Humans logo

Skyfall

Delicate Situations

By Jax RavenPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I’m not sure if it’s been four days or four years since my last entry but one thing I do know is time seems un-measurable when I’m with my pitcher. So let me begin at the end of my last post to bring understanding to where I am now.

Tell me if I’m wrong but going on dates in this day and age has seemed to have lost its meaning, maybe its very purpose. What does a date mean to you? For me its an opportunity to spend quality time with someone to get to know them better. To give & show that chosen person a different side that the world wouldn’t normally see. Last but not least, maybe even most importantly, it’s a chance to be romantic, to bestow that precious feeling of love upon someone. Always remember you receive the most when you give. Yes you read that correctly. The most fulfilling thing you can ever do is give. Let me explain.

I walked into my date with my pitcher with one thing in mind. To give her, for her first ever date in 24 years, a memorable magical night. Easy enough right? Well yeah, yes it is when you put the effort in. Listen, communicate, plant seeds, water them and let them grow into sunflowers. My excitement for this moment started days out. It became infectious and spread. Suddenly my pitcher was dropping her own curve balls!! The anticipation created had truly overwhelmed her.

This precious night will stay with me forever and to help preserve this, there are only a few things I’m willing to share. Firstly the utter nervous, almost nausea inducing butterflies I had when knocking on her door was absolutely ridiculous. To say I felt like a teenager is an understatement. The breaths I had already held for what seemed like eternity were literally sucked out of me as the door opened. Outstanding beauty. Jaw dropping, head turning, pulse racing beauty. I knew in that very moment how lucky I was. Now the only details divulged about the date were destination, to be ready and expect my arrival at 8:30 & transport would be picking us up at 9:30. So imagine my surprise when we were colour coordinated. Some things are just meant to be right?

The entire night was just the two of us. We drank, conversed, and danced till the small hours. She was the only colour I saw; I was so captivated and absorbed that everybody else faded to grey. Everything was effortless. Every single word spoken was open, honest and heart felt. She wore my jacket, (that I still haven’t retrieved!) she couldn’t contain her killer smile every time I opened doors, or went to take her hand. The gift of giving had definitely given me happiness, to be able to chuck curve balls for my pitcher is a feeling that will never get old.

It may have been her first date, but I hope it will be the first of many for us. In a world of total anarchy it’s important to blow a few bubbles.

After date night, I was (still am?) on such a high. The natural euphoria and electricity between us leaves me wanting more. Knowing this feeling is reciprocated is peculiar to me. Feelings aren’t said, they are shown, whether you like it or not. Even now, with my pitcher on her well-deserved jollies, I know she’s thinking of me. The occasional text to see how I am. The phone call every night to see how my days been. Not just about me but everything to do with me, my work, my children, my feelings, my situation. It makes my heart swell in ways I never knew possible.

What we have is nothing short of delicate. Outside forces beyond our control, same as us all I guess, will by default try and tear you down. But seeing the world and my pitcher through fresh eyes is exhilarating and life changing. Its true what they say; not all super heroes where capes. And right now I very much feel like one. I can take on anything and anyone. I’m excelling at work, finding life is colourful again and just generally getting my shit together. If that’s not being a superhero, then I don’t know what is! The best bit though? I have my very own superhero sidekick. The great ones are never seen coming or asked for. They just appear in your hour of need, when you’re at your weakest. They ask for nothing yet do everything. Build you back up from the previous cracked foundations to something not even you knew could be. Now I’m one half of a duo yet completely strong enough to handle my shit on my own. We all need someone to where matching capes with and its no coincidence this post contains 831 words...

Always remember, there’s always tomorrow.

From me too you,

Me xXx

love
Like

About the Creator

Jax Raven

32 years young, family man. Lover of words & food. Forever looking for the good in a world of grey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.