Humans logo

Starting Over

It's not as crazy as it sounds.

By Lauren SwainPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Prospect Point, Stanley Park, Vancouver

Let me take you back, not too far back, far enough to understand why I decided to move myself, my dog, and my whole life to a new province.

Summer 2017, happily engaged for three years, wedding plans in motion, I'd been in the relationship since high school, we were everyone's "couple goals." Things, as far as I could see, were wonderful. I believed I had found my perfect match and we would be together "forever."

September 2017, he found someone new, we went our separate ways. We split everything we had together, including the two dogs. I fell into the deepest depression I've ever known and moved back in with my parents after five years.

The next nine months were the most wonderful nine months of my life. I reconnected with friends in ways I didn't think I needed, I discovered things about myself I never knew. It was life changing, in the most amazing way. I physically do not know how to put into words how fantastic it was.

February 2018, I started looking into finding my own place, as wonderful as it was having my parents allow me to "come home" while I got myself back on my feet. I wanted to find a cute place for myself and my dog so I could start doing my own thing again. It got me thinking about where in Calgary I wanted to be. Over the course of a month I came to the realization that I didn't want to spend my life there, other than the friends I had, I had nothing to stay for. I had also heard that there was an opportunity for a transfer within the company I work for. So, I figured why not? Why stay somewhere I don't want to be when I have so many other opportunities?

That's when I decided I would move to Vancouver.

It was a long process and cost a lot more money than I initially planned, but I got it all together.

June 15, 2018, I packed up my truck with my clothes, a few things I knew I couldn't live without, and started driving. I had an Airbnb booked for two weeks so I'd have enough time to find a place to rent.

I was finally doing the one thing I had spent five years dreaming about—the one thing I had given up on.

The drive was great, stopped for coffee breaks, took a few pictures, as you do. It was a regular road trip, it hadn't really hit me that it was a one way road trip.

The Airbnb was tiny but it worked for the two weeks and I eventually found a cute basement suite for myself and my dog.

A few weeks later, one of my best friends decided he was coming too—a huge relief to me as I was starting to feel insanely lonely. At the end of July he was here and his boyfriend was coming too in a few weeks!

Fast forward to present day!

February 2019, I've just signed a lease on a new place, I'm moving in with my new boyfriend! I'm now sitting in my current living room, surrounded by boxes, watching Family Guy, and cuddling my dog. I'm almost finished packing, even though I don't move until the end of the month. What can I say, I like to be prepared!

The new place is so much closer to my work, the ocean is a ten minute walk away and I couldn't be happier. I'm finally able to start designing again and the creativity has finally come back.

It's taken a year and a half to get myself back and figure out where I want my life to go, but I'm finally here. I'm finally where I need to be and I cannot wait to see where I'm at by the end of 2019.

My biggest goal for this year is to get my design line up and running, so stay tuned for that!!

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.