Humans logo

Sometimes Heartbreaks are good!

A true story of self discovery!

By Payal MotlaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Many of us must have gone through heartbreaks as some point in our life. My story is no different. I too was in love with someone but never ever had the guts to tell him. I loved him silently until one fine day I finally decided to tell him. But I had been late, he was already with someone else. He said to me that, " Payal, I am getting married in next few months!" and then that was it. I was devastated. It felt like end of my world. The guy I loved secretly and wanted to be with for rest of my life has already found his life partner. I was broken and shattered at his words. I was travelling in train when we had this conversation. I could not control myself. I just broke down in front of my colleagues that day. Somehow I managed to gaining my composure but left early from office. I didn't go home. I didn't let me family know about it. The incident is still in my mind but not in my heart anymore.

Yes, Its not less than a nightmare. But today if you personally ask me, I feel good about it. Good that I did not marry him or that we are not together. He was always with himself , an introvert and never replied to my messages or was least interested in my calls. We were as different as chalk and cheese. I realized it was good as we were both way too different. But as they say adversities come to teach you. I discovered a new found relationship with myself. Its not that it wasn't painful. I must have cried for months and months praying for him to come back. I must have cried buckets on lonely nights. I don't like being vulnerable in front of people. That's my bad. But seriously, today I enjoy my singlehood. Things are way more different today.

One big lesson it taught me was to value the relationship which I have with myself. You cannot always be giving. Give and take both are important in a relationship. You cannot keep giving (i.e loving someone) and empty your own cup. ( Your soul. You heart too wants to be loved in return.).

For any relationship to flourish and survive, it's important that there is an equal give and take, a balance of some sort of. A relationship which fails to have such a balance, always gets broken down in life. That's what I have observed. An yes can't thank God enough for the "New Me" that I have discovered in the process. I am now having a relationship with myself which is more satisfying. We don't value self love enough. One needs to self love and have a relationship with himself/herself first and respect his/her choices even before you get into a relationship with someone.

You need to have a self care routine, feed your soul regularly, pamper yourself first and have a loving and beautiful relationship with yourself first. And most importantly respect yourself first. Even before you expect someone to love you and be in a relationship with someone, value your relationship with yourself first. Learn to go deeper within. Learn to love Yourself first and then others. You cannot keep giving only. Your own cup will become empty someday and you will become weak in the process. To be happy, healthy and loving, you need to value and nurture the relationship that you have with yourself first and then the other will love you for being YOU.

So first before asking someone else to love you for who you are, You need to establish a relationship with Yourself. Be Uniquely You. Fall in love with yourself. Embrace your Uniqueness with Pride because that's what make you truly YOU.

Happy New You!

Happy Learning!

#Attitude#heartbreak#motivation#inspiration#uniqueness#BeYourself#BeYOU#spouse#relationships#lifelessons#lifestyle#nutureyouruniquiness#fallinlove#love#selfcare#self-love #deep# embrace yourself# #faith#wisdom#knowledge#goingwithin#innerworld#

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Payal Motla

I am a Financial geek, a Passionate content creator, a writer & a Trainer by heart. I would love explore the possibilites.

My instagram account @payalmotla

Linkedin : https://www.linkedin.com/in/payal-motla-79794438/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.