Humans logo

Some Wine and a 'Date'

Intrusive Love Match

By NoShameIn / Tee MeePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Of course, as soon as I turn on Spotify, the song in que is Afraid of the Dark by EZI. I cannot rid of this uncomfortable feeling of not being able to control my emotions towards this man. He's brought out my reckless side. My adventurous side. A side I've never explored. I wasn't a spontaneous person. I lived my life with guidelines. Structure. Cannot be surprised if you plan EVERYTHING! Harder to be hurt if you know what’s coming.

My relationship before Drystan was so chaotic and toxic. Always waiting for impending criticisms. "Dinner was great but..." or " I love this but..." It was so exhausting that I demanded myself to be single and organized.

But Drystan changed that immediately… I reminisce our first ‘date’…

After an extremely long week at work, I got home and 6 boxes of a subscription from Bright Cellars called out to me. A Christmas gift from my friends. “Since you’ve decided to get back out there and date, you’re going to NEED wine.” I opened the top box. Out of the 6 bottles of wine, I pulled out Meet Cute, a 2017 Merlot. I shrugged, grabbed a glass but decided to drink it from the bottle! My first gulp of this plum and berry velvety tannins slid down my throat and made my knees weak.

I daydreamed all day about taking a bath to relax. Lavender oil. Lit candles. Mid-bath, my phone pinged three times from across the room. Everyone knows to leave me be after 9pm. It’s my routine. Concerned, I parted from my bottle and stood up slowly. I wiped my hands on a towel and slid my password across the screen. Messages from an unknown number. Curious, I opened them.

‘I got your number from Aziza. She said to keep messaging you until you answer cause it’s after 9.’

‘She said DONOT call her cause she won’t answer and quote “Nagi, get your ass dressed and get in Drystan’s car!” she said she doesn’t care about your curfew and you need to have some fun.’

‘She said you may not answer so she gave me your address. So yeah. I’m sitting out here waiting for you. She told me to wait 20 minutes and if you don’t come down to come up and get you. She gave me your keycode… count down starts now!’

Another bing. Screenshots of said conversation.

I was absolutely livid with Aziza but I’ll admit I was excited to meet this Drystan who was adventurous and confident enough to do this without question. I didn’t reply. Instead, I turned off my phone and went back to my bath. I thought, ‘There is no way this person would be bold enough to come upstairs and knock on my door.’ I ate some dark chocolate kisses I had on my bathroom shelf next to my folded towels… Don’t judge me!

Staring into the flame of one of my candles, I was getting tipsier with every swallow. I grunted when I took my last sip and looked into the bottle as if it was deceiving me. “Definitely need more wine,” I spoke aloud to me. Getting out of the tub to retrieve said wine proved to be a little more difficult the second time. “Easy Nagi.”

As soon as I put on my bathrobe, the thump of my door startled me and I slid on my wet floor. I would’ve been so pissed if I caught myself on the toilet. Completely forgetting about the messages, I hustled to open the door to give the person a definite scolding. The door knob was cool and sent a shiver up my arm that made its way to my feet. I’m still pissed there’s no peephole. I swung the door open.

WHOA! He stood a little taller than me. Stocky and broad shoulder but unsure with his hands in his pockets. Short dark hair, medium brown eyes with a huge grin span across his face. His dimples are what ultimately got me. His eyes were huge as he took a step back.

My mind went blank. Like no words. No actual thoughts. I stood there staring at him. Felt like forever before he said, “Hi!?” Still at a loss, I just stared. “Are you okay?”

“Um, yeah.” With confused eyes and an intrigued smirk, “Can I help you?”

“It’s been 20 minutes.” He said so casually.

“20 minutes since… for…”

“I have been waiting for 20 minutes. So…” He raised his eyebrows and tilted his head. “You’re Nagi, right?”

“Oh shit!” The alcohol hit me and I started giggling. “I could kill Aziza. Sorry. But um, I’m not going anywhere.”

“That’s fine.” He casually stepped past me and into my apartment. For some reason I allowed it. Normally I would’ve flipped out. “Nice place.” As my eyes followed him into my living room, I closed the door. He turned to look at me, “Did I interrupt something?”

“I was enjoying my bottle of wine and my bath. You’re lucky I was in need of more wine and had to get up anyway or you’d still be standing on the other side of my door.” I crossed my arms and looked to my door then back to him.

“You would’ve run out eventually. I was instructed not to leave until I had a conversation with you. To ‘be aggressive’. Apparently, you’ve ‘locked yourself in a bubble and need to have some fun’” He literally did air quotes. Twice.

“You have nice hands.” I was so mad at the alcohol. Clearly, I’m a light weight. It didn’t help that I had no dinner. He looked at his hands as I walked past him to get more wine.

“Thanks.” He watched me carefully as I struggled to tie my robe. The one side slipped out of my hand and as I was about to be supremely embarrassed, when I looked up, he had his head turned with his eyes shut. I felt subconscious that he didn’t want to see my body but impressed that he was being a gentleman. My insecurity dissipated immediately.

“Wine!?” I held up a new bottle from the box.

“Sure.” He opened his eyes and looked to me, “Are you going to put some clothes on?” He looked me over very slowly.

“Nope! Not getting dressed either! It’s not a part of my plan for the night.” I shrugged and grabbed the cork screw from the counter.

“Your ‘routine’, I’m assuming.” Make that three times.

“Is there a problem with that?”

“Trust me, I have no issues with you walking around in a damp robe.” I knew that his smirk was going to lead to problems! He looked me over again and my eyes followed his eyes until our eyes met. TROUBLE!

I broke eye contact before my urges and alcohol took control over me. I grabbed the glass I was going to use for myself and poured him a glass.

“A glass of Merlot!” As I handed it to him.

“Thanks. You gonna have a glass?” Holding the glass of wine up.

“Glass for you, bottle for me.” I raised the bottle of Jetbird, “Cheers!” And took a swig. His chuckle went straight through me. I literally shook from the vibration. “So, what did Miss Aziza tell you about me?” Raising my brows at him.

“Not much. Just that you’ve been in a bubble of boring routine for a few years now.” He took another sip of wine.

“Uh huh. And?” I know her, I know she told him more than that.

“And…” He sips as I gulp, “You’re a control freak.” He tried to hold back his laughter but it slipped out.

“That’s funny?” I challenged him to see if he could deal.

“Control is a facade'.” I squinted at him and he smirked. TTTRRRROOOUUUBBLLLEEE!!!

“You’re gonna stop smirking at me.” I walked past him as his laughter bounced off my walls and into my eardrums.

I sat on my couch while leaving him standing there. When he didn’t follow, I looked back at him.

“Can I use your bathroom?”

“Yeah, it’s the door on your right.” I pointed down the hallway. I turned the T.V. on and waited for the movie app to load.

“This is what I interrupted? My bad.” His voice echoed down my hallway. I forgot about my bath. I hopped up and hustled down the hall. I pushed the door open to blow out the candles I forgot were burning.

“Holy shit. I’m sorry!” I closed the door and laughter took over me. I dropped to the floor with my bottle of wine. I whispered to myself, "What the fuck is wrong with you? You sent him down here to use the bathroom. Then busted the door open forgetting he was in there peeing." ... “You know what, I’m not sorry.”

A chuckle opened the door, “You’re not?”

“Nope. How does it feel for someone to invade your privacy unannounced?” My laughter continued as I sipped more wine. He shook his head at me when he reached his hand out to help me up. I obliged. I slowly slid up the wall as his amused eyes glared into mine.

“Aziza told me you’re a mess.” He helped me steady myself, “I blew out your candles.”

“Thanks.” He pulled me up the hallway. “Where are you pulling me?”

“I’m not pulling, I’m guiding you. We’re going somewhere whether you want to put on clothes or not. Your choice, but you need to get out of this house.” He turned to face me and his energy was too intense to argue.

“Fine. I’m hungry anyways but I’m NOT putting on a bra.” And I meant it.

“You wanna let the girls stay free…” He raises his hands up in defeat as he pushed me in my room. The door slowly closed with him smiling behind it.

I put on a dress with a built-in bra. Thanking the universe that I shaved that morning. I guzzled the rest of the second bottle before I found him sitting on my couch looking through my copy of The Food Almanac. “Make yourself comfortable!” He looked over to me and flashed his teeth. “Fucking trouble!” I immediately covered my mouth. Laughter escaped through my fingers. I spun towards my boxes of wine breaking his glare.

“You’re clearly drunk. Perhaps we should stay here.” That giggle…

“Nope! You made me put on clothes.” I point at him.

“Maybe some bar food will do you good.”

I rolled my eyes at him. “Whatever. More wine!” Holding up the next bottle, I asked, “What’s your Pet Name?”

“What do you want it to be?” He wiggled his brows, creating me to laugh even harder. I shook my head at him this time. I guzzle down 3 swallows full.

“Slow down. We can’t get kicked out before we even get there.” I felt him walking towards me before the bottle was being detached from my lips.

“Yes, daddy.” I look up to him with a smirk to match his.

With a tilted head, our laughter couldn’t be halted.

“Did you just drool?” He asked as I wiped my mouth and nodded at the same time. Much more difficult than you may imagine. “I’m NOT bringing a drooling drunk girl to the bar.”

I took in a few slow breathes to try and calm long enough to form a sentence. “ToGo... Movie.” Is all I was able to manage.

“What do yo-“

“Pizza… Wings.”

“You got it!” I stared at him while he glided his finger over his phone. A few minutes passed, “Ordered! Will be here in 35.”

“Please don’t look at me or I’ll start laughing again.” His smile as he slowly looked up to meet my gaze, made me all tingly.

“What’s your name?”

“Drystan.”

“Nagi. Nice to meet you Drystan.” I shake his hand.

“The pleasure is all mine.”

“Another glass of Merlot?”

dating
1

About the Creator

NoShameIn / Tee Mee

https://www.amazon.com/author/teemee

Barnes&Nobles: Tee Mee

https://books2read.com/u/mK6voP

https://www.wattpad.com/user/NoShameIn

https://www.instagram.com/noshamein/

https://www.facebook.com/noshamein.painorhappiness/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.