Humans logo

Sincerity

To this day, I still have a hard time remembering that night. An old man whispered to me his most precious truth that will stay with me for the rest of my life and will be a part of my life

By VioletHoltPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sincerity
Photo by Pietro Schellino on Unsplash

To this day, I still have a hard time remembering that night. An old man whispered to me his most precious truth that will stay with me for the rest of my life and will be a part of my life, making me realize the true meaning of the world.

I remember, it was a not too hot summer day, there was a gentle breeze on my cheeks, I rushed out from home, from the courier to take delivery, but I was full of a sad face.

I picked up my watch and saw that it was over, "I'm late." My heart can not help but regret their impatience to pick up the courier behavior, I was like ants on a hot pot anxiously around, thinking: "How can I do, such a large courier certainly can not bring in, as long as the teacher classmates found will not be laughing at me."

At this time, the sound of a roadside hawking, woke me up, an old grandfather pushing his small stall.

I thought, "This food stall he is here every day, or I will put the express here, big deal, give him some pay" before I finished thinking, the sound of the minute hand on the watch, reminded me, "you are late" I ran over in a hurry

Softly said: "old man, I want to put a thing in your here, you help me watch on the line, I ... I give you some money, you see okay"

The old man looked up at me and said, "Young man, as long as you believe I can put me here, give what money."

I hastily thanked: "really thank you, ah, too late, I go first, I come back to you in the evening"

In the evening, it was nearly seven o'clock, the sky faint thunder, bean-sized rain, I rushed out of school, my mouth silently thought: "finished, out late, but also so much rain, people are not gone ah?"

When I ran to the place but no sign of the old man, my heart was cold, "Oh no, my new shoes, you are miserable which!" I was so discouraged that I walked in the direction of home, and when I got to the bottom of a big tree, I suddenly saw that the old man was still hawking over there, and I rushed over to him, "Do you remember me, old man?

The old man looked at me and nodded, handed me, my courier, I took the courier love, and quickly thanked the old man, but noticed that the old man's clothes have long been soaked with rain, I quickly said to the old man: "so much rain, you close the stall, I'll help you"

The old man waved his hand at me and said, "There are so many to sell, I'm wasting, I'm waiting for it" I saw the old man was so determined, so I quickly said to him, "I'll buy the rest, you say where your home is, I'll send you back" The old man looked at me with some difficulty and said I said, "You can't eat that much for a small child, forget it."

I said, "It's okay, it's okay, my classmates are coming to my house today, I'm worried about not having anything to serve them, this roast meat, it's just what I want"

The old man could not resist me, I had to give up, I helped him to finish packing, pushing the car running in the rainy night, and later to the old man's home, I learned that the old man was quite well off when he was young, but unfortunately, his father died with debt, the old man said nothing, silently pay back. It was also this honest and trustworthy character of his that woke me up, and it seems that there is a perfect character missing in me.

Everyone knows the precious truth. But few people practice it. The old man told me with his practice that there is nothing more precious in the world than the word honesty.

love
Like

About the Creator

VioletHolt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.