Humans logo

Sneaking in some romance was so much fun

The joy of making love when you are not supposed to is exciting.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sneaking in some romance was so much fun
Photo by Christopher Beloch on Unsplash

My husband of 40 years passed away 2 weeks ago. It’s still so fresh and hurts so bad. I’ve been thinking back on our 45 years together and fond memories are coming to mind. We met at a party in April 1976 and danced a few times. One week later he came to visit and we exchanged bracelets and 20 days after that I have my virginity to him. In those days most teen girls valued being a virgin and wanted to wait until they found the right guy. I was 17 and believed I was giving my most prized possession to the man who deserved it. My grandmother and brothers were asleep and had no idea what took place.

I never thought of it as being sneaky but only being private. I was raised in a religious community where emphasis was put on waiting until marriage but once I met Michael I changed my mind. I saw my friends indulging and lightening did not strike them so I allowed my feelings to lead me. That fall we both attended the same college and on Tuesday and Thursday our classes were over at 10:30. We caught the bus and spent time together at an old house where someone he knew had moved out of. We walked across the street to eat lunch at a restaurant then I’ve each caught a bus back to our homes.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

In the summer of 1977 we both were working and had our 45 minute lunch breaks at the same time. I was a secretary for a summer food program and he was a tutor in a house being remodeled in the downtown area. I could walk a few blocks, pick up lunch, catchy a bus and have about 20 minutes with him before getting back to the office. The two women who worked with him left the house during their lunch break so we had those 20 minutes alone. At least twice a week I took lunch to Michael and before eating or sometimes after we would make love.

No one knew or suspected and we thought it was a fun way to be together. It was just the dynamic between the two of us because we were in love. I actually was naive enough to believe that no other couple could be as creative as I purchased my first vehicle in May of 1978 and at that time the company I worked for gave us an hour for lunch. Michael went to work at 1:30 in the afternoon so Ai could not spend my lunch hour with him. What I did do on a number of occasions was drive to his house on my 15 minute break.

By Tyler Nix on Unsplash

This really was wrong because our morning and afternoon break times were on the company clock and our lunch hours were on our own. Michael lived about 5 minutes away so I came up with a plan. When my break was at 10:00, I left a few minutes early and arrived back a few minutes late. I drove a little faster which took a few more minutes from driving time. I got to his house, we made love them I returned to work all in about 18 minutes. My coworkers and bosses thought I was sitting in the break room and had no idea. I was young and young at heart and again it was fun. I don’t understand women who see sex as a chore or obligation. For 45 years I enjoyed giving myself to the man I loved.

I realize my story is pretty tame and maybe even boring to some but that’s OK. I’ll always ake true love with one man over sex with many men. I’m writing about my memories as a way to think fondly about the good times we had. In our later years we had a lot of financial and medical issues. We were not able to travel or cruise as other couples did. I wanted more time with him and believed we might get to enjoy our senior years together but it was not to be. I am thankful for all the fun memories that come to mind because they are helping me cope.

love
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.