Humans logo

Southern Love Story

Abilene and Winston's story

By H. L. PerkinsPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

The sky was orange with hues of pink and purple as the sun began to rise in golden excellence. The rays hit the dew droplets that littered the two yards, sprinkling the earth in tiny diamonds. The cicadas were already awake and screaming into the empty air as the birds sang love songs to the sun. It was a perfect southern morning in a sleepy little town in Georgia. Abilene was already awake collecting eggs from the chicken coop when she heard the twins from next door out running around. "Hi boys! Y'all eat anything yet?" The boys came running up to her, "Yes ma'am we did! We had cheese grits with biscuits and gravy." She smiled at the boys with the beautiful big blue eyes and freckled cheeks. Their skin was sun kissed from running around outdoors all day and their hair was a sandy blonde color. They looked so different from her yet she loved them like kin regardless. She has babysat them since they were in diapers and now they were little tornadoes kicking up dust wherever they went. "Well boys I'm ‘bout to make my breakfast and I'll be out in a while to do my chores. If you want, you can help me feed the pigs in a bit." They nodded at her and ran off to cause hell somewhere in their yard. She took the eggs inside and prepared breakfast for her family. "Hey daddy. Breakfast is ready, you should eat before you head out to the fields." Her father smiled brightly at her, filled with pride for his daughter. "Your mama will be down in a minute, she's cleaning up Junior's bottom." She had prepared a bottle and some oatmeal for Junior and a plate of eggs and bacon for her mother. In their house everyone pulled their weight. Her mother was a seamstress for the town and was a high commodity for the housewives who kept up to date with the city styles. Her father tended the farm and his fields while Abilene cooked and took care of the animals. Next door were the Callaway's. They had a house full of children and they would come help with the farm. Mr. Callaway was her daddy's best friend and worked on the farm and in the fields with her father. He made his older boys tend the fruits and vegetables and hard labor around the farm while the younger kids cleaned both of the houses. Mrs. Callaway was a teacher and she taught her kids as well as Abilene and a few kids from down the road. All in all it was a simple life. Abilene loved her simple farm life. She cleaned the kitchen and headed out to feed the pigs. She had just walked into the barn when she heard, "Well hello there Ms. Abilene. You're looking mighty pretty today. Is that a new outfit?" She blushed at the sound of Winston Callaway's voice. They were the same age, exactly two months apart. He had blue eyes as well but his hair was a light brown color. Freckles sprinkled across his face also but his skin was a little more of a reddish tan from the sun. She shyly smiled, "Yes, sir. My mama made these britches 'cuz she said my other ones was getting a little too snug on me." He poked her arm, "Well Ms. Abilene, I think they look mighty fine on you." He gave her one of his smiles filled with charm as he walked off to the tomato patch. She didn't understand why she got butterflies in her stomach when he came around, it wasn't like he could ever like her more than a friend. Just then the twins came running in crying out to be the one who got to feed the pigs. She had them help her with the animals and the barn chores to get them to settle down. Once they were done with everything she excused herself and headed out to the backyard. She walked down the trail and headed towards the pear trees. Afternoons were her favorite time of day. She would make her a small lunch and head over to her favorite pear tree and look out toward the flower fields right outside the woods while she ate. She settled in and started looking through her picnic basket. "May I join you Ms. Abilene?" She jumped at the sound of Winston's voice. "Of course, Winston. You know you're always welcome to have lunch with me." He smiled his charm filled smile and sat next to her. He had a basket of his own and was mighty proud of himself which peaked Abilene's curiosity. "I hope you don't mind, but I packed some treats for you too, Ms. Abilene." She was really curious now. "I made you some banana bread and sweet tea. I also got some strawberries. I asked your daddy if I could bring you the biggest ones I found." She didn't know what to say, it was the most thoughtful thing anyone other than her family has ever done for her. "Winston, this is amazing. I can't believe you did all this for me. But I don't understand why?" It was his turn to blush and he cleared his throat, "Ms. Abilene, I'm sweet on you. I think you are the most beautiful girl I've ever laid eyes on. I spoke to your daddy and asked his permission to have lunch with you. There is nothing I wanna do more than make you happy." She didn't quite know what to say. She blushed hard and smiled at him. "Winston, I have been sweet on you for years. I just didn't think you would like someone like me. I thought you would be keen on someone like Hattie. She has such pretty golden curls and all the boys seem to like her." He laughed a little at that, "Hattie?! You thought I would be keen on Hattie? Not when I've got the prettiest girl living right next door to me. And may I ask what's wrong with your curls? You also have the greenest eyes I ever have seen. They remind me of this flower field with the sun right overhead. Your smile can light up a whole room and your laugh is as beautiful as the church bells on a Sunday morning." She blushed even more at hearing this. She never quite felt like she fit in. Hearing his words made her feel like she was on top of the world. Her mama always tells her that she's the prettiest girl in town but it didn't feel the same as when Winston said it. She had caramel skin, with long, thick curly, red tinted hair, green eyes and long legs that her daddy called frog legs. She was skinny but fit thanks to working on the farm. The other girls picked on her for her muscles but they were not as big as boys' muscles and she could never understand why they picked on her for that. Winston continued to tell her all the things he found perfect about her and to her surprise all of those things were what she had considered her flaws. They spent the entire afternoon together under the pear tree. Abilene read her book out loud to Winston as he leaned back on the tree, lost in the sound of her voice. They would talk about everything, laugh at the stories of mischief the twins would cause and just sit in comfortable silence with each other listening to the sounds of nature. Abilene felt like the day couldn’t get any better until Winston scooted over closer to her and slid his hand over hers. He leaned in slowly toward her and kissed her gently on the cheek. “Ms. Abilene, would you be my girl?” She began to blush again. “Why Winston, I would be proud to be your girl.” They both blushed and giggled. Winston shyly leaned forward and softly kissed Abilene on the lips. “We should get going. School time for the older kids is ‘bout to start. Here let me help you up.” Winston stood up and helped her to her feet. They gathered their baskets, innocently intertwined their hands and headed to the Callaway’s house. Abilene was smiling so hard that her cheeks hurt but she just couldn’t stop. She snuck a quick look over to Winston and saw he had a huge smile on his face too. She giggled a little and squeezed his hand. Mr. Callaway and her daddy had just arrived back from the fields and caught sight of the two. “It’s ‘bout time them two got together. I was wonderin’ how long my son was gonna follow her around like a puppy before he let her know he was keen on her. He made a mighty fine choice in Abilene. She’s a good girl.” Mr. Callaway smiled brightly as he talked about the two teenagers. Abilene’s daddy nodded his head in agreement. “Winston’s a good lad. I know I can trust him with my baby girl’s heart. I’d be proud to see her with him.” Mr. Callaway elbowed Abilene’s father, “You’re just saying that ‘cuz you’re my best friend!” They both gave out a hardy laugh and walked inside the house. Everyone smiled at the sight of Abilene and Winston. They truly were a beautiful pair. Abilene and Winston were inseparable from that day forward, wrapped in the bliss of their new relationship. Winston made sure to tell her every day how perfect she was, while Abilene made sure to make a special lunch for them to share at their favorite pear tree. Every day they sat under the pear tree for lunch and every day their love grew stronger. Abilene truly loved her simple farm life but she enjoyed it so much more now that she had Winston to share it with. “Winston, I will always love you.” Abilene shyly admitted as Winston blushed so hard his cheeks burned. “I will always love you too, Ms. Abilene.”

friendship
Like

About the Creator

H. L. Perkins

I am an aspiring author. I plan on being on the New York Times Best Sellers list. I have written the first book in my Fantasy series. I'll be releasing chapters periodically. Don't mind the name change, still the same author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.