Humans logo

Sixteen and Seventeen

Memories of a young friendship

By Shelby LarsenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Kylo on Unsplash

Short, fluffy hair atop a small prepubescent boy. Annoying, sarcastic comments flying out of his mouth in his whiny voice. A small, high-pitched giggle from the chubby kid I’d never met before beside him. “Knock it off,” I mutter, tossing a pillow in their general direction, accidentally hitting my brother’s future best friend.

Older boys, now fifteen and sixteen, poking fun at my new boyfriend. “Hey Ford!” The best friend calls. “How’s that shitty car working for you?” Giant smile with one front tooth missing. His girlfriend finds it adorable. His mom finds it appalling. I find it hilarious.

Homecoming dance. Cars pull up. Moms with cameras. Annoyed teenagers pile out. Brother punches best friend in the arm. “Go home and change!” I snap pictures while laughing. Both in blue V-necks and distressed jeans. Same height and build, brown hair, goofy smiles. They could be brothers.

Few too many drinks. Several missed calls. “Where is your brother?” How the hell should I know? “His phone is off!” I barely know what I’m doing, let alone my younger brother. “I’ll just go pound on his door. Don’t get pregnant.”

A few months later, greeted by the two best friends while visiting the parents. “Hey! You don’t live here. You need to knock! I’ve taken over your room by the way.” Blocked from hugging my own mom. See how much candy they can throw at me before I attempt to kick their asses.

Quiet whispers from the room next door. Things a sister doesn’t want to hear. I won’t repeat. Giggles from the girlfriend. Silence from the boys followed by deafening laughter that echoes in your ears and fills the house with happiness.

Late night card games, x-box, movie marathons, Casey’s pizza. Football games: one in the stands, one on the field. Basketball games: both in the crowd. Movie nights at the cinema, driving around town with a brand new sound system, arguing about girls, shooting hoops in the front yard.

Sixteen and seventeen, they leave school like a normal Wednesday. I go to my classes, hang out with my friends, like a normal Wednesday. Too many phone calls for a normal Wednesday. "Have you heard from him?" “Have you seen him?” “Where is he?” “Have they found him yet?” “What car was he in?” "Who saw him last?"

Texts, calls, no answers. He wouldn't take off without talking to anybody. An entire small town, all worried about the same teenager. So many hours passing by, no news - good or bad.

Staying up too late. Receiving a message from someone who heard from someone who heard from someone... "They found him." For a moment, sweet relief washes through our bodies before factual despair hits. One car, one road, one accident. Consumed by tears, anger, confusion, pain, horror.

A church overflowing, a crowded cemetery. My brother and several other teenage boys, black suits and purple ties, carrying a white casket to a freshly dug grave. The haunting cries of a heartbroken mother. The sadness and confusion on a young brother's face. A whole community brought together to mourn.

Young boys, heads held high, emotions poorly concealed. Grasping to understand how they are suddenly now one less. One less classmate, teammate, friend, brother, boyfriend. Unspeakable grief, anguish, and suffering - sentiments shared by all.

One best friend will attend prom, graduate high school and college, start a career, and continue his life. The other best friend... Forever sixteen.

~~~~~

Originally published in The Carillon (2017), a University of Nebraska at Kearney undergraduate publication.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Shelby Larsen

Warning: I love messing with your favorite fairy tales.

I've loved writing most of my life. In college I made it my passion, but once I reached the "real" world, I stopped. I'm here to find my creativity and get back to my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.