?” Andrew a lad in his mid-twenties asked. He was already balding at a tender age.

“Sure – I have to drop off Sasha first.” I guess that was settled then. I get up with Jenny and collect our belongings. We all walk together to the car park. Jenny goes off to her car and we are ushered into Damien’s Renault Clio. I send a quick text to Tyler letting him know I would be going home early. Damien opens the front passenger door for me and I envision getting used to being treated like a flower.

XoXo PW

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sanshine K Malama

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.