Humans logo

Some Men Say The Dumbest Things

Classy men don't say these things

By Brenda ReevesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Some Men Say The Dumbest Things
Photo by Matheus Ferrero on Unsplash

I hope that some young men read this. Men and women are so different and we women have our faults also so know that this is not male-bashing. Well, maybe bashing some men. But not you, you have more class than this.

Women are taught that men have fragile egos and we shouldn’t say anything to wound them. Evidently, men aren’t taught the same about women, because they will say the dumbest things.

I got married three days out of high school and divorced at the age of 44. The morning that I woke up in my new apartment, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. I never wanted to get married again. At the age of 53, I thought I’d give internet dating sites a try. Why not?

I soon learned why not, and I’m going to list some of the reasons why. The dumbest things men say:

Did you wear black to make yourself look thinner? No, did you leave your brain at home on purpose?

As a man, I could marry someone 15 years younger. You couldn’t do that. If you have money you can buy anyone you want. He didn’t.

I’ve always preferred blonds. I heard this a lot. It was always said in a tone of disappointment. As you might guess, I wasn’t blond. Well, I prefer men with hair on their heads.

My wife was a very beautiful woman. I heard this a lot from widowers. I really didn’t want to hear it. I shared it with a friend thinking I might be too sensitive about it. Would you want men telling you that on a date? Absolutely not, she replied. Men, keep that to yourself.

I’m not looking to be anyones sugar daddy. Darn! I was looking for one. Don’t bother calling again.

One man that I met for coffee told me that he spent $400 wining and dining one woman and she never did put out. Hence forth, he wasn’t wasting his money until she put out first. There are too many fish in the sea. I wonder how many fish he catches with that line.

I dated this man for a while. He had patterned baldness, and shared with me that men were very sensitive about losing their hair. Baldness doesn’t bother me, and if you look around, you’ll find that a lot of young men are bald. One day, I was sorting out some old pictures on the coffee table and my high school graduation picture caught his eye.

Brenda Reeves

Upon seeing the picture he asked me, Brenda, where did you go? The same place your hair went.

My best friend, Sharon, told me that she went to the shopping mall with another friend one day. They both spotted a sexy nightgown that they loved and decided they’d each purchase one to surprise their husbands expecting a night of passionate love making to follow.

That evening she put on her new purchase and walked into the den to model it for him. He looked up from the TV and asked: What did you pay for that? He didn't get any passionate love making that night.

That reminded me of the time I bought a dress and my husband took one look at me and said: That looks like shit! It makes you look like a Sunday school teacher. He’s now my ex and was a lost cause anyway.

I shared those two incidents with my brother and he sheepishly replied: Oh, I say things like that.

I hope this doesn’t sound like male bashing. I assume that not all men are that clueless.

I gave up on dating. Living peacefully alone with my dog and cat is what’s best for me. It makes me the happiest.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Reeves

I'm a writer, visual artist, animal lover and free spirit. Minimalism is my motto. I recently sold my car and live with the bare necessities of life. It's the only way to be truly free in this world of chaos.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.